Province House National Historic Site is currently closed for an extensive conservation project. The building is more than 170 years old and in pressing need of repair. Province House is a historic and complex building and this project presents the unique challenge of rehabilitating the structure, while respecting its heritage character-defining elements.

The Government of Canada is investing in the Province House project to conserve this structure, which is both the historic birthplace of Canada and the seat of Prince Edward Island’s Provincial Legislature. This project began in 2015 and is slated to be completed in 2021.

Province House National Historic Site.

 

Fast Facts

Province House National Historic Site was built between 1843 and 1847. It is both the historic birthplace of Canada and the seat of Prince Edward Island’s Provincial Legislature.

  • The first session of the Prince Edward Island Legislature was held in the building in January 1847.

  • Province House is owned by the Province of Prince Edward Island and is operated as a national historic site by Parks Canada, thanks to an agreement signed with the Province in 1974.
  • A major restoration project was undertaken by Parks Canada between 1979 and 1983 to restore a portion of the building to the 1864 period.

  • Between 2011 and 2013, additional renovations were done in advance of the 2014 celebrations marking the 150th anniversary of the Charlottetown Conference.

 

Province House Virtual Reality: A Success Story

Province House National Historic Site.

During the summer of 2018, thousands of visitors experienced Province House: Virtual Reality, an interactive and fully immersive exhibit that offered an experience of Province House like never before. Province House: Virtual Reality was designed and produced in collaboration with students from the University of Prince Edward Island’s Faculty of Sustainable Design Engineering. This unique program has a project-based curriculum that focuses on the engineering design process.

The exhibit provided visitors with a glimpse of Province House National Historic Site as it stood before conservation work began and after the building had been emptied of its furnishings. Visitors virtually strolled the halls, explored the great chambers, and even deconstructed a wall to learn more about the reasons for the current conservation project.

Youth engagement was key in developing this innovative way to provide visitors with unique access to Province House, through an ongoing partnership between Parks Canada and the University of Prince Edward Island. Plans are underway for next season, so stay tuned to learn how you can try Province House: Virtual Reality yourself in the future!

Quick Tips for Visitors

Province House National Historic Site.

Even though Province House is closed for conservation, Parks Canada continues to tell the story of the building and of Confederation in collaboration with the Confederation Centre of the Arts:

Explore “The Story of Confederation” exhibit at the Confederation Centre of the Arts (upper foyer), which includes an impressive replica of the Confederation Chamber. Free admission. Please contact chamber@confederationcentre.com if arriving with a group of 20 or more.

November - April: Saturdays only 10:00 - 3:00

Be sure to see Parks Canada’s award-winning film, “A Building of Destiny” about the 1864 Charlottetown Conference, playing next to the Chamber replica at Confederation Centre.

Phase 2 work has begun

Phase two of the Province House conservation project is now underway. This phase will focus on the building structure, including the conservation of the exterior walls, and work related to the foundation, structural interior walls, floors and roof, as well as making the exterior of the building universally accessible.

Contractors have started work on the roof of the building. Worker protection measures and scaffolding were put in place and a thorough inspection took place. Existing slate tiles were removed from the roof deck and temporary roofing was installed. While this first stage of the work is complete, roof work will be carried out intermittently throughout the project.

Province House National Historic Site.
Additionally,
work has begun off-site on windows from the building. The windows were removed, catalogued and crated as part of phase one. They have been shipped to the contractors work site in Ontario for restoration work. However, two windows are remaining on PEI and will be conserved by students from Holland College’s Heritage Retrofit Carpentry program. An expert conservator will be working with students in this exceptional training experience.

Down Memory Lane

Province House has had a great many people work within its walls over the past 170 years. Each of these people has stories to tell of their experiences there. In this edition, we share a story from Sharon Larter, a former Parks Canada interpreter. Sharon tells us about restorations being done in the 1980s and a contentious matter with plaster.

Joaquin da Fondeca was the stone mason originally from Portugal. He had been involved with the cleaning of the exterior of Province House and in the 1980s, was asked to make plaster to repair the walls in the Legislative Library. The original plaster recipe called for cow hair, and to find the material, Joaquin went to a tannery in New Brunswick that was being torn down. He was able to retrieve the insulation that had been used for that building, which was made of cow hair. The recipe called for about 20 pounds of cow hair per square yard, but when he tried to use that blend, it was just too heavy. However, Joaquin persevered and used a cow hair mixture for all the rooms upstairs, including the Confederation Chamber.

