Where it feels great to let the good times flow!

The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site offers you the opportunity to take an enjoyable stroll along the waterside with a choice of fine restaurants and ice cream shops that are open late on the main street, all in pastoral and pleasant surroundings. Linking the Saint-Louis Lake to the Lake of Two Mountains, this site should be an absolute must-see part to your summer!

A Morning at the Ecomuseum Zoo

Did you know that the morning is a great time to visit the animals? Animals are often more active at this time of day. First, head on over to the Ecomuseum Zoo. The one and only outdoor zoo on the island of Montreal, it features more than 115 species of animals from Quebec in a warm and natural setting. The Ecomuseum Zoo is a unique nature experience, just 20 minutes from downtown Montreal. You can enjoy a calm walk in a natural setting at this quiet site enhanced by enjoyable animal encounters.

Discover Nature

You can then spend your early afternoon at the Morgan Arboretum, a 245 hectare forest reserve located 2 minutes from the Ecomuseum Zoo. The site features many walking trails right in the middle of the forest. Visitors can explore them to indulge in observation of wildlife. You'll encounter more than 170 species of nesting and migratory birds, some thirty species of mammals, about twenty species of reptiles and amphibians while enjoying the 18 collections of trees and shrubs from around the world. It's a must-see for lovers of hiking. You'll just absolutely love it! 

Vaudreuil-Soulanges Regional Museum

For a late afternoon immersed in history and culture, head on out in the direction of the Vaudreuil-Soulanges Regional Museum. This location, steeped in its rich tradition of hospitality, creates a personalized welcome for its visitors in an environment that encourages a rich and stimulating back-to-basics approach.

Located in the heart of Vieux-Vaudreuil in the village's former boys' school, the Vaudreuil-Soulanges Regional Museum (French only) is a recognized and well established museum-related institution.

Lunch by the canal

Urban Evenings / Dinner at Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

Back to the site of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal, you'll have the choice of picnicking with your family on the banks of the Canal or strolling on the long wooden boardwalk that runs alongside the waterway. By visiting Sainte-Anne Street, where there are restaurants and shops, you'll find just what you're looking for. The famous boardwalk will lead you to many places with really interesting and varied menus that are sure to please the whole family. In addition, the view of the Canal is just to die for! If you make it there before closing hours, take a few moments to carefully observe the operation of the locks and watch the boats navigate the one metre drop. It isn't surprising that these locks are the busiest ones in Canada.

Would you like to continue your getaway for the entire weekend? This Canal, with its more than of 150 years of history, offers mooring services at low cost both upstream and downstream of its lock.

Promenade près du canal de Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue

Là où il fait bon laisser le bon temps couler!

Le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue vous propose la possibilité de faire une belle balade sur le bord de l'eau avec des choix de bons restaurants et de crémeries, de magasins ouverts tard sur la rue Principale, le tout dans une ambiance bucolique et agréable. Reliant le lac Saint-Louis au lac des Deux-Montagnes, l’endroit sera un incontournable de votre été!

Une matinée au Zoo Ecomuseum

Saviez-vous que l’avant-midi est un très bon moment pour visiter les animaux? Les animaux sont souvent plus actifs à ce moment. Rendez-vous d’abord au Zoo Ecomuseum. Seul et unique zoo extérieur sur l’île de Montréal, il présente plus de 115 espèces d’animaux du Québec dans un cadre chaleureux et naturel, le Zoo Ecomuseum est une expérience nature unique à 20 minutes du centre-ville de Montréal. Vous profiterez ainsi d’une belle promenade en nature sur ce site tranquille, agrémentée de belles rencontres animales.

Découvrir la nature

Vous pourrez ensuite passer votre début d’après-midi à l’Arboretum Morgan, une réserve forestière de 245 hectares, située à 2 minutes du Zoo Ecomuseum. L’endroit offre de nombreux sentiers de marche en pleine forêt. Les visiteurs peuvent donc les sillonner pour s'adonner à l’observation. Vous y croiserez plus de 170 espèces d'oiseaux nicheurs et migrateurs, une trentaine d'espèces de mammifères, une vingtaine d'espèces de reptiles et d'amphibiens, tout en profitant des 18 collections d’arbres et d’arbustes de partout dans le monde. Un incontournable pour les amoureux de randonnées. Vous en aurez plein la vue! 

Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges

Pour une fin d’après-midi en histoire et en culture, prenez la direction du Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges. Cet endroit, empreint d’une riche tradition d’hospitalité, réserve à ses visiteurs un accueil personnalisé dans un environnement favorisant un retour aux sources riche et stimulant.

Situé au cœur du Vieux-Vaudreuil, dans l’ancienne école des garçons du village, le Musée régional de Vaudreuil-Soulanges est une institution muséale reconnue et bien établie.

Soirées urbaines/Souper à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

Pique-nique au canal

De retour vers le site du canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, vous aurez le choix de pique-niquer en famille sur les berges du canal ou d’aller vous balader sur la longue promenade en bois qui longe la voie navigable. En visitant la rue Sainte-Anne, où se côtoient restaurants et boutiques, vous trouverez de quoi vous sustenter. Le fameux «boardwalk» vous présentera de nombreux endroits aux menus vraiment intéressants et variés qui plairont à toute la famille. En plus, la vue sur le canal est splendide! Et s’il n’est pas trop tard, prenez quelques instants pour bien observer le fonctionnement des écluses et pour voir les bateaux franchir la dénivellation d’un mètre. Pas étonnant que ces écluses soient les plus achalandées au Canada.

Vous avez envie de poursuivre votre escapade pour toute la fin de semaine? Ce canal chargé de plus de 150 ans d’histoire offre des services d’amarrage à faible coût, en aval comme en amont de son écluse.