YOUR DREAM JOB AT PARKS CANADA!

2 Parks Canada Employee

Available positions : lock and bridge operator

Closing date: 7 February 2018

Operating the controls of the locks and bridges on a historic canal, welcoming boaters, providing visitors with quality service and working in a unique setting... Interested in the world of navigation? Parks Canada’s Quebec Waterways team is currently seeking qualified candidates. Spread the word!

Working the locks for Parks Canada: An exciting job awaits!

Parks Canada is looking to several lock and bridge operator term positions on Quebec historic canals.

The lock operator’s job is complex. For example, at Locks 1, 2 and 3 on the Chambly Canal, 47 different actions are required to let a boat through: opening the sluices and gates, manoeuvring the swing bridge, controlling the traffic lights, and so on. Each canal thus has it specificities you will get accustomed to.

Qualities sought

Candidates must be enthusiastic, physically fit and able to multitask—and enjoy working outside, rain or shine. Parks Canada’s lock keepers are known for their exceptional customer service, so it is important to enjoy working with the public.

Candidates must be available from May to October, have completed high school (Secondary V) and hold a driver’s licence. The ability to communicate in English is considered an asset.

The available positions are term positions (with possibility of permanent appointment) and well-paying, with an hourly rate between $22.16 and $24.09 depending on experience.

This enriching and fulfilling job could be yours!

Feel at home on the water and looking for a seasonal job? It is time to apply. Visit jobs.gc.ca to read about the details and the process you must follow lien par canal. Hurry up, the recruitment period closes on February 7!


Parks Canada at the 2018 Montreal Boat Show: An in-depth experience

January 22, 2018, Montreal, Quebec Parks Canada Agency

Montreal Boat and Water sports show

Parks Canada is proud to partner with the Québec Maritime Association (QMA) as part of the 2018 Montreal Boat and Water Sports Show which will be held from February 1st to 4th at Place Bonaventure to raise awareness of one of the most beautiful navigation networks in the world. With the special participation of the New York State Canals, we'll welcome visitors this year to our space featuring Canada's historic canals and we'll help them plan their boat trips. Come and see us so you don't miss the boat!

The 2018 edition of the Boat Show promises to be very exciting since Parks Canada is preparing plenty of surprises for you: novelties, promotional offers for the 2018 season, virtual reality experiences, contests and much more! The Parks Canada's Quebec and Ontario waterways team has assembled a package to guarantee you'll enjoy a fascinating journey.

An unbeatable pre-season offer!

The seasonal lockage permit is valid throughout the navigation season and allows you to go through any lock system that is part of Canada's national historic canals. The seasonal night mooring permit allows night mooring at seven national historic canals, two national parks and one national marine conservation area.

The pre-season offer will allow recreational boaters to save 20% on the current prices of seasonal lockage permits. With the purchase of the lockage permit, also take advantage of a 10% reduction on the night mooring permit.

Just have your boat registration number as well as the length of your boat on hand to make the purchase on the spot.

Activities for the whole family

For the greater pleasure of visitors, a locking experience in virtual reality will be made available this year. Come and see us and our cutting edge equipment will enable you to experience a locking as though you were really there!

On Sunday February 4th, come and meet Parks Canada's superstar, the mascot Parka. Since Parka loves making new friends, take advantage of it by taking a picture with her!

Conference of New York and Canada historic canals

This year, Parks Canada is pleased to collaborate with New York State Canals to offer you an exciting conference that goes beyond the borders! Discover the popular nautical circuits through the Canadian and American historic canals, from Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue to the Thousand Islands via Chambly and Lake Champlain, or even spend the night at the Lachine Canal to enjoy Montreal's attractions! The lockkeepers will be on hand to answer all your questions and provide you with the information you need to properly plan your next trip, including tips for night mooring, safety in the locks and much more. Don't miss this opportunity!

The 2018 Montreal Boat and Water Sports Show is the largest nautical gathering in Quebec, and Parks Canada is pleased to participate in it to meet pleasure boating enthusiasts and increase awareness of its exceptional waterways. So it's a meeting as early as February 1st!


Launch of a new boating season at the Carillon Canal!

First boaters of the 2017 navigation season at the Carillon Canal!
First boaters of the 2017 navigation season at the Carillon Canal!