Province House National Historic Site.

Shortly thereafter, when the upstairs was nearly finished, a different contractor was hired to replaster rooms on the ground floor. This was during the winter, and try as they might, this contractor could not find any cow hair for the project. They tried to buy some from Joaquin, but he wouldn’t sell to them, so they had to find a farmer that would let them shave his cow! In the end, this mixture wasn’t quite as good as the one used upstairs and if you look very closely, you can see a difference.


Thanks for the memories, Sharon!

An Evolving Team of Experts

Province House National Historic Site.
The Province House conservation project team, including representatives from Parks Canada, Public Services and Procurement Canada, and the Province of PEI, as well as consultants from the firms DFS, RMA and construction manager PCL. (Photo courtesy of PCL).

The Province House conservation project is managed by Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), on behalf of Parks Canada. In October 2017, PSPC awarded a contract for construction management services to PCL Constructors Ltd. PCL will manage the sub- contractors and tendering processes for phases two and three. The contracts for windows and the roof were both recently awarded to Ultimate Construction Ltd. from Barrie, Ontario.

Behind Closed Doors

Curious to see what the inside of Province House looks like during this conservation project? Check out this 360° photo array of various locations, including the Confederation Chamber and the Legislative Assembly.

New Roof, New Approach

As the conservation of Province House continues, a key part of the project will see the replacement of the building’s copper and slate roof. The new roof will preserve the heritage-defining characteristics of the original design. An integral element of the historic character of the 170 year-old building, the roof has also been the source of some chronic problems. Thanks to combining traditional materials with new, state-of-the-art components and high-quality design, the roof will not only be restored, but also improved.

Over the years, water infiltration through the roof near the eaves and the annual freeze – thaw cycle has been the greatest enemy of the building’s stone masonry exterior walls. The new roof will enhance water management and prevent water entering into the walls. New insulation will reduce ice build-up and damming on the roof, ensuring that the structure will be better protected from nature’s battering. There will also be less on-going maintenance and repairs required.

Province House National Historic Site.

Reflecting the original heritage of the building, the roof features new copper cladding, thermal insulation and new slate shingles brought in from the United Kingdom, which is where the original slate came from when the building was first constructed. The current slate roof was installed in the 1980s, replacing asphalt shingles that had been installed sometime before. The new purple slate replaces this current slate material which came from a quarry in Vermont.

The work includes removing the slate and copper to allow for a more detailed assessment of the underlying roof structure. During the replacement, the temporary roof will be completely weather tight. The new roof will be completed in 2019.

Le lieu historique national Province House est actuellement fermé en raison d’un vaste projet de conservation. L’édifice de plus de 170 ans a grand besoin de travaux de restauration. Province House est un édifice historique et complexe, et ce projet présente le défi particulier de remettre en état la structure en tenant compte des éléments caractéristiques qui définissent sa valeur patrimoniale.

Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans le projet de conservation de Province House puisqu’il s’agit du lieu de naissance historique du Canada ainsi que du siège de l’Assemblée législative provinciale de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il s’agit d’un projet qui a commencé en 2015 et devrait prendre fin en 2021.

Province House National Historic Site.

 

Faits saillants

Le lieu historique national Province House a été construit de 1843 à 1847. Cet édifice est à la fois le lieu de naissance historique du Canada et le siège de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

  • La première séance de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île- du-Prince-Édouard a eu lieu dans l’édifice en 1847.

  • Province House appartient à la province de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et est géré à titre de lieu historique national par Parcs Canada grâce à une entente signée avec la province en 1974.
  • De 1979 à 1983, Parcs Canada a entrepris un important projet de rénovation afin de redonner à une partie de l’édifice son apparence de 1864.

  • De 2011 à 2013, d’autres rénovations ont été faites avant les célébrations de 2014 marquant le 150e anniversaire de la Conférence de Charlottetown.

 

Province House : Réalité virtuelle – Une expérience réussie

Province House National Historic Site.

