LandMarks2017 is a series of contemporary art projects taking place in national parks and historic sites from coast to coast. This summer, Parks Canada is privileged to host their creators on the banks of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site to highlight the country’s 150th birthday!

Douglas Scholes, Wanderer: (re)Marking, 2016-17. Photo : Paul Litherland

Wanderer: (re)marking
To unfold the layers of the Lachine Canal, contemporary artist Douglas Scholes has created “The Wanderer”, a character who roams the canal’s 14.5-km length, examining and collecting the accumulated debris along the historic waterway. Come and meet him!

The walking-based practice of the artist will propose alternative ways to explore the Lachine Canal National Historic Site and surrounding area, using ephemeral, beeswax-cast sculptures as markers — an artistic lens through which the site can be experienced.

Moreover, at the hub of LandMarks2017 is an interactive digital platform for the circulation of ideas, activated by artists and art students, to form a web of discourses addressing concepts of place, environment and the construction of identities. Curious? Don’t wait to visit Partners in Art Website!

Overview of the activities

  • June 10 to 25, 2017: Installation of bees wax buoys in the canal and maintenance performances of the artist
  • June 15 to 25, 2017: animation and discoveries in containers along the canal
  • Event launch: June 17, 2017, on Ilot Charlevoix
    Public lecture and presentation of contributers’ projects with a program inviting the public to come to several surrounding sites for a unique meeting with the artists. The event will be followed by a 7 to 9 at the Terrasse St-Ambroise.
  • Concert on a boat: June 18
    Note: Exact listening spots and schedules will be given to the public so they can enjoy the concert given by a sextet (piano, marimba, guitar, saxophone, bass and clarinet.) The concert will travel along the water to entertain the entire canal!

Repères2017 consiste en une série de projets artistiques multidisciplinaires inspirés de la nature, et présentés dans diverses localités situées à proximité ou dans des parcs et lieux historiques nationaux du Canada. Cet été, Parcs Canada a le privilège d’accueillir leurs créateurs aux abords du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine pour souligner le 150e anniversaire du pays!

Douglas Scholes, Le flâneur : (re)marquer, 2016-17. Photo : Paul Litherland

Le flâneur : (re)marquer
Au canal de Lachine, c’est l’artiste contemporain Douglas Scholes qui, pour déployer les couches d’histoire du canal de Lachine, a créé le personnage du « flâneur » : un homme qui sillonne les 14,5 km du canal à la recherche des débris qui s’accumulent aux abords de la voie navigable historique. Venez à sa rencontre!

L’artiste, dont la pratique est axée sur la marche, proposera différentes façons d’explorer le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine et ses environs au moyen de sculptures éphémères en cire d’abeille qui serviront de marqueurs; un point de vue artistique offrant une expérience unique des lieux.

Mieux encore : Repères2017 s’articule autour d’une plateforme numérique interactive mise en œuvre par des artistes et des étudiants en art afin d’établir un réseau de discussions sur les notions de lieu, d’environnement et de construction identitaire. Curieux? Visitez le site Web de Partners in Art sans plus attendre!

Aperçu des activités

  • 10 au 25 juin 2017 : installation de sculptures en cire d’abeille le long du canal et performances d’entretien de l’artiste
  • 15 au 25 juin 2017 : zones d’animation et de découvertes dans des conteneurs le long du canal
  • Événement de lancement : le 17 juin 2017, à l’îlot Charlevoix
    Lecture et présentation publique des projets des contributeurs avec un programme amenant le public à se présenter dans quelques sites environnants pour un rendez-vous unique avec les artistes. L’événement sera suivi d’un 7 à 9 à la Terrasse St-Ambroise.
  • Concert sur un bateau – le 18 juin
    Note : des points d’écoute précis et des horaires seront donnés au public afin qu’ils puissent profiter du concert offert par un sextet (piano, marimba, guitare, saxophone, basse et clarinette). Le concert se déplacera sur l’eau afin d’animer tout le canal!