In 2017, Parks Canada is celebrating the 150th anniversary of Confederation by offering free entry to ALL national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas across Canada. On Quebec and Ontario’s historic canals, this means that pleasure crafts and non-motorized boats will be able to go through locks free of charge to access major cities as well as their favourite bodies of water. It’s our way of wishing you a happy 150th

The Parks Canada's team was happy to welcome last Saturday the first boaters of the 2017 season at the Carillon Canal National Historic Site, who were presented with Parks Canada brand products. This year, the navigation season will be held from May 26th to October 9th, 2017. Following the exceptionally high water levels and flooding that have delayed the opening of the navigation season on Carillon and Lachine historic Canals, Parks Canada has done everything necessary to ensure their repair and their complete reopening as early as possible. The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal is currently closed. Parks Canada will inform the population of the reopening of facilities as soon as possible.

Eager to take part in this wonderful experience? Visit our Historic canals waterways portal to learn about the many opportunities offered by Parks Canada, and order your free lockage permit now! Spread the word, and enjoy the 2017 boating season!


The Government of Canada announces new investment in Parks Canada’s historic canals in Quebec

The Honorable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, and Luc-André Mercier, Director of the Quebec Waterways The Honorable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, and Luc-André Mercier, Director of the Quebec Waterways

March 29, 2016, Montréal, Quebec, Parks Canada Agency

The Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Catherine McKenna, today announced an investment of more than $170 million to protect and preserve Parks Canada’s five historic canals in Quebec.

Canada’s National Parks are a vital part of who we are as a country – they bring our communities together and represent our shared heritage.

Today’s major investment will be used to conduct reconstruction work on the walls of the Lachine Canal, on the impressive lock of the Carillon Canal, and on the locks and bridges of the Chambly Canal. The funding will also be allocated to rehabilitate and reconstruct heritage-value buildings – such as the Chambly Canal superintendent’s house – and to build structures that preserve biodiversity, such as the Vianney-Legendre Fish Ladder on the Saint Ours Canal. Finally, service areas and footpaths will be built for the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal, in order to increase the experience for all visitors.

The Government of Canada will continue to make investments in our environment to ensure that our children and grandchildren are left with a country even more beautiful, sustainable, and prosperous than the one we have now.

Quote

“Through this significant investment, our government is protecting and preserving these treasured places, while supporting local economies, contributing to growth in the tourism sector, and enhancing the charm and attractiveness of these heritage sites. I encourage Canadians to visit and experience Parks Canada’s special places and to enjoy the outdoors, while learning about our rich history and heritage.”

- The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Quick facts

  • Parks Canada is the largest provider of natural and cultural tourism products in Canada and its destinations form the cornerstones of the Canadian tourism industry.
  • The Lachine Canal, which draws more than 1.2 million visitors, is an important gathering place and tourist attraction in Montreal.
  • National Historic canals are a defining feature of Canada and encourage communities and visitors to discover their beautiful landscapes, recreational opportunities and unique connection to our history.
  • Parks Canada is present in hundreds of communities across Canada and contributes approximately $3 billion dollars to the Canadian economy every year. Parks Canada’s overall contribution to the Canadian economy is responsible for more than 40,000 jobs from coast to coast to coast.
  • Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars over 5 years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

Parks Canada brings luck to visitors at the 2016 Montréal Boat and Water Sports Show

Carole Dubé and Isabelle Savoie Live summer to the fullest with Parks Canada!

Montréal (Quebec), February 15, 2016 –Parks Canada today announced the names of the winners of the contests organized as part of the 17th edition of the Montréal Boat and Water Sports Show held last February 4-7. During the event, everyone who visited one of Parks Canada's booths and filled out a participation form, earned a chance to win one of four prizes awarded via a prize draw.

Parks Canada's presence was very noticeable this year, starting at the entrance of the boat show with a photo activity in which visitors could pose in the magnificent setting of the historic canals and the new oTENTik accommodations. The booth presenting the historic canals of Parks Canada was also a great success and many boaters received pointers to help them properly plan their boat trips for the upcoming navigation season.

The Winners
Live summer to the fullest with Parks Canada! (Picture*)
Seasonal lockage and mooring permit

  • Carole Dubé, from La Prairie, will be able to cruise the Parks Canada network of historic canals during the 2016 navigation season.

Six-day lockage permit

  • Robert Deblois, from Terrebonne, will be able to cruise the Parks Canada network of historic canals during the 2016 navigation season.

Mooring permit for two nights on the Lachine Canal

  • Pierre Laberge, from Montréal, will discover the city of Montréal from a whole new perspective by navigating on the Lachine Canal.

oTENTik stay on the Richelieu!
Two-night stay in an oTENTik on the Saint-Ours Canal

  • Jerome McCarthy, from Montréal, will discover the joys of the outdoors, simply and without a fuss, in this new type of lodging offered by Parks Canada.

Parks Canada would like to congratulate the winners and thank everyone who came to meet us during the show. Have a pleasant navigation season and an enjoyable stay in an oTENTik!

