Introduction

The Framework for History and Commemoration: National Historic Sites System Plan 2019 is currently being developed. The Parks Canada Agency Act requires that Parks Canada have “long-term plans in place for establishing systems of national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.” The Framework for History and Commemoration replaces Parks Canada’s previous system plan that was approved in 2000. The Agency provided the public and stakeholders the opportunity to give their opinion on this new document. The public consultation was held from March 14 to April 14, 2019.

Objectives

  • Create awareness among Canadians about the approach and objectives proposed for the new system plan for national historic sites.
  • Collect views and comments from the public and stakeholders to allow Parks Canada to improve and adjust the new system plan for national historic sites.

Consultation Process

The document was posted on the Consulting with Canadians website. The public was invited to read the document, and provide comments and suggestions by completing an online survey that was available from March 14-March 25, 2019. This survey consisted of a questionnaire and comments form. Additionally, the document was available for consultation from March 14-April 14, 2019, and the public was invited to send comments via email or through post.

Parks Canada issued a news release about the consultation which was distributed nationally. It also promoted the consultation through its official Twitter and Facebook accounts, and encouraged Parks Canada’s regional offices to promote the consultation through their Twitter and Facebook accounts. 

Parks Canada sent letters and emails about the consultation to the presidents of the three national Indigenous organizations: the Assembly of First Nations, the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, and the Métis National Council. Emails about the consultation and a link to the news release were sent to stakeholders in the cultural heritage field, federal, provincial, and territorial staff working in cultural heritage, and Indigenous Peoples who have participated in the Agency’s previous consultations.

Consultation Results

The online survey included 11 questions that allowed respondents to share their comments on the Framework for History and Commemoration. Of those 11 questions, 7 asked yes or no questions, and 4 were open-ended questions that allowed for a written response. Respondents could answer as many or as few questions as they wished. Therefore, the response rate for each question varied. 86 people responded to the survey. Of those, 32 left comments for at least one question. In addition, 8 respondents sent an email to Parks Canada about the Framework for History and Commemoration.

What We Heard  

The survey questions focused on the central elements of the Framework for History and Commemoration: Principles, Strategic Priorities, Key Practices, and Annex. This report uses these elements to categorize information. People could send comments pertaining to any or all parts of the framework through email and by mail, and their suggestions are reflected in this report.

Principles

Respondents are overwhelmingly in favour of the three principles that define all of Parks Canada’s history projects. These principles, which are explained in the Framework for History and Commemoration, are Integrity, Inclusiveness, and Relevance. 91.8% of respondents agree that these principles are important. Further, 74.1% of respondents would not suggest the addition of other principles.

Strategic Priorities

Respondents are in favour of the four strategic priorities for history at Parks Canada.
87.3% of respondents agree that the History of Indigenous Peoples should be a priority. 82.8% agree that Environmental History should be a priority. 85.9% agree that Diversity should be a priority. Finally, 74.6% agree that Canada and the World should be a priority. 30.2% of respondents left additional comments or suggestions about the strategic priorities.

Key Practices

Feedback received through the online survey reveals overwhelming support for the key practices for public history. 92.2% of online survey respondents support use of these practices. Several respondents noted that the key practices were important and ambitious, and that they could encourage important exchanges and conversations at heritage places. Respondents to the online survey recognized the central role that the key practices for public history could play in expanding interpretation at Parks Canada’s heritage sites. Share Authority, key practice #5, was identified by several respondents as an important key practice for public history, with some suggesting approaches of how this practice can be implemented.

Annex

Feedback received about the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada’s review of existing designations revealed that the public approves of this approach. Online survey feedback shows that 88.1% of respondents support the Annex’s three guidelines outlining the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada’s approach to addressing the careful review of existing designations. Further, respondents were pleased to see Parks Canada addressing this issue, and supported the concept of review of existing designations. Some respondents noted the importance of the third guideline and agreed that existing designations should not be erased. Some respondents noted that it was important to understand the context in which past designations were made. Feedback also expressed a desire for more information about how the guidelines would be implemented in practice.

Conclusion

As a whole, those who participated in the consultation are in favour of the principles, strategic priorities, key practices, and Annex. Parks Canada would like to thank all the respondents who participated in the consultation. This public input will contribute to enhancing Parks Canada’s new system plan for national historic sites.

Introduction

Le document intitulé Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration : le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux 2019 est en cours d’élaboration. Conformément à la Loi sur l’Agence Parcs Canada, l’Agence « veille à mettre en place des plans à long terme pour la création de réseaux de parcs nationaux, de lieux historiques nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation ». Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration vient remplacer celui approuvé en 2000. L’Agence a donné au public et aux intervenants la possibilité de donner leurs avis sur ce nouveau document. Les consultations publiques ont été menées du 14 mars au 14 avril 2019.

Objectifs

  • Favoriser la conscientisation des Canadiens au sujet de la démarche et des objectifs proposés dans le nouveau plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux.
  • Recueillir les points de vue et les commentaires du public et des intervenants afin de permettre à Parcs Canada d’améliorer et d’ajuster le nouveau plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux.

