All Parks Canada consultations and formal engagement on management plans are suspended until further notice.

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada is following the advice of public health experts and implementing measures to support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce risks to employees and visitors. 

As a result, Parks Canada has also suspended all public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples on management plans until further notice. 

Management plans are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors, and the public. 

The Agency is currently focusing its efforts on critical operations. There is, therefore, limited capacity to undertake full and meaningful management planning consultations at this time. Parks Canada also recognizes that the focus of the Canadian public, Indigenous partners and our stakeholders is on public health and safety and the economy. 

Parks Canada is committed to resuming all management planning activities, including public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples, once operations return to normal and capacity allows. 

Parks Canada is reviewing its management objectives and strategies for Ardgowan National Historic Site.

Next Steps

We would like to thank everyone who provided input during consultations held to review Parks Canada’s management objectives and strategies for Ardgowan National Historic Site. We value the thoughts and ideas you have shared regarding the governance of this historic site. Your feedback has been invaluable in helping us to create a shared vision that will guide site management for the next 10 years.

Our aim is to continue on the management path already established for Ardgowan National Historic Site, which will remain a protected heritage site dedicated to learning and enjoyment. Its intention is to protect and present the historic importance of the house and grounds and to have the site serve as a gathering place for the community and greater public. 

Parks Canada is committed to meaningful, accessible consultation on its management statements and strives to ensure that Indigenous communities, partners, stakeholders, and the public have opportunities to influence and contribute to this plan. Your feedback has been greatly appreciated.

While the management statement is meant to be a strategic document and contains very few specific actions, specific implementation strategies and methods for how to achieve the results will be reported on an annual basis to our partners, stakeholders and the general public. If you would like to be included in future updates please let us know.

For more information, please contact us at 902-566-7050 or email pc.pnipe-peinp.pc@canada.ca

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation, and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Context

Ardgowan National Historic Site is located in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, in a residential neighbourhood two kilometres from the city centre. It was the home of William Henry Pope, one of the Fathers of Confederation at the time of the Charlottetown Conference of 1864. A keen gardener, Pope created lavish grounds around his substantial and ornate Victorian cottage-style house with outbuildings on his 31-hectare (76-acre) property.

In 1966, Ardgowan was recognised as a site of national historic importance, as the “symbolic home of a Father of Confederation in Prince Edward Island.”  The property was acquired by the federal government in 1967, at a time when the house was badly deteriorated and only about two hectares remained of the original estate. A major rehabilitation of the house’s exterior and grounds was completed between 1980 and 1982, restoring them to their 1860s appearance in keeping with the time period of the Confederation debates.

The largely rebuilt interior of the house was adapted for use as office space for Parks Canada staff. Office space was added in 1994 with the reconstruction of the east wing of the house, which had been removed prior to 1966. Since then, the house has accommodated the administrative functions of the Prince Edward Island Field Unit. The interior of the house is not open for tours, but visitors can enjoy the grounds and gardens and learn more about the history of Ardgowan National Historic Site of Canada via a brochure and interpretive panels on site.

Past Management Strategies

In the past, extensive management plans were required for all national historic sites. Four years ago, Parks Canada changed the planning process to allow for more flexibility for sites with less complex management requirements.  Plans for sites such as Ardgowan National Historic Site are now directed through management statements.
Management statement are strategic, shorter in length, and results-oriented. They include key strategies and goals, outlining a basic level of management that is not anticipated to change. They do not require a vision or strategic direction.

They guide management decisions and actions at heritage places, and serve as key accountability documents to Indigenous peoples and Canadians. These statements are one-page documents that often require ministerial approval and tabling in Parliament, as is the case with the Ardgowan NHS management statement.

Management goals are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local residents, visitors, stakeholders and partners as well as the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

Proposed Management Approach

Parks Canada's aim is to continue on the management path established for Ardgowan National Historic Site, which will remain a protected heritage site dedicated to learning and enjoyment. Its intention is to protect and present the historic importance of the house and grounds and to have the site serve as a gathering place for the community and the greater public. With its central location, Parks Canada will also continue to use the building as administrative offices.

Proposed Management Goals

Resource Conservation: Parks Canada protects the cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. To maintain the site's integrity, the purpose of Ardgowan National Historic Site is to preserve cultural resources for current and future generations. These efforts include the continued oversight and maintenance of cultural resources, the implementation of rehabilitation and preservation initiatives, as well as the documentation of on-site initiatives.
 