Au cours de l’été 2018, des milliers de visiteurs ont visité Province House : Réalité virtuelle, une exposition interactive et favorisant une immersion complète qui permettait de faire l’expérience de Province House comme jamais auparavant. L’exposition Province House : Réalité virtuelle a été conçue et produite en collaboration avec des étudiants de la faculté de génie de conception durable de l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince- Édouard. Ce programme unique en son genre comporte un programme d’études axé sur les projets qui met l’accent sur le processus de conception technique.

L’exposition a donné aux visiteurs un aperçu du lieu historique national Province House tel qu’il était avant le début des travaux de conservation et après que le mobilier eut été retiré de l’édifice. Les visiteurs ont, de façon virtuelle, parcouru les halls, exploré les grandes salles et même déconstruit un mur pour en savoir plus sur les raisons du projet de conservation en cours.

La mobilisation des jeunes a joué un rôle clé dans l’élaboration de cette façon novatrice d’offrir aux visiteurs un accès unique à Province House, grâce à un partenariat continu entre Parcs Canada et l’Université de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Des plans sont en cours pour la prochaine saison, alors restez à l’écoute pour savoir comment vous pouvez essayer Province House : Réalité Virtuelle vous-même dans l’avenir!

Conseils pratiques pour les visiteurs

Province House National Historic Site.

Même si l’édifice Province House est fermé en raison du projet de conservation, Parcs Canada continue de raconter l’histoire de l’édifice et de la Confédération en collaboration avec le Centre des arts de la Confédération :

Découvrez l’exposition « L’histoire de la Confédération » présentée dans le foyer supérieur du Centre des arts de la Confédération; vous y verrez une impressionnante réplique de la Salle de la Confédération. Entrée gratuite. Veuillez communiquer avec chamber@confederationcentre.com si vous êtes un groupe d’au moins 20 personnes.

Novembre à avril : samedis seulement de 10 h à 15 h

Ne manquez pas le film primé de Parcs Canada « Un édifice, une destinée », sur la Conférence de Charlottetown de 1864, présenté près de la réplique de la Salle au Centre des arts de la Confédération.

Les travaux de la phase 2 ont commencé

La deuxième phase du projet de conservation de Province House est en cours. Cette phase sera axée sur la structure de l’édifice, y compris la conservation des murs extérieurs et les travaux relatifs aux fondations, aux murs intérieurs structurels, aux planchers et au toit, ainsi que sur l’extérieur de l’édifice afin de rendre le lieu accessible à tous.

Les entrepreneurs ont commencé les travaux relatifs au toit de l’édifice. Des mesures de protection des travailleurs et des échafaudages ont été mises en place et une inspection détaillée est terminée. Les tuiles d’ardoise existantes ont été enlevé du platelage de toit et une toiture temporaire a été installer. Même si cette première étape des travaux est terminée, les travaux de toiture seront effectués de façon intermittente tout au long du projet.

Province House National Historic Site.

De plus, les travaux sur les fenêtres de l’édifice ont commencé à l’extérieur du site. Les fenêtres ont été enlevées, cataloguées et mises en caisse dans le cadre de la première phase. Elles ont été expédiées au lieu de travail de l’entrepreneur en Ontario pour des travaux de restauration. Il reste toutefois deux fenêtres à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard dont la conservation sera assurée par des étudiants du programme de menuiserie patrimoniale du Collège Holland. Un restaurateur expert travaillera avec les étudiants dans le cadre de cette expérience de formation exceptionnelle.

Retour en arrière

Au cours des 170 dernières années, un grand nombre de personnes ont travaillé à Province House. Chacune de ces personnes a des histoires à raconter sur ses expériences vécues à cet endroit. Dans ce numéro, nous vous présentons l’histoire de Sharon Larter, une ancienne interprète de Parcs Canada. Sharon nous parle des restaurations réalisées dans les années 1980 et d’une affaire litigieuse concernant du plâtre.

