Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars over 5 years to support infrastructure work within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting Green Gables Heritage Place, you may encounter one or more construction zones while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects in Green Gables Heritage Place to see how any work might impact your trip. The entire project will be completed in summer 2019.

What to know before your visit

Green Gables Heritage Place will remain open throughout the project.

Regular dates and hours of operation are in effect and Parks Canada continues to provide quality services and programming during the construction period.

While these infrastructure upgrades may result in a short-term inconvenience, they will bring a long-term benefit and improve visitor experience at Green Gables Heritage Place. The construction at Green Gables Heritage Place is part of a $9.5 million site redevelopment project that will improve visitor experience, site facilities and accessibility.


Infrastructure projects at Green Gables Heritage Place

New visitor centre and interpretive exhibits

The new Green Gables Visitor Centre is now open to the public, including the lobby area, washrooms and gift shop. New exhibits and interpretive elements will be installed at the end of June 2019.

Parks Canada will make every effort to minimize disruptions caused by infrastructure improvements. We thank all visitors for their patience as we complete this important work. For more information, please contact us at 902-566-7050.

For detailed information about the Green Gables Heritage Place Site Redevelopment Project and new Interpretive Plan, please visit our project background page.

Rehabilitation of Haunted Wood Trail work staging area

The Haunted Wood Trail at Green Gables Heritage Place was upgraded in 2018. While those improvements are complete, crews will be out in May and early June 2019 to rehabilitate the work staging area for the project.

There will be no trail closures and the work will have minimal impact on visitors.

Parcs Canada investit une somme record de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans pour réaliser des travaux d’infrastructures aux lieux historiques nationaux, aux des parcs nationaux et aux aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Cet investissement historique vient appuyer la conservation tout en contribuant à offrir une expérience mémorable aux visiteurs et à accroître la sécurité et l’attrait de notre infrastructure.

Si vous visitez le site patrimonial Green Gables pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants, il se peut que vous croisiez un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction. Assurez-vous de bien planifier votre séjour afin d’éviter tout désagrément. Consultez la liste suivante de projets d’infrastructure en cours au site patrimonial Green Gables pour vérifier l’incidence que des travaux pourraient avoir sur votre voyage. L’ensemble du projet s’achèvera pendant l’été 2019.

À savoir avant de venir nous voir

Le site patrimonial Green Gables restera ouvert tout au long du projet.

Les dates et les heures d’ouverture resteront inchangées, et Parcs Canada continuera de fournir des services et des programmes de qualité.

Si ces travaux d’amélioration de l’infrastructure risquent d’occasionner des désagréments à court terme, ils apporteront toutefois des avantages à long terme et contribueront à enrichir l’expérience du visiteur au site patrimonial Green Gables. Les travaux qui y seront effectués s’inscrivent dans un projet de réaménagement qui coûtera 9,5 millions de dollars et améliorera l’expérience du visiteur ainsi que les installations et l’accessibilité du site.


Projets d’infrastructure au site patrimonial Green Gables

Nouveau centre d’accueil et expositions d’interprétation

Le nouveau centre d’accueil est maintenant ouvert; le public aura accès à l’aire d’accueil, aux toilettes et à la boutique de cadeaux. Les expositions d’interprétation seront aménagées à la fin de juin. 

Parcs Canada s’efforcera de réduire au minimum les perturbations causées par les améliorations apportées à l’infrastructure. Nous tenons à remercier tous les visiteurs de leur patience pendant ces travaux importants. Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec nous au 902-566-7050.

Pour obtenir des détails sur le projet de réaménagement et sur le nouveau plan d’interprétation du site patrimonial Green Gables visitez notre page.

Remise de l'aire de rassemblement des travaux du sentier Haunted Wood

Le sentier Haunted Wood du site patrimoine Green Gables a été rénové en 2018. Pendant que ces améliorations sont terminées, des équipes seront sur place en mai et au début de juin 2019 pour remettre l'aire de rassemblement des travaux du projet.

Il n'y aura pas de fermeture de sentiers et les travaux auront un impact minimal sur les visiteurs.