Former home of a Father of Confederation

William Henry Pope, 1825-1879

William Henry Pope was born in 1825, the son of another prominent Island politician, Joseph Pope. He was educated in Charlottetown and later studied law in London, England. As a lawyer, land agent, journalist, and politician, Pope was a colourful and significant figure in Island life. After the victory of the Conservative Party in 1859, he was named colonial secretary and also became editor of the Islander newspaper.

Imbued with the spirit of nation building, Pope was named as a delegate to the Charlottetown Conference at Province House in September 1864, thus becoming immortalized as a Father of Confederation. Although the general mood of Prince Edward Island was anti-Confederation, Pope was an adamant proponent of a union of the British colonies in North America.

Eventually, faced with overwhelming public opposition to Confederation, Pope resigned from office in 1866. He left Ardgowan in 1875, and died in Summerside in 1879 while serving as a judge of the Prince County Court.

Ardgowan - The House

Ardgowan National Historic Site.

Ardgowan is an example of a “picturesque cottage” or cottage ornée, a style once popular as a rural residence. As the home of a prominent politician, Ardgowan was often the scene of dinners and lavish entertaining which was a vital part of Victorian public life.

During the Charlottetown Conference, Pope hosted his fellow delegates to what was remembered as a grand luncheon of “oysters, lobsters, champagne and other Island luxuries.” Life at Ardgowan reflected the family’s secure social position. There were servants, a governess, a horse and carriage as well as a fine library. The sandstone carriage step remains today - a reminder of days gone by.

Ardgowan - The Grounds

Ardgowan National Historic Site.

“Ardgowan,” the name given to the original 76 acre estate, reflects Pope’s appreciation for the landscape, with “ard” being Highland Gaelic for hill and “gowan” Lowland Gaelic for the common daisy. He was reputed to have been a gentleman gardener and added some of the landscape features still in existence today.

Parks Canada acquired the house and five acres in 1967 to commemorate the role of the Fathers of Confederation in Canada’s history. Ardgowan was restored on the exterior following extensive historical research. An 1880’s photograph shows the house and immediate foreground, including the circular ash drive with its stone edging and the circular hedge. The enclosed croquet lawn and seating around the vinecovered stump are visible in an oil painting from 1888. Archaeological probes helped to define the basic layout of the grounds and provided specific location of the driveway and garden areas.

Today, a walk through Ardgowan is a glimpse of tranquil Victorian life, sheltered from the city sights and sounds by the re-establishment of perimeter hedges. Huge linden and oak trees cast an ethereal shade on expansive lawns once cut by a scythe and winding gravel paths pass by curving beds of flowers and shrubs, their scents hanging in the air.

The verandah of Ardgowan looks out upon the only formal area of the grounds; a lawn encircled by privet and euonymus hedge with a centerpiece bed of Rosa rubrifolia, geraniums and begonias. Beyond this was the croquet lawn where adults and children alike played this most popular game.

The north side of the property is the utilitarian area of the estate. Here, set apart by a white picket fence and screened from view by a wooded area, the routine chores of Victorian life were performed. The trees in the orchard bear the apple varieties popular in the 1860’s. To the west of the barn, a kitchen garden could be seen at the time, including not only vegetables but also some of the small fruits used in homemade preserves; raspberries, gooseberries and currants. Rather than our modern method of “row” planting, these period vegetables were planted in blocks and supported by structures of stick and twine.

In order to preserve this living museum, the restoration of Ardgowan’s landscape is a continuous process. Regular replanting of heritage species ensures its future existence and the maintenance practices reflect the period; close cropped, weed free lawns are avoided at Ardgowan just as modern varieties of roses and flowers are banished from the gardens.

Today, the interior of the building is very different from during W.H. Pope’s time. Offices, not bedrooms, fill the house. No preserves are in the basement, nor are there cows in the barn. Ardgowan stands as a reminder of the Island’s past political and societal history and of the man who envisioned the birth of Canada and Prince Edward Island’s place in the new dominion.

Autrefois la demeure d'un des Pères de la Confédération

William Henry Pope, 1825-1879

William Henry Pope, fils d’un autre éminent politicien de l’Île, Joseph Pope, est né en 1825. Il a fait ses études primaires et secondaires à Charlottetown, puis s’est inscrit en droit à Londres, en Angleterre. Avocat, agent des terres, journaliste et politicien, Pope est un personnage pittoresque et prestigieux de l’histoire de l’Île. Après la victoire du parti conservateur en 1859, il fut nommé secrétaire des colonies et devint rédacteur en chef du journal Islander.