Processus de consultation

Le document a été affiché sur le site Web « Consultations auprès des Canadiens ». Le public a été invité à lire le document, puis à formuler des commentaires et des suggestions en complétant un sondage en ligne disponible du 14 au 25 mars 2019. Le sondage comportait un questionnaire et un formulaire de commentaires. De plus, le document était disponible aux fins de consultation du 14 mars au 14 avril 2019, et le public a été invité à faire parvenir ses commentaires par courriel ou par la poste.

Parcs Canada a diffusé un communiqué de presse au sujet des consultations qui a été distribué nationalement. Elle en a également fait la promotion au moyen de ses comptes officiels des plateformes Twitter et Facebook et a invité ses bureaux régionaux à faire de même sur leurs propres comptes de médias sociaux.

Parcs Canada a fait parvenir des lettres et des courriels au sujet des consultations aux présidents des trois organisations autochtones nationales, soit l’Assemblée des Premières Nations, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami et le Ralliement national des Métis. Des courriels à ce sujet et un hyperlien menant vers la nouvelle publication ont également été transmis aux intervenants du secteur du patrimoine culturel, au personnel des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux travaillant également dans ce secteur et aux Autochtones ayant pris part aux consultations précédentes de l’Agence.

Résultats des consultations

Composé de onze questions, le sondage en ligne permettait aux répondants de formuler leurs commentaires concernant Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration. Pour sept de ces questions, il fallait répondre par « oui » ou par « non » et pour les quatre autres, de type ouvert, il fallait donner des réponses au long. Les répondants pouvaient répondre au nombre de questions qu’ils souhaitaient. Ainsi, le taux de réponse obtenu pour chaque question varie. Au total, 86 personnes ont rempli le sondage. De ce nombre, 32 personnes ont rédigé des commentaires pour au moins une question. Aussi, huit personnes ont envoyé un courriel à Parcs Canada concernant Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration.

Ce que nous avons entendu

Le sondage portait sur les éléments centraux énoncés dans Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration, soit les principes, les priorités stratégiques, les pratiques clés et l’annexe. Le présent rapport s’appuie sur ces éléments pour classer l’information. Les répondants pouvaient transmettre, par courriel ou par la poste, des commentaires concernant un ou plusieurs éléments du plan. Leurs observations figurent dans ce rapport. 

Principes

Les répondants sont largement en faveur des trois principes qui définissent tous les projets d’histoire de Parcs Canada. Ces principes, définis dans Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration, sont : l’intégrité, l’inclusion et la pertinence. Au total, 91,8 % des répondants conviennent que ces principes sont importants. De plus, 74,1 % ne proposeraient pas d’ajouter d’autres principes.

Priorités stratégiques

Les répondants sont en faveur des quatre priorités stratégiques en matière d’histoire à Parcs Canada. Au total, 87,3 % d’entre eux conviennent que l’histoire des Peuples Autochtones devrait être une priorité, et 82,8 % conviennent que l’histoire de l’environnement devrait également en être une. Aussi, 85,9 % des répondants conviennent que la diversité devrait être une priorité, et 74,6 % conviennent que le Canada et le monde devraient aussi en être une. Finalement, 30,2 % des répondants ont inscrit des commentaires ou suggestions supplémentaires au sujet des priorités stratégiques.

Pratiques clés

Les commentaires reçus au moyen du sondage en ligne démontrent un soutien exceptionnel à l’égard des pratiques clés en matière d’histoire publique. Au total, 92,2 % des répondants appuient l’usage de ces pratiques. Selon plusieurs d’entre eux, les pratiques clés sont importantes et ambitieuses et elles pourraient favoriser des conversations et des échanges essentiels dans les lieux patrimoniaux. Les répondants reconnaissent le rôle de premier plan que pourraient jouer les pratiques clés en matière d’histoire publique pour enrichir l’interprétation dans les lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada. Partager l’autorité, la pratique clé #5, a été identifiée par plusieurs répondants comme une pratique clé importante pour l’histoire publique, certains suggérant des démarches pour mettre cette pratique en application.

Annexe

Les observations formulées concernant l’examen des désignations existantes par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada révèlent que le public approuve la démarche proposée. Selon les commentaires formulés dans le sondage en ligne, 88,1 % des répondants appuient les trois lignes directrices de l’annexe qui mettent de l’avant la démarche adoptée par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour la revue approfondie des désignations existantes. De plus, les répondants sont ravis de voir Parcs Canada traiter ce dossier et appuient l’idée de revoir les désignations existantes. Certains répondants ont souligné l’importance de la troisième ligne directrice et conviennent que les désignations existantes ne devraient pas être effacées. D’autres ont indiqué qu’il était important de comprendre le contexte dans lequel ces désignations ont été faites. Dans leurs commentaires, les répondants ont également exprimé le souhait d’obtenir plus de renseignements sur la façon dont les lignes directrices seraient mises en œuvre dans la pratique.

Conclusion

Dans l’ensemble, les personnes qui ont participé aux consultations sont en faveur des principes, des priorités stratégiques, des pratiques clés et de l’annexe. Parcs Canada souhaite remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont pris part aux consultations. Cette participation du public permettra d’améliorer le nouveau plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada.