Discover our observation islets
Discover our observation islets
From mid-May to the end of August

Three historic sites link engineering and history: the canal, which opened the way for trade, the hydroelectric power station that provides energy, and the barracks - now a museum - that tell of daily life in another era.

Without the Carillon Canal to bypass the impenetrable Long-Sault rapids, many historic traders would have seen prosperity pass them by.

Learn about the intriguing feats of engineering deployed during the construction of the three phases of the Carillon Canal. The first effort had three locks while the current canal has only one, making navigation more efficient.

Take advantage of your trip to contemplate the landscape Take advantage of your trip to contemplate the landscape

Then head to the source that powers the lock phenomena - the hydroelectric dam nearby, the most powerful hydroelectric power station on the entire Ottawa River, and another engineering marvel.

At the entrance to the village of Carillon, military barracks stand at attention, watching over the memory of Carillon. Transformed into a museum (French only), this heritage building which hosted a number of regiments over the years, tells the story of the region's 19th century inhabitants.

Partez à la découverte des îlots d’interprétation
Partez à la découverte des îlots d’interprétation
De la mi-mai à la fin août

Trois sites tissent le lien entre le génie et l’histoire : le canal qui a ouvert la voie au commerce, la centrale hydroélectrique qui fournit l’énergie et la caserne, aujourd’hui un musée, qui raconte le quotidien de l’époque. Ouvrez grands les yeux!

Sans le canal de Carillon pour contourner les rapides inhospitaliers du Long-Sault, bien des commerçants auraient vu la prospérité leur passer sous le nez.

Les visiteurs seront intrigués par l’ingénierie déployée lors de la construction des trois phases du canal de Carillon. Des trois écluses du premier canal, le canal actuel n’en comporte plus qu’une, ce qui rend la navigation plus efficace.

Profitez de votre balade pour contempler le paysage Profitez de votre balade pour contempler le paysage

Impossible de ne pas aller à la source du phénomène d’éclusage : le barrage hydroélectrique. À proximité se dresse la plus puissante centrale hydroélectrique de la rivière des Outaouais; il s’agit d’un autre exemple d’ingénierie qu’il faut absolument voir.

À l’entrée du village de Carillon, la caserne militaire est au garde-à-vous et veille sur la mémoire de Carillon. Transformé en musée, ce bâtiment ancestral, qui a déjà hébergé plusieurs régiments, propose le récit des habitants de la région au 19e siècle.