An urban oasis

Woodside offers an urban oasis near downtown Kitchener, Ontario. The house is surrounded by a beautiful park with wooded areas, gardens, lawns, and serene pathways. Stop by the lily pond and admire the tulip tree planted by John King over 110 years ago.

You can now walk up the lane through the 4.65 hectares (11.5 acres) of wooded grounds, gardens, and lawn. The site is perfect for picnics and afternoon strolls. It is easy to imagine that it is summer and that the year is 1891. In the autumn, you will be dazzled by the property ablaze with fall colours. The grounds in the winter months are a peaceful place for cross-country skiing, snowshoeing or just walking around and admiring the winter wonderland.

The landscape today at Woodside tries to re-create the landscape of the 1890s. It is based on historic photographs, letters from the Mackenzie King Papers, early surveys and the site itself. It is not completely restored nor reproduced to that time period, however, many of the garden, woodland, and landscape features have been re-created for visitor interpretation and enjoyment.

"...yesterday I started at the front lawn to get it cleaned up, that is the lawn down by the lily pond and to take away all the sticks and stones, the old branches of the trees, etc. then I went at levelling the manure in the kitchen garden ..."
Excerpt from family letter, William Lyon Mackenzie King to his father, May 1, 1888, Berlin.

Un havre urbain

Woodside constitue un havre urbain près de Kitchener, en Ontario. La maison est entourée d’un magnifique parc ponctué de terrains boisés, de jardins, de pelouses et de sentiers où règne la sérénité. Passez au bassin de plantes aquatiques pour y admirer le tulipier de Virginie planté par John King il y a plus 110 ans.

On peut maintenant se promener le long du sentier qui sillonne les 4,65 hectares (11,5 acres) de terrain boisé, de jardins et de pelouses, qui conviennent parfaitement aux pique-niques et aux promenades d'après-midi. Il est facile d'imaginer que c'est l'été et qu'on est en 1891. En automne, la propriété brille de mille couleurs automnales. L'hiver, les terrains sont paisibles et se prêtent admirablement au ski de fond, à la raquette ou tout simplement à la promenade pour y admirer le paysage hivernal.

L'aménagement paysager actuel de Woodside s'efforce de recréer celui des années 1890. Il est basé sur des photos historiques, des lettres trouvées parmi les documents de Mackenzie King, des levés antérieurs et le site même. Il n'est pas entièrement restauré ni complètement reproduit selon cette période; toutefois, une grande partie des jardins, des terres boisées et des caractéristiques de l'aménagement paysager ont été recréés pour l'interprétation et le plaisir des visiteurs.

« [...] Hier, j'ai commencé par nettoyer la pelouse en avant, c'est-à-dire celle qui va jusqu'à l'étang aux nénuphars et j'y ai enlevé tous les bouts de bois et les pierres, les vieilles branches d'arbre, etc. Ensuite, je suis allé étendre le fumier dans le potager [...] »
Extrait de lettre à la famille, William Lyon Mackenzie King à son père, le 1er mai 1888, Berlin.