* Ms. Carole Dubé, from La Prairie, grand prize winner of the Live summer to the fullest with Parks Canada! contest, receiving her seasonal lockage and mooring permit from Ms. Isabelle Savoie, External Relations Manager for the Quebec Waterways Unit.   


Passage of a Boat Through a Lock
Passage of a boat through
a lock at Chambly canal


Lockage fees

Following extensive comments and ideas on the proposed canal lockage fee, Minister Kent announced on May 14, 2013, that Parks Canada will freeze recreational lockage fees along Canada's historic canals for three years at 2008 levels.

More information

VOTRE EMPLOI DE RÊVE À PARCS CANADA!

Deux employés de Parcs Canada près d'une écluse

Emplois disponibles : préposé(e) aux écluses et ponts : postulez avant le 7 février

Actionner les commandes des écluses et des ponts d’un canal historique pour permettre le passage des bateaux, accueillir les plaisanciers et offrir un service de qualité aux visiteurs, travailler dans le cadre unique des canaux historiques du Québec... Le monde de la navigation vous passionne? L’équipe de Parcs Canada est à la recherche de candidats; passez le mot!

Travailler aux écluses de Parcs Canada : un emploi passionnant vous attend!

Parcs Canada souhaite pourvoir plusieurs postes déterminés de préposé(e) aux écluses et ponts sur les différents canaux historiques.

Les tâches des éclusiers sont complexes. Par exemple, aux écluses nos 1, 2 et 3 du canal de Chambly, le passage d’un bateau nécessite 47 actions différentes : ouverture des vannes et des portes, manœuvre du pont tournant et contrôle des feux de circulation. Chacun des cinq canaux historiques au Québec possède ainsi ses particularités que vous apprendrez à connaitre.

Qualités recherchées Les candidats recherchés doivent faire preuve de dynamisme, être en excellente condition physique, aimer travailler à l’extérieur sous la pluie comme par beau temps et être capables d’effectuer plusieurs tâches à la fois. Les éclusiers de Parcs Canada ont la réputation d’offrir à la population un service à la clientèle exceptionnel; il est donc important d’aimer travailler auprès des gens.

une éclusière qui tourne une manivelle

Les candidats doivent être disponibles des mois de mai à octobre et détenir un diplôme de secondaire V et un permis de conduire. La capacité de communiquer en anglais sera considérée comme un atout.

Les postes disponibles sont à durée déterminée (avec possibilité de nomination permanente) et dotés de salaires intéressants, le taux horaire allant de 22,16 $ à 24,09 $ selon l’expérience. 

Un emploi valorisant et enrichissant!

Vous croyez être le candidat idéal? C’est le temps de poser votre candidature! Visitez le emploi.gc.ca pour connaître toutes les conditions d'emploi et savoir comment poser votre candidature. Dépêchez-vous, vous avez jusqu'au 7 février prochain!

Au plaisir de faire équipe avec vous cet été!


Parcs Canada au Salon du bateau 2018 de Montréal : une expérience immersive

Le 22 janvier 2018, Montréal (Québec), Agence Parcs Canada

Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques

Parcs Canada est fière de s'associer à l'Association Maritime du Québec (AMQ) dans le cadre du Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal 2018, qui se tiendra du 1 au 4 février à la Place Bonaventure, pour faire découvrir l'un des plus beaux réseaux de navigation au monde. Avec la participation spéciale du New York State Canals, nous accueillerons cette année les visiteurs dans notre espace mettant en vedette les canaux historiques du Canada et les aiderons à bien planifier leurs sorties en bateau. Passez nous voir pour ne pas manquer le bateau!

L’édition 2018 du Salon du bateau promet d’être très excitante puisque Parcs Canada vous réserve plein de surprises : nouveautés, offres promotionnelles pour la saison 2018, expérience de réalité virtuelle, concours et plus encore! L’équipe des Voies navigables de Parcs Canada au Québec et en Ontario a mis le paquet pour vous faire vivre un voyage fascinant.

Une offre présaison imbattable!

Le permis saisonnier d’éclusage est valide pendant toute la saison de navigation et vous permet de traverser n’importe quel système d’écluses faisant partie des canaux historiques nationaux du Canada. Le permis saisonnier d’amarrage de nuit permet quant à lui l’amarrage de nuit à sept canaux historiques nationaux, deux parcs nationaux et une aire marine nationale de conservation.

L’offre présaison permettra aux plaisanciers d’économiser 20% sur le prix courant des permis d’éclusage saisonnier. À l’achat du permis d’éclusage, profitez également d’une réduction de 10% sur le permis d’amarrage de nuit.

