Parks Canada places belong to all Canadians and tell the stories of who we are, including the history, cultures, and contributions of Indigenous peoples.

The Framework for History and Commemoration: National Historic Sites System Plan 2019 is Parks Canada’s new national historic sites system plan. The principles, strategic priorities, key practices and historical thinking concepts outlined in the Framework will transform how history is shared at Parks Canada’s heritage places.

About the Framework for History and Commemoration

The Framework for History and Commemoration outlines a new, comprehensive and engaging approach to sharing the stories of Canada’s history through diverse, wide-ranging and sometimes complex perspectives, including the difficult periods of our past. In particular, it will ensure that the history and voices of Indigenous peoples are incorporated at Parks Canada’s heritage places.

The Framework for History and Commemoration also includes an Annex that outlines the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada’s approach to the careful review of existing designations under the National Program of Historical Commemoration.

Les lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et racontent notre histoire, notamment l’histoire, les cultures et les contributions des peuples autochtones.

Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration : le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux 2019 est le nouveau plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada. Les principes, les priorités stratégiques, les pratiques clés et les concepts de la pensée historique énoncés dans le cadre transformeront la manière dont l’histoire est partagée dans les lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

À propos du document Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration

Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration présente une nouvelle démarche permettant une compréhension plus complète et inclusive de l’histoire du Canada selon divers points de vue variés, et parfois complexes, dont les moments difficiles de notre passé. Plus spécifiquement, il permet de s’assurer que les récits et les voix des peuples autochtones sont intégrés aux lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration inclut également une annexe qui présente l’approche de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour faire la revue approfondie des désignations existantes du Programme national de commémoration historique.