Public understanding, awareness and enjoyment: Parks Canada aims to effectively convey the historic importance of Ardgowan by welcoming visitors to the site grounds. The site will focus its efforts on non-personal media and site amenities for visitor understanding, awareness and enjoyment. 
 
Building relationships with partners and stakeholders: The PEI Field Unit will look to build relationships with partners and stakeholders in order to increase the use of the grounds as a gathering place to be used for events and activities. These relationships will provide opportunities for a greater number of Canadians to enjoy and become aware of the site.
 
Site maintenance: Parks Canada will continue to maintain this property in a way that supports the site's heritage value, presents a positive image to the public and affirms Parks Canada's brand.

Strategic environmental assessment

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all management statements tabled in Parliament. The SEA for the Ardgowan NHS assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources and visitor experience. The SEA concluded that the proposed management statement for Ardgowan NHS would have positive effects on cultural resources and visitor experience. Potential environmental effects on vegetation and migratory birds were identified but the effects can be mitigated through project-level impact assessments when necessary.  The statement supports the federal sustainable development strategy goal of connecting Canadians with nature. 

There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation.

Parcs Canada est en train de revisiter ses objectifs et stratégies de gestion pour le lieu historique national Ardgowan et nous aimerions avoir votre opinion à ce sujet.

Les prochaines étapes

Nous aimerions vous remercier des idées dont vous nous avez fait part à l’occasion des consultations organisées pour examiner les objectifs et les stratégies de gestion de Parcs Canada pour le lieu historique national Ardgowan. Vos réflexions et vos idées concernant la gestion du lieu historique sont précieuses pour nous. Votre opinion a été très utile, car elle nous a aidés à créer une vision commune qui guidera la gestion du lieu historique pendant les dix prochaines années.

Nous allons continuer à suivre la direction tracée pour la gestion du lieu historique national Ardgowan, qui demeurera un site patrimonial protégé destiné à l’apprentissage et à l’agrément. Le but est de protéger et faire connaître l’importance historique de la maison et du domaine qui l’entoure et de faire en sorte que le lieu historique soit un lieu de rassemblement pour la collectivité et le grand public.

Parcs Canada s’est donné pour objectif d’entreprendre des consultations significatives et accessibles relativement à ses plans directeurs et met tout en œuvre pour s’assurer que les collectivités autochtones, les partenaires, les intervenants et le public ont la possibilité d’influer sur ce plan et d’y contribuer. Nous vous sommes très reconnaissants de vos commentaires.

Bien que l'énoncé de gestion se veuille un document stratégique et qu'il contienne très peu de mesures précises, les stratégies et méthodes de mise en œuvre précises qui nous permettront d’atteindre les résultats souhaités feront l’objet d’un rapport annuel qui sera présenté à nos partenaires, à nos intervenants et au grand public. Si vous souhaitez recevoir des nouvelles à ce sujet, faites-le-nous savoir.

Pour obtenir davantage d’information, veuillez communiquer avec nous, par téléphone au 902 566 7050 ou par courriel à pnipe.peinp@pc.gc.ca.

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Contexte

Le lieu historique national Ardgowan est situé à Charlottetown, sur l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, dans un quartier résidentiel à deux kilomètres du centre de la ville. C’est là qu’habitait William Henry Pope, l’un des Pères de la Confédération, à l’époque de la Conférence de Charlottetown de 1864. Passionné de jardinage, Pope avait créé un domaine somptueux autour de sa maison victorienne, un cottage spacieux de style ornemental, au sein d’une propriété de 31 hectares (76 acres) sur laquelle se trouvaient également des dépendances. 

En 1966, Ardgowan a été reconnu en tant que site d’importance historique nationale, à titre de « demeure symbolique d’un Père de la Confédération à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ». Lorsque le gouvernement fédéral a acquis la propriété en 1967, la maison se trouvait dans un état de détérioration avancé et il ne restait qu’environ deux hectares du domaine original. Un important programme de restauration de la maison et des terrains a été mis en œuvre de 1980 à 1982, qui a permis de leur faire retrouver leur apparence des années 1860, l’époque des débats sur la Confédération. 
 