Ayez simplement en main le numéro d’enregistrement de même que la longueur de votre embarcation pour en faire l’achat sur place.

Activités pour toute la famille

Pour le plus grand plaisir des visiteurs, il sera cette année possible de faire une expérience d’éclusage en réalité virtuelle. Passez nous voir et notre équipement de pointe vous permettra de vivre un éclusage comme si vous y étiez vraiment!

Le dimanche 4 février, venez rencontrer la grande vedette de Parcs Canada, la mascotte Parka. Comme Parka adore se faire de nouveaux amis, profitez-en pour prendre une photo avec elle!

Conférence sur les canaux historiques de New York et du Canada

Cette année, Parcs Canada est heureuse de collaborer New York State Canals pour vous proposer une conférence captivante qui dépasse les frontières! Découvrez les circuits nautiques populaires dans les canaux historiques canadiens et américains, de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue aux Mille-Îles, en passant par Chambly et le lac Champlain ou encore passez la nuit au canal de Lachine pour profiter des attraits de Montréal! Les éclusiers seront sur place pour répondre à toutes vos questions et vous fournir les renseignements qui vous permettront de bien planifier votre prochain voyage, incluant des conseils pour l’amarrage de nuit, la sécurité dans les écluses et bien plus encore. Ne manquez pas cette occasion !

Le Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal 2018 est le plus grand rassemblement nautique du Québec et Parcs Canada est heureuse d’y participer pour aller à la rencontre des amateurs de nautisme et faire connaître ses voies navigables exceptionnelles. C’est donc un rendez-vous dès le 1er février!


Lancement de la saison de navigation au canal de Carillon! 

Deux plaisanciers et un employé de Parcs Canada
Premiers plaisanciers de la saison 2017 au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon!

En 2017, Parcs Canada célèbre le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne en offrant l'entrée gratuite dans TOUS ses parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation partout au pays. Dans les canaux historiques du Québec et de l’Ontario, cette offre signifie que les amateurs de bateaux de plaisance et d’embarcations non motorisées pourront être éclusés gratuitement pour accéder au centre de plusieurs grandes villes et ainsi naviguer sur leurs plans d’eau favoris. C’est notre façon de vous souhaiter un joyeux 150e!

L’équipe de Parcs Canada était heureuse d’accueillir samedi dernier les premiers plaisanciers de la saison 2017 au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon, qui se sont vu remettre des produits à l’effigie de Parcs Canada. Cette année, la saison de navigation se déroulera du 26 mai au 9 octobre 2017 au canal de Carillon. À la suite des récentes inondations qui ont retardé l’ouverture de la saison de navigation dans les canaux historiques de Carillon et Lachine, Parcs Canada a tout mis en œuvre pour assurer leur remise en état et leur ouverture complète le plus rapidement possible. Quant au canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, il demeure fermé. Parcs Canada informera la population de la réouverture des installations dès que possible.

Vous avez hâte de vivre cette expérience formidable? Visitez le portail des canaux historiques du Canada pour connaître toutes les possibilités offertes et commandez votre permis d’éclusage gratuit dès maintenant! Faites passer le mot et bonne saison de navigation 2017!


Le gouvernement du Canada annonce de nouveaux investissements dans les canaux historiques de Parcs Canada au Québec

L'honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, et Luc-André Mercier, directeur des Voies navigables au Québec L'honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, et Luc-André Mercier, directeur des Voies navigables au Québec

Le 29 mars 2016, Montréal (Québec), Agence Parcs Canada

La ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique, Catherine McKenna, a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement de plus de 170 millions de dollars pour protéger et préserver les cinq canaux historiques de Parcs Canada au Québec.

Les parcs nationaux du Canada jouent un rôle essentiel dans ce qui nous définit comme pays; ils rassemblent les communautés et représentent notre patrimoine commun.

L’investissement majeur d’aujourd’hui servira à la réfection des murs au Canal-de-Lachine, de même qu’à des travaux de réfection de l’impressionnante écluse du Canal-de-Carillon et des écluses et ponts au Canal-de-Chambly. Des fonds seront aussi alloués à la réhabilitation et réfection d’édifices à valeur patrimoniale, telle que la maison du surintendant au Canal-de-Chambly, et d’ouvrages de préservation de la biodiversité, telle que la passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre au Canal-de-Saint-Ours. Finalement, des infrastructures destinées aux visiteurs comprenant l’aménagement d’aires de service et de sentiers seront construites au Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue afin d’offrir aux visiteurs une expérience enrichie.

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d’investir dans notre environnement afin de s’assurer que nous laissions à nos enfants et petits-enfants un pays encore plus beau, durable et prospère que celui que nous avons maintenant.

