The canal was the port of entry for a canal network that linked the Atlantic to the heart of the continent. It was one of the factors that made Montréal the cradle of the Canadian manufacturing industry.

The canal's location near the port and the development of its hydraulic power potential in addition to the availability of inexpensive labour, sufficient capital and the closeness of markets favoured the establishment of highly diversified businesses along its banks.

History

The Lachine Canal is much more than just a route bypassing the rapids of the same name. The Lachine Canal's history stretches over more than 150 years and takes several directions. It comes within the scope of the interdependence between shipping, industrialization and urbanization, which marked Montréal's development.

 

Architecture

Lachine Canal is a part of the Montreal landscape. Discover Lachine Canal landmarks.

 

Engineering

Most of Canada's canals consist of a series of locks allowing boats to overcome obstacles such as dams, rapids, sandbars and rocky riverbeds. Canals and locks construction, as well as the maintenance of these, requires great engineering knowledge. 

 

Archaeology

The Lachine Canal was an important source in hydraulic energy and was instrumental in the industrial and commercial development of the City of Montreal and Canada. By that very fact, it constituted an industrial corridor that was one of the main birthplaces of the manufacturing industry in Canada.

Whether on the landscape of the Canal, on or under its banks, a number of elements still testify to the rich industrial, energy and manufacturing past of the Lachine Canal national historic site.

Le canal constituait la porte d'entrée d'un réseau de canaux qui reliaient l'Atlantique au coeur du continent. Il compte parmi les facteurs qui ont fait de Montréal le berceau de l'industrie manufacturière canadienne.

Sa localisation à proximité du port et l'aménagement de son potentiel hydraulique combinés avec la présence d'une main-d'oeuvre bon marché, la disponibilité de capitaux et la proximité des marchés ont favorisé l'implantation, sur ses berges, d'entreprises exceptionnellement diversifiées.

Histoire

Le canal de Lachine est bien plus qu'une voie de contournement des rapides du même nom. L'histoire du canal de Lachine s'étend sur plus de 150 ans et va dans plusieurs directions. Elle s'inscrit dans l'interdépendance entre la navigation, l'industrialisation et l'urbanisation qui a marqué le développement de Montréal.

 

Architecture

L'architecture du canal de Lachine fait partie du paysage montréalais. Découvrez certains bâtiments iconiques du canal de Lachine.

 

Ingénierie

Les canaux et écluses permettent de surmonter des obstacles à la navigation tels que barrages, rapides, roches, etc. La construction du canal et des écluses, ainsi que l'entretien de ceux-ci, nécessite de grandes connaissances d’ingénierie.

 

Archéologie

Le canal de Lachine a été une source importante en énergie hydraulique et joua un rôle déterminant dans le développement industriel et commercial de la Ville de Montréal et du Canada. Par le fait même, il constituait un corridor industriel qui fut un des principaux lieux de naissance de l'industrie manufacturière au Canada.

Que ce soit dans le paysage du canal, sur ou sous ses berges, plusieurs éléments témoignent encore du riche passé industriel, énergétique et manufacturier du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine.