On the Ottawa River, the imposing structures of the Carillon Canal National Historic Site and of the Hydro-Québec power plant are an impressive site to see. The only one of its kind in North America, the Carillon lock has a guillotine gate that is opened by a counterweight of almost 200 tonnes. It is moored to floating docks installed in the centre of the lock that boats navigate a drop of over 20 metres (65 feet) in less than 45 minutes! It's an experience well worth the detour!

The Carillon Canal: a colossus to discover

The Collector's House - Carillon Canal National Historic Site
The Collector's House of Carillon Canal National Historic Site

Opened in 1833, the Carillon Canal made it possible to bypass the Ottawa River rapids. Originally built for military purposes, the canal was used for commercial ends from the beginning. Today, the role of this major work that replaced the first canal system's eleven locks is mainly touristic, and many pleasure boaters use it to get to Ottawa and visit the beautiful Montebello region. Several historical elements are still present on the shores of the canal, such as the remains of lock No. 1 and the superintendent's and toll collector's houses. Furthermore, numerous attractions and services are available close by.


The waiting berths located below the Carillon lock provide a charming setting where you can spend the night affordably. Go to Overnight mooring page for more details.  

Carillon Park
A couple in the Carillon's Park
The park of Carillon Canal National Historic Site

To observe the spectacular operation of the lock and have a picnic outdoors, Carillon Park is an ideal location with its beautiful natural surroundings. Stop and take the opportunity to rest, take a walk, or go on a bike ride on VéloRoute d’Argenteuil, part of Route verte No. 1.



Restaurant accessible by boat
Resto Bar Zool
Resto Bar Zool
© Resto Bar Zool

Located on the Ottawa River, facing the lower portion of the Carillon Canal, Resto Bar Zool is very popular with boaters because of its dock service. With its savoury pizzas cooked in a wood-burning oven, its Saturday buffet, and its Sunday brunch, the restaurant enjoys a well-established reputation! To look at the menu and make a reservation, visit the restaurant's website at Restobarzool.com (French only) or call 450-451-4127 (open from Wednesday to Sunday).

Carillon Generating Station
The Lock - Carillon Canal National Historic Site
The Lock of Carillon Canal National Historic Site

During the summer season, from Wednesday to Sunday, Hydro-Québec invites you to visit the Carillon Generating Station, the most powerful hydroelectric generating station on the Ottawa River. Visit the Hydro-Québec website or call 1-800-365-5229 to plan your visit.


Voyageur Provincial Park

Just next to the Carillon Canal, above the lock, you can access the Voyageur Provincial Park in Ontario, which has beaches, picnic areas, campsites, hiking trails, and much more. Find out how to get there by boat by visiting Voyageur Park website.


Argenteuil Regional Museum

Located at the Carillon Barracks National Historic Site, the Argenteuil Regional Museum presents various exciting exhibitions that recount the history of the Argenteuil region. Do not miss the new permanent exhibition, Argenteuil, ma vie comme rivières. For more information, please visit the museum's website (French only).


Carillon Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary

Fascinated by birds? The Carillon Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary, located below the Carillon Canal, next to Rigaud, is a protected area that provides a habitat for a great diversity of species like the mallard, the American black duck, the Canada goose, and the blue-winged teal. For further information, visit Environment Canada's website.


To plan your trip in Parks Canada's historic canals and to learn about all the possibilities they offer for discovery, visit our website or call us at 1-888-773-8888.

Top of Page

Small loop to this summer’s greatest events!

Don’t miss a beat this summer! Head to the small loop that winds its way through Parks Canada’s network of waterways to be in the front row for this summer’s must-attend events.

Montréal’s festival season
Montréal’s Festival Season
June marks the beginning of Montréal’s festival season

June marks the beginning of Montréal’s festival season. The Lachine Canal is where it’s at for the Canadian Grand Prix, the Francofolies, or Montréal’s International Jazz Festival.

The metropolis comes to life day and night, and docking is available at the many Parks Canada wharfs located along the waterway. Enjoy a walk or a bike ride along the canal’s 14.5-km of path between two shows and take in the natural landscape and breathtaking view of downtown Montréal.

Keep an eye out for food trucks to enjoy a typical Montréal culinary experience.

Vintage and romantic stops
Arrêts rétro et romance
A boardwalk and numerous restaurants and bistros at Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

After crossing Lake Saint-Louis, head towards the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal for a romantic evening.

With its beautiful boardwalk and numerous restaurants and bistros, it’s no surprise that this lock is the busiest in Canada!

