Cannabis is legalized and strictly regulated in Canada. It is your responsibility to understand federal, provincial, and municipal regulations for cannabis use while visiting the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site.

Parks Canada may issue additional restrictions when needed to ensure public health and proper management of the protected area.

The safety and well-being of our visitors is a top priority for Parks Canada and we will continue to provide quality services and experiences for all our visitors. Please respect fellow visitors and the natural environment around them at all times.

Where cannabis can be used at the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site?

Path and public areas (rest areas, big spaces, etc.)

  • In public places (including Day Use Areas): Not allowed

Waterway

  • In a lock: Not allowed
  • On a boat moored for the night: Allowed

Learn more about cannabis regulations

Minimum age for cannabis possession in Quebec: 18 years old

Parks Canada will actively monitor and evaluate the impacts of the legalisation. Our current approach will be revisited and may be adjusted as issues arise and/or as new information becomes available.

Le cannabis a été légalisé et fait l’objet d’une réglementation stricte au Canada. Il vous incombe de bien comprendre les règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux qui encadrent la consommation de cannabis pendant votre visite au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.

Il se peut que Parcs Canada impose des restrictions supplémentaires au besoin pour assurer la santé du public et gérer adéquatement l’aire protégée.

Parcs Canada accorde une importance prioritaire à la sécurité et au bien-être de tous les visiteurs, et il tient à leur offrir des services et des expériences de qualité. Veuillez respecter en tout temps les autres visiteurs et le milieu naturel qui vous entoure.

Où est-il permis de consommer du cannabis au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue?

Aires publiques (aires de repos, grands espaces, etc.)

  • Dans les lieux publics (y compris les aires de fréquentation diurne) : consommation autorisée

Voie navigable

  • Dans une écluse : consommation interdite
  • Sur une embarcation amarrée pour la nuit : consommation autorisée

Apprenez-en davantage au sujet de la réglementation sur le cannabis

Âge minimum pour être autorisé à avoir du cannabis en sa possession au Québec : 18 ans

Parcs Canada surveillera activement et évaluera les impacts de la légalisation. Il examinera son approche et l’adaptera au besoin, au fur et à mesure que des problèmes surgissent ou que de nouveaux renseignements deviennent accessibles.