Overnight mooring on Lachine Canal

The metropolis comes to life day and night

Discover the 14 km of the waterway that lead you to the heart of Montreal’s major attractions and that open up on secluded vistas. While navigating the five locks of the canal, wharves are available for day and night mooring and for you to experience an unforgettable stay.

Mooring rate per night
$0.90 / foot 

Advantages of overnight mooring

  • Save time by being the first ones to lock through
  • Enjoy a unique low-cost experience
  • Access to bathrooms (Check with the lock operators)
  • Captivating stop in your journey
  • Unlimited access to surrounding attractions and services

Mooring is offered on a first-come, first-served basis

Lock No. 1 wharves – Old Montreal area 
While the surrounding marinas are fully booked, moor for the night at the Lock No. 1 wharves, a few steps away from the Old Port and from the charms of Old Montreal. On the menu: fireworks, restaurants and boutiques, programming of the Old Port of Montreal, easy and fast access to downtown and much more!

Atwater Market wharves 
Moor for the night to enjoy the one thousand and one pleasures of the Atwater market wharves! The fresh produce, groceries, trendy restaurants and bistros, access to the metro line and other services nearby make it an inescapable stop. Take the opportunity to stretch your legs on foot or on by bike along the canal’s path.

Electric power hookup service
The Atwater Market wharves offer five electric power hookups (30 amp). The use of these electric power hookups works on a first-come, first-served basis. Don’t forget to bring your cables for the power hookup!

Rate for hookup service: $ 9.80 per vessel for a 24-hour period

Payment Methods: You can pay by credit card, by debit or with cash at the Atwater Kiosk, between 10:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.

For more information, call 514-595-6594 (Lock No. 5) or 514-496-6002 (Atwater Kiosk).

Lock No. 5 wharves – Old Lachine area 
Ideal to spend the night, the Lock No. 5 wharves are installed in a beautiful natural setting a few steps away from Old Lachine. Close by, you will find lots of restaurants, a bike path, the René-Lévesque park, the Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site, the Lachine Museum, the shows of L’Entrepôt and much more!

Consult the map of the canal’s path to plan your trip around the Lachine Canal.


On Quebec canals, contact the lock operators through VHF-canal 68 during operating hours.

Consult the seasonal lockage and mooring permits section for a complete listing of standard rates and package deals.

For more information about the location and specifics of mooring docks on each of Parks Canada’s waterways, visit the overnight mooring section of the Historic Canals of Canada's website.

Lock No. 1

 
 
Atwater Market

 
 
Lock No. 5

Amarrage de nuit au Canal-de-Lachine

De jour comme de nuit, la métropole s’anime

Laissez-vous porter par les 14 km de la voie navigable qui vous mènent au cœur des attraits majeurs de Montréal et qui s’ouvrent sur des points de vue imprenables. Tout au long de la traversée des cinq écluses du canal, des quais sont disponibles pour l’amarrage de jour comme de nuit et pour vous permettre de vivre un séjour inoubliable.

Tarif d’amarrage par nuit
0,90 $ / pied

Avantages de l’amarrage de nuit

  • Gagner du temps en étant les premiers à écluser
  • Vivre une expérience originale à faible coût
  • Accès à des salles de bain (Renseignez-vous auprès des éclusiers)
  • Halte captivante dans votre voyage
  • Accès illimité aux attraits et services environnants

Aucune réservation, c'est premier arrivé, premier servi!

Quais de l’écluse no 1 – Secteur Vieux-Montréal 
Alors que les marinas environnantes affichent complet, amarrez-vous pour la nuit aux quais de l’écluse no 1, à quelques pas du Vieux-Port et des charmes du Vieux-Montréal. Au menu : feux d’artifice, restaurants et boutiques, programmation du Vieux-Port de Montréal, accès facile et rapide au centre-ville et bien plus!

Quais du marché Atwater 
Amarrez-vous pour la nuit aux mille et un plaisirs des quais du marché Atwater! Les produits frais, épiceries, restos et bistros branchés, accès au métro et autres services à proximité en font un arrêt incontournable. Profitez-en pour vous délier les jambes à pied ou à vélo le long de la piste du canal.

Service de branchement électrique
Le quai du marché Atwater offre cinq bornes pour le branchement électrique (30 ampères). L’utilisation de ces branchements se fait sur le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. N’oubliez pas d’apporter vos câbles pour le branchement!

Tarif de branchement : 9,80 $ par bateau pour une durée de 24 heures

Mode de paiement : Vous pouvez payer par carte de crédit, par débit ou par argent comptant au kiosque Atwater de 10 h 30 à 17 h 30.

Pour tout autre renseignement, composez le 514 595-6594 (écluse nº 5) ou le 514 496-6002 (kiosque Atwater).

Quais de l’écluse no 5 – Secteur Vieux-Lachine 
Idéal pour passer la nuit, les quais de l’écluse no 5 sont installés dans un décor naturel enchanteur à quelque pas du Vieux-Lachine. À proximité, vous retrouvez de nombreux restaurants, une piste cyclable, le parc René-Lévesque, le lieu historique national du Commerce-de-la-fourrure, le Musée de Lachine, les spectacles de L’Entrepôt et plus encore!

Consultez la carte de la piste du canal pour planifier vos activités le long du Canal-de-Lachine.


Pour communiquer avec les canaux au Québec, contactez le personnel éclusier par VHF-canal 68 durant les heures d'opération des écluses.

Consultez la section Permis d'éclusage et d'amarrage saisonnier pour connaître tous les tarifs et forfaits.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’emplacement et les spécificités des quais d’amarrage dans chacune des voies navigables de Parcs Canada, visitez la section amarrage de nuit du site des canaux historiques du Canada.

Écluse no. 1

 
 
Marché Atwater

 
 
Écluse no. 5