Mooring services are available on site, both upstream and downstream. Also in June, don’t miss out on Cruisin’ at the Boardwalk, with an atmosphere reminiscent of the 1950s and 1960s and roughly 500 classic cars on display.

Once your hunger is satisfied, cross Lake des Deux-Montagnes towards the Ottawa River. Known as one of the most beautiful rivers in North America, it features amazing and varied landscapes and numerous inviting stops along the way.

The road winds up to the Carillon Canal, where a picnic in the park while watching Canada’s highest lock and its vertical lift gate, which weighs nearly 200 tons, is a must.

Party in the nation’s capital!
Party in the Nation’s Capital!
At the beginning of July, it’s Ottawa’s turn to sway to the rhythm of major events

At the beginning of July, it’s Ottawa’s turn to sway to the rhythm of major events. For the ultimate experience in the nation’s capital, celebrate Canada Day on Parliament Hill. A few days later, the Bluesfest will host performances by great blues singers during one of the country’s largest music festivals.

The adventure continues at the Rideau Canal, a treasured jewel of UNESCO’s World Heritage list surrounded by pastoral landscapes and small historic towns. After arriving in Kingston, you’ll reach Lake Ontario, at the crossroads of the St. Lawrence Seaway. From there, the wild landscape spreads across the Thousand Islands National Park, which supports a rich biodiversity, and you can maneuver through a series of rock islands until you reach Brockville.

Gently navigate down the St. Lawrence River and its ever-changing river banks to return to Montréal, where the International des Feux Loto-Québec is in full swing. Once you’re in the Lachine Canal, settle in to a nice spot somewhere in the Old Port to admire the fantastic lights show.

Where magic happens
La magie prend son envol
The enchanting hot air balloons from a viewpoint on the water

In August, round out your day trip by heading for the Richelieu River to attend the International Balloon Festival of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and watch the enchanting hot air balloons from a different viewpoint on the water. The rich program will have something for everyone.

While crossing the Saint-Ours Canal, stop at Darvard Island to take in the uniqueness of its lush flora and its characteristic hills. Before you reach Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, let yourself be charmed by the Chambly Canal’s natural setting, where you can see part of our heritage come to life before your very eyes with authentic replicas from the past, such as its manually-operated locks and bridges.

Enjoy your trip!

Top of Page

Nautical itineraries

Here are a few nautical itineraries and their approximate distances between towns along the way. These circuits will take you through most of the Northeastern inland waterways including the Chambly, Saint-Ours, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Lachine (retrictions may apply), Carillon and Rideau canals.

Estimated nautical distances

Montréal to Sorel = 70 km
Sorel to Chambly = 70 km
Chambly to Lake Champlain = 55 km
Chambly to New York = 520 km
Montréal to Québec = 250 km
Montréal to Ottawa = 180 km
Montréal to Kingston = 275 km
Montréal to Toronto = 500 km

Estimated nautical circuits

Montréal, Ottawa, Rideau Canal, Kingston, St. Lawrence River, Montréal = 655 km

Montréal, Chambly, Lake Champlain, Champlain Canal, Erie Canal, Oswego Canal, St. Lawrence River, Montréal = 1000 km

Montréal, Chicago, Mississippi, Miami, New York, Chambly, Montréal = 7 500 km

Duration

  • Montréal to New York - 5 days
  • Montréal to the Rideau Canal,
    returning via the St. Lawrence Seaway - 7 days
  • Grand Circuit Nautique, omitting the Rideau Canal
    (returning by the St. Lawrence Seaway) - 2 weeks
  • Grand Circuit Nautique, including the Rideau Canal - 3 weeks

Maison du percepteur au Canal de Carillon

Sur la rivière des Outaouais, difficile de ne pas être impressionné à l’approche de l’imposante structure du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon et de la centrale d’Hydro-Québec. Unique en Amérique du Nord, l’écluse du canal de Carillon comprend une porte à guillotine qui est actionnée par un contrepoids de près de 200 tonnes. Et c’est amarré aux quais flottants qui sont installés dans le ventre de l’écluse que l’on franchit la dénivellation de plus de 20 m (65 pieds) en moins de 45 minutes! Une expérience qui vaut vraiment le détour!

