The first cyclo-pedestrian roundabout on the Island of Montréal

Did you know that Parks Canada has built the very first pedestrian roundabout on the Island of Montréal? Since July 2020, cyclists and pedestrians who cross the Lachine Canal path have been able to use the new approaches to the Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier footbridge as well as the first cyclo-pedestrian roundabout on the Island of Montréal.

Redevelopment of the approaches to the George-Étienne-Cartier footbridge

Sir George-Étienne Cartier Bridge Redevelopment plan
Sir George-Étienne Cartier Bridge Redevelopment plan

The George-Étienne-Cartier footbridge connects the north and south banks of the canal path and is located halfway between Côte-Saint-Paul lock (Lock No. 4) and the Atwater Market. This popular area welcomes thousands of cyclists and pedestrians every day during the summer months.

In an effort to improve the coexistence and safety of the many visitors, Parks Canada has made changes to the lighting system and the signage, and has built a cyclo-pedestrian roundabout on the south side of the canal. This is the very first cyclo-pedestrian roundabout on the Island of Montréal!

The width of the canal’s shoreline strip available at this location allowed Parks Canada to establish this safe feature while preserving the heritage and environmental elements of the Lachine Canal Historic Site.

How to circulate in a roundabout

Path users need only follow Transport Québec’s traffic rules (French only) and the signage to use the roundabout safely:

  • Follow the arrows! Traffic is counterclockwise, to the right.
  • Yield to users who are already in the ring. If traffic is heavy, you will have to stop completely until the way is clear.
  • Signal your exits. This gesture will contribute to the safety of other users.
  • Note that it is forbidden to circulate on the central island.
Roundabout near the Sir George Étienne Cartier Bridge
Roundabout near the Sir George Étienne Cartier Bridge. Follow the arrows! 
Roundabout
Traffic is counterclockwise, to the right.

The Lachine Canal Historic Site has witnessed many Montréal innovations. Parks Canada is proud to continue this tradition by implementing a structure that enhances the safety and experience of its visitors.

Le premier carrefour giratoire cyclo-piétonnier de l’île de Montréal

Saviez-vous que Parcs Canada a aménagé le tout premier carrefour giratoire cyclo-piétonnier de l’île de Montréal? Depuis le mois de juillet 2020, les cyclistes et piétons qui sillonnent la piste du canal de Lachine peuvent emprunter les nouvelles approches de la passerelle Sir-George-Étienne Cartier ainsi que le premier carrefour giratoire cyclo-piétonnier de l’île de Montréal.

Réaménagement des approches de la passerelle George-Étienne-Cartier 

Plan du réaménagement de la passerelle Sir-George-Étienne Cartier
Plan du réaménagement de la passerelle Sir-George-Étienne Cartier

La passerelle George-Étienne-Cartier relie les berges nord et sud de la piste du canal et est située à mi-chemin entre l’écluse de la Côte-Saint-Paul (écluse no 4) et le marché Atwater. Ce secteur populaire accueille des milliers de cyclistes et de piétons chaque jour durant la période estivale.

Dans le but d’améliorer la cohabitation et la sécurité des nombreux visiteurs, Parcs Canada a apporté des modifications au système d’éclairage, à la signalisation et a aménagé un carrefour giratoire cyclo-piétonnier au sud du canal. Il s’agit du tout premier carrefour giratoire cyclo-piétonnier de l’île de Montréal!

La largeur de la bande riveraine du canal disponible à cet endroit a permis à Parcs Canada de créer cet aménagement sécuritaire tout en conservant les éléments patrimoniaux et environnementaux du lieu historique du Canal-de-Lachine.

Comment circuler dans un carrefour giratoire

Les usagers de la piste n’ont qu’à suivre les règles de circulation de Transport Québec et la signalisation en place pour y circuler sécuritairement :

  • Suivez les flèches! La circulation se fait dans le sens antihoraire, vers la droite.
  • Cédez le passage aux usagers déjà dans l’anneau. Si la circulation est dense, vous devrez vous arrêter complètement jusqu’à ce que la voie soit libre.
  • Signalez vos sorties. Ce geste facilitera la sécurité des autres usagers.
  • Notez qu’il est interdit de circuler sur l’ilot central.
Carrefour giratoire près de la passerelle Sir-George-Étienne Cartier
Carrefour giratoire près de la passerelle Sir-George-Étienne Cartier, suivez les flèches! 
Carrefour giratoire cyclo-piétonnier
La circulation se fait dans le sens antihoraire, vers la droite.

Le lieu histoire de Canal-de-Lachine a été le témoin de nombreuses innovations montréalaises. Parcs Canada est fière de perpétuer cette tradition en implantant une structure améliorant la sécurité et l’expérience de ses visiteurs.