National historic sites represent thousands of years of human history. The many stories of Province House prompt us to think about who has – and who has not - been invited to participate in shaping and governing this country. Moving forward, Parks Canada is committed to sharing the diverse stories of people and groups whose voices were missing. 

Province House National Historic Site is currently undergoing an extensive conservation project. Built over 170 years ago, Province House is a complex building and presents the unique challenge of rehabilitating the structure, while respecting its heritage character-defining elements.

Parks Canada is committed to providing updates on the important conservation project at Province House National Historic Site. For more information: Conservation Project

A Legislature for Prince Edward Island

Completed in 1847, Province House was built in neo-classical style by local architect Isaac Smith to accommodate the provincial legislature and administrative offices. It also housed the Island’s Supreme Court until 1872.

The first session of the Prince Edward Island Legislature, held in the new Colonial Building in January 1847, marked the official opening of the structure. The small Island community had designed, built and furnished a major public building comparable to those in other British colonies in North America. The Colonial Building represented the epitome of Island craftsmanship during the mid-19th century, a time of unprecedented prosperity and optimism.

Today, Province House retains its central role in Island public life, with the Assembly holding sessions here until the building closed for conservation work in 2015.  

The Charlottetown Conference

In September 1864, Province House was the scene of the first conference on colonial union. Delegates from the colonies of Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Canada met in the legislative council chamber to begin discussions, which led to confederation in 1867.

Province House Restored

An agreement was signed in 1974 between Parks Canada and the Province of Prince Edward Island. Under the terms of the agreement, Parks Canada and the Province agreed to operate the site cooperatively for a period of 99 years. Parks Canada's primary role is to protect and interpret this important site to Canadians. Also, as part of the agreement, a major restoration project was undertaken by Parks Canada to restore a portion of the building to the 1864 period.

Les lieux historiques nationaux représentent des milliers d'années d'histoire humaine. Les nombreuses histoires de Province House nous incitent à réfléchir à qui a - et qui n'a pas - été invité à participer au façonnement et à la gouvernance de ce pays.  Aller de l'avant, Parcs Canada s’est engagé à partager les histoires diverses des personnes et des groupes dont les voix étaient absents.

Le lieu historique national Province House fait actuellement l’objet d’un vaste projet de conservation. Construite il y a plus de 170 ans, Province House est un édifice complexe, et ce projet de remise en état du bâtiment tout en respectant sa valeur patrimoniale et ses éléments caractéristiques représente un défi unique.

Parcs Canada s'est engagé à fournir des mises à jour sur cet important projet de conservation au lieu historique national de Province House. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le projet de conservation de Province House, visitez : Le projet de conservation 

Une législature pour l’Île-du Prince Édouard

Achevé en 1847, le bâtiment Province House a été conçu et construit en style néo-classique par l’architecte local Isaac Smith pour l’Assemblée législative et l’administration coloniale. La Cour suprême de l’île y a siégé aussi jusqu’en 1872. 

L’ouverture de la première session de la législature de l’Île du Prince Édouard en janvier 1847 marqua l’inauguration de l’édifice colonial. La petite collectivité de l’Île avait conçu, construit et aménagé un important édifice public comparable à ceux d’autres colonies britanniques d’Amérique du Nord. L’édifice colonial représentait le nec plus ultra des savoir-faire artisanaux de l’Île au milieu du 19e siècle, une période de prospérité et d’optimisme sans précédent.

Le bâtiment conserve son importance dans la vie publique de l’île. L'Assemblée s'est réunie ici jusqu'à la fermeture de l'édifice pour des travaux de conservation en 2015. 

La Conférence de Charlottetown
En effet, Province House a été le théâtre de la première conférence sur l’union des colonies en septembre 1864. Lors de celle-ci, des représentants de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de la province du Canada se sont réunis dans la salle du conseil afin d’entamer les discussions qui ont par la suite mené à la Confédération en 1867.
La restauration

Aux termes d’une entente conclue entre Parcs Canada et la province de l’Île du Prince Édouard en 1974, les deux entités exploitent Province House en coopération pour une durée de 99 ans. Le rôle primordial de Parcs Canada consiste à protéger et à interpréter ce lieu important pour les Canadiens. L’entente prévoyait aussi que Parcs Canada entreprendrait un important projet de restauration d’une partie de l’édifice pour qu’elle reflète son apparence de la période de 1864.