Partisan du projet d’union, Pope fut délégué à la Conférence de Charlottetown qui s’est tenue à Province House en 1864. C’est ce qui lui a valu le titre de Père de la Confédération. Malgré le sentiment d’opposition qui prévalait à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Pope s’est fait l’ardent promoteur de l’union des colonies britanniques de l’Amérique du Nord.

Finalement, confronté à un antagonisme radical, Pope démissionna en 1866. Il quitta Ardgowan en 1875 et mourut en 1879 à Summerside, où il était juge de la cour du comté de Prince.

Ardgowan - La Résidence

Lieu historique national Ardgowan.

Ardgowan est un exemple typique du cottage de style ornemental, une maison de campagne élégante très prisée à l’époque. Parce qu’elle était la demeure d’un politicien éminent, Ardgowan était souvent le théâtre de grands dîners et de réceptions somptueuses, activités essentielles à la vie publique de l’ère victorienne.

Pendant la Conférence de Charlottetown, Pope offrit aux délégués ce qui fut qualifié de déjeuner princier, composé « d’huîtres,de homards, de champagne et d’autres denrées fines de l’Île. » La vie à Ardgowan correspondait à la condition sociale élevée de la famille et n’aurait pas été complète sans les domestiques, la gouvernante, le cheval, la calèche et la bibliothèque bien garnie. Le marchepied en grès, encore visible, évoque cette époque révolue.

Ardgowan - La Propriété

Lieu historique national Ardgowan.

Le nom que Pope donna à sa propriété de 76 acres est révélateur de son amour de la nature: « ard », qui veut dire colline en gaélique des Hautes-Terres d’Écosse, et « gowan » qui en lallans (dialecte des Basses-Terres d’Écosse) désigne la marguerite. Pope le gentilhomme jardinier a su embellir son jardin de quelques attributs qu’il nous est encore donné de voir.

En 1967, Parcs Canada s’est porté acquéreur de la maison et des cinq acres de terrain qui restaient pour mettre en valeur le rôle qu’ont joué les Pères de la Confédération dans l’histoire du Canada. Le lieu a été restauré à la suite de recherches historiques exhaustives. Sur une photographie prise en 1880, on peut voir la maison et le terrain en façade, y compris l’allé circulaire en cendre de charbon bordée de roches ainsi que la haie, elle aussi circulaire. Le terrain de croquet, entouré de haies, et le banc encerclant la souche couverte de vigne figurent sur un tableau à l’huile datant de 1888. À l’aide de sondes, les archéologues ont réussi à préciser l’aménagement du terrain ainsi que l’emplacement de certains éléments comme l’allée et le jardin.

Une promenade à Ardgowan de nos jours offre une idée de la vie tranquille de l’époque victorienne. Les haies qui entourent la propriété amortissent les bruits de la ville et masquent la modernité. D’énormes chênes et tilleuls projettent des ombres éthérées sur les vastes parterres qu’on taillait autrefois à la faux. Des sentiers de gravier serpentent le long de massifs de fleurs et d’arbustes qui embaument.

La véranda donne sur l’unique parcelle classique du terrain, un parterre ceinturé d’une haie de troènes et de fusains qui abrite en son centre un massif de rosiers à feuilles rouges, de géraniums et de bégonias. Derrière ce parterre se trouvait autrefois le terrain de croquet, où jeunes et moins jeunes s’adonnaient à ce sport très en vogue.

Du côté nord se trouve l’aire utilitaire de la propriété. C’est dans cette enceinte, isolée du reste par une clôture en bois blanche et masquée par un bosquet, que s’effectuaient les corvées quotidiennes. Les pommiers produisent encore les variétés de pommes préférées au cours des années 1860. Dans le potager, à l’ouest de l’étable, poussaient des légumes et quelques petits fruits qui étaient excellents pour les confitures, notamment les framboises et les groseilles. Ces légumes d’époque n’étaient pas plantés en lignes comme en est la coutume aujourd’hui, mais plutôt en carrés, et ils étaient retenus à des tuteurs en bois au moyen de ficelle.

Afin de préserver ce musée vivant, l’aménagement paysager d’Ardgowan fait l’objet d’un entretien constant. Les espèces patrimoniales sont replantées régulièrement pour en assurer la pérennité. Les pratiques d’entretien s’inspirent de celles qui étaient employées à l’époque : le gazon n’est pas coupé ras ni désherbé, et les variétés modernes de roses et d’autresfleurs sont bannies de  jardins.

À l’intérieur, la maison n’a plus l’apparence qu’elle avait au temps de W.H. Pope. Des bureaux ont remplacé les chambres à coucher, et il n’y a plus de conserves dans la cave, ni de vaches dans l’étable. Ardgowan demeure toutefois un symbole. C’est l’héritage politique et social d’un homme qui a contemplé la naissance du Canada et la place de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard au sein du nouveau dominion.