Le canal de Carillon : un colosse à explorer

Maison du percepteur_Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon
Maison du percepteur du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon

Inauguré en 1833, le canal de Carillon a permis de contourner les rapides de la rivière des Outaouais. Construit à l’origine pour répondre à des impératifs militaires, le canal a été utilisé à des fins commerciales dès son ouverture. Aujourd’hui, la vocation de l’ouvrage qui remplace les onze écluses du premier système de canalisation est essentiellement touristique et les plaisanciers sont nombreux à l’emprunter pour se rendre à Ottawa et visiter la belle région de Montebello. Plusieurs éléments historiques sont encore présents aux abords du canal, dont les vestiges de l’écluse no 1 ainsi que les maisons du surintendant et du percepteur. De plus, de nombreux attraits et services sont disponibles à proximité.


Les quais d’attente situés en aval de l’écluse du canal de Carillon offrent un cadre tout à fait charmant pour passer la nuit à petits frais. Contactez les éclusiers de Parcs Canada au 450 537-3534 pour réserver votre espace et bon séjour!

Parc de Carillon
Couple dans le parc de Carillon
Le parc du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon

Pour observer le fonctionnement spectaculaire de l’écluse et faire un pique-nique en plein air, le parc du canal de carillon est idéal avec son magnifique décor naturel. Profitez d’un arrêt pour vous détendre, vous balader et faire un tour de vélo sur la VéloRoute d’Argenteuil, segment de la Route verte no 1.



Restaurant accessible en bateau
Resto Bar Zool
Resto Bar Zool
© Resto Bar Zool

Installé sur la rivière des Outaouais, devant la portion avale du canal de Carillon, le Resto Bar Zool est très populaire auprès des plaisanciers avec son service de quai. Que l’on pense à ses savoureuses pizzas cuites au four à bois, à son buffet du samedi ou à son brunch du dimanche, sa réputation n’est plus à faire! Pour consulter le menu et réserver, visitez le Restobarzool.com ou contactez le 450 451-4127 (ouvert du mercredi au dimanche).

La centrale de Carillon
Écluse du Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon
L'écluse du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon

Durant la saison estivale, Hydro-Québec vous invite à visiter la centrale de Carillon, la plus puissante installation hydroélectrique sur la rivière des Outaouais, du mercredi au dimanche. Rendez-vous sur le site web d'Hydro-Québec ou téléphonez au 1 800  365-5229 pour planifier votre visite.


Parc provincial Voyageur

Tout juste à côté du canal de Carillon, en amont de l’écluse, vous accédez au Parc provincial Voyageur de l’Ontario qui offre des plages, des aires de pique-nique, des emplacements de camping, des sentiers de randonnée et bien plus encore. Voyez comment y accéder en bateau en visitant le site web du Parc Voyageur.


Musée régional d’Argenteuil

Installé dans le lieu historique national de la Caserne-de-Carillon, le Musée régional d’Argenteuil présente différentes expositions passionnantes qui retracent l’histoire de la région d’Argenteuil. Ne manquez pas la nouvelle exposition permanente Argenteuil, ma vie comme rivières. Pour plus d’information, consultez le site web du musée.


Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-Carillon

Fasciné par les oiseaux? Le Refuge d'oiseaux migrateurs de l'Île-Carillon, situé en aval du canal de Carillon, à la hauteur de Rigaud, est une aire protégée qui abrite une grande diversité d’espèces comme le Canard colvert, le Canard noir, la Bernache du Canada et la Sarcelle à ailes bleues. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Web d’Environnement Canada.


Pour planifier votre escapade dans les canaux historiques de Parcs Canada et pour connaître toutes les possibilités de découvertes qui y sont offertes, visitez notre site web ou communiquez avec nous au 1 888  773-8888.

Haut de la page

Petite boucle des grands événements de l’été!

Pour ne rien manquer cet été, mettez le cap sur la petite boucle qui sillonne le réseau de voies navigables de Parcs Canada et soyez aux premières loges des événements incontournables.

Saison des festivals à Montréal
Saison des festivals à Montréal
Juin marque le début de la saison des festivals à Montréal

Juin marque le début de la saison des festivals à Montréal. Que ce soit pour assister au Grand Prix du Canada, aux Francofolies ou au Festival de Jazz, c’est par le canal de Lachine que ça passe!

De jour comme de nuit, la métropole s’anime et l’amarrage se fait en amont et en aval des écluses sur les quais de Parcs Canada. Entre deux spectacles, on peut profiter d’une balade à pied ou à vélo sur la piste du canal, longue de 14,5 km, pour observer le paysage naturel et la vue imprenable sur le centre-ville de Montréal.

Il faut aussi surveiller la présence des camions de cuisine de rue pour vivre une expérience culinaire typiquement montréalaise.