L’intérieur de la maison, en grande partie reconstruit, a été adapté afin de procurer des bureaux au personnel de Parcs Canada. En 1994, la reconstruction de l’aile est (démolie avant 1966) a permis d’élargir l’espace réservé à cette fin et la maison abrite depuis les bureaux administratifs de l’Unité de gestion de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. L’intérieur n’est pas ouvert au public, mais les visiteurs peuvent se promener sur les terrains et dans les jardins et découvrir l’histoire du Lieu historique national Ardgowan du Canada par l’entremise d’une brochure et de panneaux d’interprétation. 


Stratégies de gestion passées

Dans le passé, des plans de gestion détaillés étaient requis pour tous les lieux historiques nationaux. Toutefois, il y a quatre ans, Parcs Canada a changé le processus de planification afin d’introduire davantage de souplesse pour les sites n’ayant pas d’exigences de gestion complexes. Les plans préparés pour les sites tels que le Lieu historique national Ardgowan sont donc désormais orientés par des énoncés de gestion. 

Les énoncés de gestion sont stratégiques, plutôt brefs, et axés sur les résultats. Ils comprennent les stratégies et buts essentiels, propres à un niveau de gestion de base qui devrait en principe rester inchangé. Ils n’exigent ni vision, ni orientation stratégique. 

Ils guident les décisions et les mesures de gestion aux emplacements patrimoniaux et servent de documents de reddition de compte aux peuples autochtones et aux Canadiens. Il s’agit de documents d’une page qui nécessitent souvent d’être approuvés par le ministre et déposés au Parlement, comme c’est le cas pour l’énoncé de gestion du LHN Ardgowan.

Les buts de gestion sont établis au moyen de consultations et de la prise en compte des commentaires de diverses personnes et organisations, y compris des peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux, des visiteurs, des intervenants et des partenaires, ainsi que de l’équipe dédiée de Parcs Canada. 

Approche de gestion proposée 

Parcs Canada prévoit suivre le parcours de gestion établi pour le Lieu historique national Ardgowan, lequel demeurera un lieu patrimonial protégé dédié à l’apprentissage et l’appréciation. L’Agence entend protéger et faire connaître l’importance historique de la maison et des terrains qui l’entourent et en promouvoir l’utilisation à titre de lieu de rassemblement pour la communauté et le grand public. En raison de la situation centrale du lieu, les bureaux administratifs de Parcs Canada demeureront sur place.

Buts de gestion proposés

Conservation des ressources : Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. En vue de maintenir l’intégrité du site, le Lieu historique national Ardgowan se donne pour but de préserver les ressources culturelles au bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures. Cela comprend une surveillance et un entretien constants des ressources culturelles, la mise en œuvre d’initiatives de remise en état et de préservation, ainsi que de la documentation sur les initiatives du site. 

Compréhension, connaissance et expériences enrichissantes du public : Parcs Canada s’efforce de faire comprendre l’importance historique d’Ardgowan en accueillant des visiteurs sur les terrains du site. Le site axera ses efforts sur les moyens d’interprétation sans personnel et des installations sur place pour promouvoir la compréhension, la connaissance et l’appréciation du public. 

Établissement de relations avec des partenaires et des intervenants : L’Unité de gestion de l’Î-.-P.-É. cherchera à établir des relations avec des partenaires et des intervenants afin d’accroître l’utilisation des terrains en tant que lieu de rassemblement utilisé pour divers événements et activités. Ces relations fourniront à un plus grand nombre de Canadiens l’occasion de connaître le site et d’en profiter.

Entretien du site : Parcs Canada continuera d’entretenir cette propriété de façon à appuyer la valeur patrimoniale du site, à en présenter une image positive au public et à affirmer l’image de marque de Parcs Canada. 

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’EES effectuée pour le LHN Ardgowan a évalué les effets potentiels sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles et l’expérience des visiteurs. Elle a conclu que l’énoncé de gestion proposé pour ce lieu aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources naturelles et l’expérience des visiteurs. Des effets environnementaux potentiels sur la végétation et les oiseaux migrateurs ont été cernés, mais ils peuvent être atténués par des évaluations d’impact au niveau des projets, au besoin. L’énoncé va dans le sens de l’objectif de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui consiste à rapprocher les Canadiens de la nature. Il n’y a pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants prévus découlant de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion.