A program at Woodside National Historic Site provides your students with a unique hands-on opportunity to learn beyond the classroom. Furnished to represent the early 1890’s, the house brings the Victorian era of kerosene lamps, corsets, and wood stoves to life and offers information about William Lyon Mackenzie King, his life, and political career.

A Trip to the Past

This fun, hands-on program uses our puppets, Mr. and Mrs. Atticus, our Old Trunk/New Trunk matching game, and the beautifully illustrated storybook Gert's Trip To The Past to introduce your students to the concept of the past. We will then take your students on their own trip to the past in our historic house, where a host of old things waits to be discovered.

A Child's Celebration of Christmas Past

Our costumed interpreters serve as the "Ghost of Christmas Past," transporting your class back to a late-Victorian Christmas. There, your students will discover the decorations, crafts, stories, and traditions that made Christmas in the 1890s such a special time for the Kings and the other citizens of Berlin. 

Aspects of Government

Who was the first Canadian citizen? How are prime ministers elected? This Ontario curriculum based program will explore the development of government in Canada and its impact on citizens. Students will participate in an election and learn how a boy from Berlin became Canada's tenth prime minister.

Bookings

All education visits must be arranged in advance. For reservations, please call 519-571-5684 or email: pc.woodsideontario.pc@canada.ca.

Les programmes du lieu historique national Woodside donnent a vos élèves l’occasion de prendre contact avec l’histoire dans un contexte hors-classe. Magnifiquement restaurée dans le style des années 1890, la maison fair revivre l’époque victorienne ou les lampes au kérosène, les calandreuses, les corsets et les poeles a void étaient a l’honneur. Woodside nous renseigne sure William Lyon Mackenzie King, sa vie et sa carrière politique.

Un voyage dans le passé

Ce programme amusant et pratique fait appel à nos marionnettes, M. et Mme Atticus, au jeu des correspondances entre le vieux et le nouveau coffre et au livre magnifiquement illustré Gertrude visite le passé, pour présenter à vos élèves les concepts du passé. Nous les invitons ensuite à découvrir eux-mêmes le passé dans notre maison historique où ils verront toutes sortes de vieilles choses.

La célébration d'un Noël d'antan par un enfant

Nos interprètes costumés jouent le rôle du « fantôme du Noël d'antan », transportant votre classe dans une fête de Noël de la fin de l'époque victorienne. Vos élèves découvriront les décorations, l'artisanat, les histoires et les traditions qui faisaient de Noël dans les années 1890 un moment aussi spécial pour les King et les autres habitants de Berlin. 

Aspects du gouvernement

Qui est le premier citoyen du Canada? Comment les premiers ministres sont-ils élus? Ce programme, basé sur le programme scolaire ontarien, examine l'évolution du gouvernement au Canada et les répercussions sur les citoyens. Les élèves prendront part à une élection et découvriront comment un enfant de Berlin est devenu le dixième premier ministre du Canada.

Par rendez-vous

Toutes les visites éducatives doivent être réservées à l’avance. Pour réserver, appelez au 519-571-5684 ou envoyez un courriel à l’adresse suivante pc.woodsideontario.pc@canada.ca.