Arrêts rétro et romance
Arrêts rétro et romance
Une promenade de bois et de nombreux restaurants et bistros à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

Après avoir traversé le lac Saint-Louis, on se dirige vers le canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue pour passer une soirée romantique.

Avec sa magnifique promenade de bois et ses nombreux restaurants et bistros offrant terrasses avec vue sur le canal, il n’est pas surprenant qu’il s’agisse de l’écluse la plus fréquentée au Canada!

Sur place, des services d’amarrage sont disponibles autant en aval qu’en amont du canal. Toujours en juin, à ne pas manquer : Ça roule au bord de l’eau avec son ambiance des années 50-60 et ses quelque 500 voitures anciennes.

Une fois rassasié, on traverse le lac des Deux-Montagnes en direction de la rivière des Outaouais. Reconnue parmi les plus belles rivières en Amérique du Nord, celle-ci offre des paysages aussi splendides que variés, et quantité d’arrêts fort sympathiques.

La route se poursuit jusqu’au canal de Carillon, où un pique-nique dans le parc s’impose afin d’observer l’écluse la plus haute au Canada et sa porte verticale, qui pèse près 200 tonnes.

Fêter, c'est Capitale!
Fêter, c’est Capitale!
Début juillet, c’est au tour d’Ottawa de vibrer au rythme des grands événements

Début juillet, c’est au tour d’Ottawa de vibrer au rythme des grands événements. Pour vivre l’expérience ultime dans la capitale nationale, il faut célébrer la Fête du Canada sur la colline du Parlement. Quelques jours plus tard, le Bluesfest accueille les grands noms du blues durant l’un des plus gros festivals de musique au pays.

L’aventure se poursuit sur le canal Rideau, trésor du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, qui est bordé de paysages bucoliques et de petites villes historiques. En atteignant Kingston, on débouche sur le lac Ontario, au carrefour de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent. De là s’étend le décor sauvage du parc national des Mille-Îles, qui renferme une riche biodiversité et où l’on sillonne une série d’îles rocheuses jusqu’à Brockville.

En descendant doucement le majestueux fleuve Saint-Laurent et ses rivages changeants, on retourne vers Montréal où la programmation de L’International des Feux Loto-Québec bat son plein. Passé le canal de Lachine, on s’installe dans le Vieux-Port ou du côté de Longueuil pour admirer le fantastique spectacle de lumières incandescentes.

La magie prend son envol
La magie prend son envol
Le spectacle féérique de montgolfières vu de l’eau

Pour boucler l’excursion au mois d’août, on se dirige vers la rivière Richelieu pour assister à l’International de montgolfières de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Avec le spectacle féerique des montgolfières vu de l’eau et la riche programmation, il y en aura pour tous les goûts.

En traversant d’abord le canal de Saint-Ours, on fait une halte sur l’île Darvard pour contempler la singularité de sa flore luxuriante et son relief bien particulier. Avant d’atteindre Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, on se laisse séduire par les charmes du décor naturel du canal de Chambly où le patrimoine prend vie sous nos yeux avec ses écluses et ses ponts actionnés manuellement — authentiques répliques du passé.

Bonne route!

Haut de la page

Les circuits nautiques

Voici des circuits nautiques et les distances approximatives entre certaines villes accessibles tout au long du parcours. Ces circuits vous amèneront à visiter la majorité des voies navigables du Nord-Est, incluant les canaux de Chambly, de Saint-Ours, de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, de Lachine, de Carillon et Rideau.

Distance par voie d'eau (approximatif)

Montréal à Sorel = 70 km
Sorel à Chambly = 70 km
Chambly au Lac Champlain = 55 km
Chambly à New York = 520 km
Montréal à Québec = 250 km
Montréal à Ottawa = 180 km
Montréal à Kingston = 275 km
Montréal à Toronto = 500 km

Circuits nautiques (approximatif)

Montréal, Ottawa, Canal Rideau, Kingston, Fleuve Saint-Laurent, Montréal = 655 km

Montréal, Chambly, Lac Champlain, Canal Champlain, Canal Érie, Canal Oswego, Fleuve Saint-Laurent, Montréal = 1000 km

Montréal, Chicago, Mississippi, Miami, New York, Chambly, Montréal = 7 500 km

Durée

  • Montréal à New York : 5 jours
  • Montréal au canal Rideau et retour par la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent : 7 jours
  • Le Grand Circuit Nautique en excluant le canal Rideau :
    (retour par la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent) 2 semaines
  • Le Grand Circuit Nautique en incluant le canal Rideau : 3 semaines