Woodside welcomes you back in time to the Victorian age in Kitchener, Ontario. Former Prime Minister MacKenzie King treasured the seven years he and his family lived at Woodside from 1886-1893. Marvel at our collection of household items and be inspired by the holiday traditions of Victorian Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Site history

The original house was constructed in 1853 by James Calquhoun and was home to Prime Minister William Lyon MacKenzie King from 1886-1893.

Woodside was saved from demolition in the 1940s and the home was reconstructed and restored as a museum. Woodside received heritage designation in 1952. The home is open to visitors from October to December. The grounds are open year-round.

  • Site history
  • Designation information
  • People of significance

Victorian Christmas

Christmas in the 1890s was a joyous festival of light, colour, sounds and smells. Much of what is regarded today as Christmas custom was popularized by Victorians, who included various traditions in their celebration of the Yuletide. The giving of gifts, the Christmas tree, its decorations and seasonal food can all be traced back to different cultures. The royal families of Europe, fashion magazines and retail giants influenced the character of Christmas celebrations.

  • Christmas gifts
  • The Christmas tree
  • Christmas foods

Waterloo Pioneers Memorial Tower

Waterloo Pioneer Memorial Tower is an 18.9 metre high tower on the banks of the Grand River. Its shimmering Swiss-style copper roof, random-coursed fieldstone construction and Conestoga wagon weather vane can be seen for miles. The tower pays tribute to hardworking Pennsylvania-German pioneers who settled in Waterloo Region between 1800 and 1803.

Woodside vous invite à remonter dans le temps à l’ère victorienne à Kitchener, en Ontario. L’ancien premier ministre MacKenzie King chérissait les sept années qu’il avait passées avec sa famille à Woodside, de 1886 à 1893. Contemplez notre collection d’articles ménagers et laissez-vous inspirer par les traditions de l’Action de grâces et de Noël de l’ère victorienne.

Histoire du lieu

Construite originairement en 1853 par James Calquhoun, la maison fut la demeure du premier ministre William Lyon MacKenzie King de 1886 à 1893.

La maison Woodside a été épargnée d’une démolition certaine dans les années 1940, puis a été reconstruite et restaurée pour en faire un musée. Woodside a reçu une désignation historique en 1952. La maison est ouverte aux visiteurs d’octobre à décembre. Le domaine est ouvert toute l’année.

  • Histoire du lieu
  • Désignation
  • Personnes d'importance historique

Tour commémorative des Pionniers-de-Waterloo

La tour commémorative des Pionniers-de-Waterloo est une tour de 18,9 mètres de haut située sur les rives de la rivière Grand. Son toit en cuivre brillant de style suisse, sa conception en pierres des champs à assises irrégulières et sa girouette ornée d’un chariot de type Susquehannah sont visibles à des kilomètres. La tour rend hommage aux vaillants premiers colons allemands originaires de Pennsylvanie qui se sont installés dans la région de Waterloo entre 1800 et 1803.