Table of contents

Maps


 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2017

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin- à-Vent, 2017

For more information about the management statement or about Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
   Location: Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site
     370 Vankoughnet St. P.O. Box 479
     Prescott, ON K0E 1T0
     Canada

Telephone:
   Phone number: 613-925-2896

Fax:
   Fax number: 613-925-1536



Approval

Approved by:

Katherine Patterson
Field Unit Superintendent
Georgian Bay and Ontario East Field Unit
Parks Canada


Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for the Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site.

The Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site is located east of the Town of Prescott Ontario on the St. Lawrence River in the Township of Edwardsburg / Cardinal.

The site was acquired by the Department of the Interior in 1923 and subsequently designated as a national historic site in 1925. The designation relates to the site’s involvement in the rebellion of 1838 and victory at the site by a British force consisting of imperial and colonial forces over an invading force of American “Hunters” and Canadian rebels.

The historic site consists of an area of land and water surrounding the windmill and extending north of the windmill in a narrow strip of land between old Highway 2 and Highway 2.

The resources of national historic significance consist of the following: the windmill tower, archaeological remains including the structures from the village of Newport destroyed during the battle, artifacts related to the battle, resources from the windmill’s construction, post-battle period, lighthouse conversion and occupation from 1873-1923.

Although not constructed specifically for military use, the imposing physical form and fabric give the windmill landmark status and speak to its defensive use. The heavy masonry construction withstood an artillery bombardment and served as a stronghold during the battle. Over its life, the structure was used as a windmill, barracks, lookout station and ultimately a lighthouse.

In 2014 the Government of Canada announced the designation of Windmill Point lighthouse as a heritage lighthouse under Canada’s Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act.

The structure is an early and excellent example of the adaptive re-use of a building. Initially built as a windmill in 1832, it was converted to a lighthouse and became operational by 1874, remaining in service for over a century. The lighthouse is associated with the system of navigation aids along the St. Lawrence River and Great Lakes and was particularly valuable as a support to the transshipment of goods at the Port of Prescott.

The lighthouse is the centerpiece of the Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site of Canada, which commemorates a notable struggle during the Rebellion of 1837-1838.


Management objectives

Building relationships with Aboriginal Peoples

Parks Canada respects Indigenous rights and land claim agreements. Building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities is a priority for the Agency. In managing the Battle of the Windmill, Parks Canada will continue to communicate and demonstrate a desire to work with local Indigenous communities to forge mutual arrangements that benefit both parties, including broadening perspectives of Indigenous history, traditional knowledge, values and cultural heritage.

Building relationships with local/regional partners

Stakeholder and partner engagement is a key to integrating the site into the broader community and tourism region. Over the past few years, the site has made progress in building constructive relationships with local communities.

These relationships are in various development stages, and all provide opportunities for growth. Strong relationships create stewards and supporters for Parks Canada. These communities also help diversify the interpretive programs, thus increasing the overall appeal of the Battle of the Windmill NHS as an attraction to visit in Eastern Ontario.

The Friends, with Parks Canada assistance, provide visitor services at the site. The Friends maintain exhibits and hire staff who offer quality visitor experience to visitors from around the world.

Consultation and collaboration with the Town of Prescott and the Township of Edwardsburg/Cardinal is ongoing. This includes tourism initiatives as well as financial support from the municipalities to the Friends of Windmill Point.

With the cooperating association, the Friends of Windmill Point, will encourage and value the increasing participation of volunteers in various aspects of the site’s operation. To this end, the Battle of the Windmill NHS will further community participation in visitor experience offers, including special events. This strategy also ensures that volunteers at the site are fulfilled. The sense of stewardship is strengthened among volunteers to The Battle of the Windmill NHS, and The Friends play a strong and active role in delivering visitor experience offers.

The Battle of the Windmill NHS will become a community place, to which the local population feel passionately connected and take pride in.

Resource conservation

Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the site. At the Battle of the Windmill, the focus has been the masonry repair project that took place in the summer of 2015 to the spring 2016. This project was funded by Federal Infrastructure Investment program (FII). The scope of work focused on solving the significant issues of water infiltration and humidity of the structure's interior, noted in inspection reports.

The work included re-pointing of masonry, masonry crack repairs, sealing and replacement of windows, metal roof and lighthouse cap repairs, replacement of deteriorated wooden joists, repairs and re-painting of exterior woodwork and metal work of the surmounting lantern. In addition, the interior stair railings were modified for visitor safety reasons. The repairs have greatly improved the condition of the resource and will help to preserve the asset for years to come.

The Battle of the Windmill NHS will offer visitors diverse opportunities to explore and rediscover the charm of the site. The cultural resources (including the buildings, historical objects, and viewscapes as well as landscapes) are the foundation for visitor experiences of the site. By focusing efforts in defining and maintaining those resources that speak directly to the site’s heritage values and character, lending strength to visitor opportunities.

Visitor safety

Parks Canada puts in place appropriate measures to protect the health and safety of visitors to the site. At the Battle of the Windmill, this includes various code compliance inspections on a monthly and yearly basis.

Site maintenance

Parks Canada maintains the property it administers to respect the site’s heritage values, presents a positive image to the public, and reflects the Parks Canada brand. Maintenance of the site is performed by the asset team based out of nearby Fort Wellington National Historic Site. The asset team’s efforts improves visitors’ experiences by providing exceptional presentation and careful maintenance of the site.

Directional signage

Parks Canada keeps signage up-to-date and works with its partners to meet signage standards and requirements. These include the Federal Identity Program, Ontario Tourism Oriented Directional Signing Program and municipal signs. In 2016 the Historic Sites and Monuments Board plaque with Canada’s Heritage Lighthouse designation has been erected on site.

