Canada Historic Places Day – July 6

Join us at Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site for a fun-filled day in celebration of the Parks Canada places that preserve our nation’s history and heritage.

From 10 am to 4 pm, we will have special activities such as face-painting and kite-flying, and as always you may choose to discover the extensive trail system, take in the beautiful views of Charlottetown Harbour, or spend some time around the traditional Wigwam learning about Indigenous culture from local Mi’kmaq presenters.

This is a free event where all are welcome. Light refreshments will be served, and visitors are encouraged to pack a lunch and enjoy a picnic on the grounds.

Family Fun Day – August 11

Parks Canada is celebrating families and Acadian culture at Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site on Sunday, August 11, 2018, from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. This Family Fun Day event is in honour of National Acadian Feast Day which is observed on August 15th every year.

Activities will include face painting, kite flying, as well as Mi’kmaq interpretive programming and traditional games at the birch bark wigwam. This free, drop-in event is sure to be fun for the whole family. Light food and beverages will be provided, and visitors are also encouraged to bring a picnic lunch to enjoy on the beautiful grounds while overlooking the Charlottetown Harbour. 

HSMBC plaque unveiling – August 12

On August 12 at 11am, the public is invited to attend a Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) plaque unveiling ceremony at Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site. The ceremony will commemorate the national historic significance of the 18th century Mi’kmaq-French Alliance and coincides with the weeklong festivities (August 10-15) of the of the Congrès mondial acadien in Prince Edward Island.

Jour du Souvenir Acadien (Acadian Day of Remembrance)  December 13

This annual commemoration is designed to be a day of remembrance, but also celebrates the richness and the dynamism of the Acadian people as a model of courage and perseverance.

Journée des lieux historiques nationaux – le 6 juillet

Venez-vous amuser au lieu historique national de Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst à l’occasion de la Journée des lieux historiques nationaux, une journée mettant en valeur les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada qui assurent la préservation de l’histoire et du patrimoine de notre pays. 

De 10 h à 16 h, nous aurons des activités spéciales comme la peinture faciale et le vol en cerf-volant, et comme toujours, vous pourrez choisir de découvrir le vaste réseau de sentiers, admirer les vues incomparables du port de Charlottetown ou passer du temps dans un wigwam traditionnel et découvrir la culture autochtone présentée par des aînés mi’kmaq de la région.

Nous servirons des rafraîchissements, et les visiteurs sont invités à apporter un dîner et à pique niquer sur les terrains.

Journée de plaisir en famille – le 11 août 

Parcs Canada fait une place de choix aux familles et à la culture acadienne au lieu historique national de Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst en organisant une Journée de plaisir en famille le dimanche 12 août 2018 de 10 h à 16 h. Cette activité vise à souligner la Fête nationale des Acadiens et des Acadiennes, qui est célébrée le 15 août de chaque année. 

Le programme sera varié : il y aura des séances de maquillage de la figure,  des cerfs-volants ainsi que des activités d’interprétation et des jeux traditionnels mi’kmaq au wigwam en écorce de bouleau. Les activités, toutes gratuites et sans réservation, ne manqueront pas de plaire à toute la famille. Un goûter léger et des rafraîchissements seront servis, mais nous encourageons les visiteurs à apporter un pique-nique qu’ils pourront savourer sur la magnifique propriété du lieu historique, en face du port de Charlottetown. 

Dévoilement d'une plaque de la CLMHC – le 12 août

Le 12 août à 11 h, le public est invité à assister à la cérémonie de dévoilement d’une plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada au lieu historique national de Skmaqn–Fort-Amherst–Port-la-Joye. La cérémonie commémorera l'importance historique nationale de l’alliance entre les mi’kmaq et les français au xviiie siècle. Elle coïncidera avec les festivités qui se tiendront pendant toute une semaine, soit du 10 au 15 août, lors du Congrès mondial acadien à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Jour du Souvenir Acadien  le 13 décembre

Cette commémoration annuelle se veut un jour de souvenir, mais aussi de célébration de la richesse et du dynamisme du peuple acadien comme exemple de courage et de persévérance.