Joaquin da Fondeca était le maçon spécialisé dans la pierre et était originaire du Portugal. Il a participé au nettoyage de l’extérieur de Province House et, dans les années 1980, on lui a demandé de faire du plâtre pour réparer les murs de la bibliothèque de l’Assemblée législative. La recette originale de plâtre exigeait des poils de vache et, pour trouver le matériau, Joaquin s’est rendu dans une tannerie du Nouveau-Brunswick qui était en train d’être démolie. Il a pu récupérer l’isolant qui avait été utilisé pour ce bâtiment, qui était fait de poils de vache. La recette exigeait environ 20 livres de poils de vache par verge carrée, mais lorsqu’il a essayé d’utiliser ce mélange, celui-ci était tout simplement trop lourd. Cependant, Joaquin a persévéré et a utilisé un mélange de poils de vache pour toutes les pièces à l’étage, y compris la Salle de la Confédération.

Province House National Historic Site.

Peu de temps après, lorsque l’étage supérieur était presque terminé, un autre entrepreneur a été engagé pour replâtrer les pièces du rez-de-chaussée. Cela se déroulait en hiver, et malgré tous ses efforts, cet entrepreneur n’a pas pu trouver de poils de vache pour le projet.

Il a essayé d’en acheter auprès de Joaquin, mais ce dernier ne voulait pas lui en vendre, alors il a dû trouver un fermier qui le laissait raser sa vache! En fin de compte, ce mélange n’était pas aussi bon que celui utilisé à l’étage et si vous regardez de très près, vous pouvez voir une différence.

Merci pour les souvenirs Sharon!

Une équipe d’experts en évolution

Province House National Historic Site.
L’équipe du projet de conservation de Province House, y compris des représentants de Parcs Canada, de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada et de la province de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ainsi que des experts-conseils des entreprises DFS et RMA et du gestionnaire des travaux de construction PCL. (Photo fournie gracieusement par PCL).

Le projet de conservation de Province House est géré par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), au nom de Parcs Canada. En octobre 2017, SPAC a attribué un contrat de services de gestion de travaux de construction à PCL Constructors Ltd. PCL gérera les sous-traitants et les processus d’appel d’offres pour les phases deux et trois. Les contrats pour les fenêtres et le toit ont récemment été attribués à Ultimate Construction Ltd. situé à Barrie, en Ontario.

Dans les coulisses

Curieux de voir à quoi ressemble l’intérieur de Province House pendant ce projet de conservation? Jetez un coup d’œil à cette série de photos 360° de divers endroits , y compris la Salle de la Confédération et l’Assemblée législative.

Nouveau toit, nouvelle approche

Au fur et à mesure que la conservation de Province House se poursuit, une partie importante du projet consistera à remplacer la toiture en cuivre et en ardoise de l’édifice. La nouvelle toiture conservera les caractéristiques patrimoniales du concept original. Partie intégrante du caractère historique de cet édifice de 170 ans, le toit a également été à l’origine de certains problèmes graves. Grâce à la combinaison de matériaux traditionnels, de nouveaux composants à la fine pointe de la technologie et d’un concept de haute qualité, la toiture sera non seulement restaurée, mais aussi améliorée.

Au fil des ans, l’infiltration d’eau par le toit près des avant-toits et le cycle annuel de gel-dégel ont été les principaux ennemis des murs extérieurs en maçonnerie de pierre de l’édifice. Le nouveau toit améliorera la gestion de l’eau et empêchera l’eau de pénétrer dans les murs. Une nouvelle isolation réduira l’accumulation de glace et la formation de barrages sur le toit, ce qui permettra de mieux protéger la structure contre les conditions météorologiques. Il y aura également moins d’entretien et de réparations continus nécessaires.

Province House National Historic Site.

La toiture, qui reflète le patrimoine original de l’édifice, comprend un nouveau revêtement de cuivre, une isolation thermique et de nouveaux bardeaux d’ardoise importés du Royaume-Uni, d’où proviennent les bardeaux d’ardoise originaux lorsque l’édifice a été onstruit initialement. La toiture actuelle en ardoise a été installée dans les années 1980 et remplaçait des bardeaux d’asphalte qui avaient été installés quelque temps auparavant. La nouvelle ardoise violette remplace l’ardoise actuelle qui provient d’une carrière du Vermont.

Les travaux comprennent l’enlèvement de l’ardoise et du cuivre pour permettre une évaluation plus détaillée de la structure du toit sous- jacente. Pendant le remplacement, la toiture temporaire résistera complètement aux intempéries. Le nouveau toit sera achevé en 2019.