Citation

« Grâce à cet investissement considérable, notre gouvernement protège et préserve ces endroits précieux tout en soutenant les économies locales, et contribue à la croissance du secteur du tourisme en renforçant leur charme et leur attrait. J’encourage les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à découvrir les sites exceptionnels de Parcs Canada et à faire l’expérience du plein air tout en apprenant au sujet de notre riche histoire et de notre patrimoine. »

- L'honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les faits en bref

  • Parcs Canada est le plus important fournisseur de produits touristiques naturels et culturels au Canada et ses destinations constituent les pierres angulaires de l'industrie touristique canadienne.
  • Le canal de Lachine, fréquenté par plus de 1,2 million de visiteurs, est un lieu de rassemblement important à Montréal et un attrait touristique d’envergure.
  • Les canaux historiques nationaux sont des éléments caractéristiques du Canada et permettent aux collectivités et aux visiteurs de découvrir de beaux paysages, de pratiquer des loisirs et d’effectuer un rapprochement unique avec l’histoire.
  • L’Agence Parcs Canada est présente dans des centaines de collectivités d’un bout à l’autre du pays et contribue annuellement environ 3 milliards de dollars à l’économie canadienne. La contribution globale de Parcs Canada à l'économie du pays est à l’origine de plus de 40 000 emplois d’un océan à l’autre.
  • Parcs Canada investira une somme record de 3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans afin de soutenir des travaux d’infrastructure dans les installations patrimoniales, celles destinées aux visiteurs ainsi que dans les voies navigables et les routes situées dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation dans l'ensemble du Canada.

Parcs Canada fait des heureux au Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal 2016

Carole Dubé et Isabelle Savoie Soyez aux premières loges de l'été avec Parcs Canada!

Montréal (Québec), le 15 février 2016 – Parcs Canada a dévoilé aujourd’hui les noms des gagnants des concours organisés dans le cadre de la 17e édition du Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal 2016, tenue du 4 au 7 février dernier. Durant l’événement, tous ceux et celles qui ont visité l’un des stands de Parcs Canada et qui ont complété un bon de participation couraient la chance de gagner l’un des 4 prix offerts par tirage au sort.

La présence de Parcs Canada a été très remarquée cette année, dès l’entrée du salon, avec l’activité photo qui a permis aux visiteurs de se mettre en scène dans le décor magnifique des canaux historiques et celui des nouvelles unités oTENTik. Le stand présentant les canaux historiques de Parcs Canada a également connu un grand succès et a permis à de nombreux plaisanciers de recueillir quantité de conseils qui les aideront à bien planifier leurs sorties en bateau au cours de la prochaine saison de navigation.

Les gagnants
Soyez aux premières loges de l'été avec Parcs Canada! (Photo*)
Permis d'éclusage et d’amarrage saisonnier

  • Carole Dubé, de La Prairie, pourra ainsi parcourir le réseau des canaux historiques de Parcs Canada durant la saison de navigation 2016.

Permis d’éclusage de 6 jours

  • Robert Deblois, de Terrebonne, pourra ainsi parcourir le réseau des canaux historiques de Parcs Canada durant la saison de navigation 2016.

Permis d’amarrage pour deux nuits au canal de Lachine

  • Pierre Laberge, de Montréal, découvrira la ville de Montréal sous un nouvel angle en naviguant sur le canal de Lachine.

Séjour oTENTik sur le Richelieu!
Séjour de deux nuitées en oTENTik au canal de Saint-Ours

  • Jerome McCarthy, de Montréal, découvrira les joies du plein air en toute simplicité et sans tracas dans ce nouveau type d’hébergement offert par Parcs Canada.

Parcs Canada félicite les gagnants et remercie tous ceux et celles qui sont venus nous rencontrer lors du Salon. Bonne saison de navigation et bon séjour en oTENTik!

* Madame Carole Dubé, de La Prairie, grande gagnante du concours Soyez aux premières loges de l'été avec Parcs Canada!, accompagnée de madame Isabelle Savoie, gestionnaire relations externes à l’Unité des voies navigables du Québec, au moment de la remise du permis d’éclusage et d’amarrage saisonnier.


Passage d'un bateau à travers une écluse au canal de Chambly
Passage d'un bateau à travers une écluse au canal de Chambly

Droits d'éclusage

À la suite des nombreux commentaires et suggestions au sujet des frais d’éclusage proposés sur les canaux, le ministre Kent a annoncé le 14 mai 2013 que Parcs Canada maintiendra les frais d’éclusage sur les canaux historiques du Canada aux taux de 2008 pendant trois ans.

Pour de plus amples informations