Public understanding and appreciation

Each national historic site is relevant to all Canadians, and communicates its own story, contributing to our understanding of Canada as a whole. The Battle of the Windmill NHS is one of those special places, a living legacy of our heritage. Parks Canada and the Friends of Windmill Point are responsible for facilitating experiences and enabling Canadians to discover and build personal connections to the site.

The site’s operational season is from Canada Day to Labour Day. Over the past five years visitation has remained steady at approximately 5,000 visitors per year.

In 2016 new exhibits and bilingual media presentations were developed to place greater emphasis on presenting messages of national significance. This re-development provides opportunities to increase attendance, enhance the quality of the visitor experience and offers a greater understanding and appreciation of the site.

Parks Canada provides information about the significance of the Battle of the Windmill site on its website, and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places.

A greater awareness of the heritage values of the Battle of the Windmill will provide the basis for a beneficial relationship with the municipality and adjacent landowners to protect the setting of the site.

In the upcoming years Parks Canada will be exploring the visitation and tourism potential for its entire family of National Historic Sites and National Parks along the Lake Ontario – St Lawrence corridor parallel to the 401.

The Battle of the Windmill NHS is a “must-see” place that inspires Canadians as a real place telling real stories about real people.


Map 1: Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site local setting

Map 1: Local Setting
Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site local setting - Text version

This map shows the administrative boundaries of the Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site, located east of the Town of Prescott Ontario on the St. Lawrence River in the Township of Edwardsburg / Cardinal on Windmill Road.

Tables des matières

Cartes


 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2017.

This publication is also available in English:
Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site Management Statement, 2019

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes :

Addresse postale :
   Location: Lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin- à-Vent
      370, rue Vankoughnet
     C.P. 479
     Prescott (Ontario) K0E 1T0
     Canada

Téléphone :
   Phone number: 613-925-2896

Télécopieur :
   Fax number: 613-925-1536



Approbation

Approuvé par:

Katherine Patterson
Directeur d'unité de gestion
Unité de gestion de la baie Georgienne et de l'Est de l'Ontario
Parcs Canada


Introduction

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche et les objectifs de gestion de Parcs Canada pour le lieu historique national (LHN) de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent.

Le LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent est situé à l’est de la ville de Prescott, en Ontario, au bord du fleuve Saint-Laurent, dans le canton d’Edwardsburg/Cardinal.

En 1923, le ministère de l’Intérieur fait l’acquisition du site, qui sera par la suite désigné lieu historique national, en 1925. La désignation tient au fait que le site a été le théâtre de la rébellion de 1838 et de la victoire d’une force britannique constituée de troupes coloniales et impériales sur une force d’invasion composée de « Chasseurs » américains et de rebelles canadiens.

Le lieu historique est constitué d’une étendue de terre et d’eau entourant le moulin à vent et se prolongeant vers le nord du moulin en suivant une étroite bande de terre entre l’ancienne route 2 et la route 2 actuelle.

Les ressources ayant une importance historique nationale sont les suivantes : la tour du moulin à vent, les vestiges archéologiques comprenant les structures du village de Newport détruit durant la bataille, les artéfacts liés à la bataille ainsi que les ressources associées à la construction du moulin à vent, à la période postérieure à la bataille, à la conversion du moulin en phare et à l’occupation du bâtiment de 1873 à 1923.

Bien que le moulin n’ait pas été construit expressément à des fins militaires, sa forme extérieure massive et ses matériaux imposants lui confèrent son statut de point de repère visuel et évoquent son usage défensif. La construction robuste en maçonnerie a résisté à un bombardement d’artillerie et a servi de forteresse durant la bataille. Au cours de sa vie, l’ouvrage a servi de moulin à vent, de caserne, de poste d’observation et, finalement, de phare.

En 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la désignation du phare de Windmill Point (ou phare de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent) comme phare patrimonial en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux.

La structure est un excellent exemple de réutilisation adaptative d’un bâtiment et l’un des premiers du genre. Construit à l’origine pour servir de moulin à vent, l’ouvrage a plus tard été converti en phare et est devenu opérationnel à cette fin en 1874. Il est demeuré en service pendant plus d’un siècle. Le phare est associé au réseau d’aides à la navigation le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent et des Grands Lacs et est particulièrement utile pour soutenir le transbordement de marchandises au port de Prescott.

Le phare est le point central du LHN du Canada de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent, qui commémore une lutte notable durant les rébellions de 1837-1838.


Objectifs de gestion

Tisser des liens avec les peuples autochtones

Parcs Canada respecte les droits des Autochtones et les ententes de revendications territoriales conclues avec ceux-ci. L’établissement de relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les communautés autochtones est une priorité pour l’Agence. Dans sa gestion du LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent, Parcs Canada continuera de communiquer avec les communautés autochtones locales et de démontrer son désir de travailler avec elles afin de conclure des arrangements mutuels qui profitent aux deux parties, notamment par l’élargissement des perspectives sur l’histoire, le savoir traditionnel, les valeurs et le patrimoine culturel des Autochtones.

Tisser des liens avec les partenaires locaux ou régionaux

La mobilisation des intervenants et des partenaires est la clé de l’intégration du lieu à la collectivité élargie et à l’ensemble de la région touristique. Au cours des dernières années, le lieu a fait des progrès quant à la création de relations constructives avec les collectivités locales.

Ces relations sont à divers stades de développement, mais toutes offrent des possibilités de croissance. Des liens solides permettent de faire des partenaires de bons intendants pour Parcs Canada et de gagner leur appui. Ces collectivités contribuent également à diversifier les programmes d’interprétation, ce qui améliore l’attrait général du LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent comme attraction à visiter dans l’Est de l’Ontario.

Parcs Canada a conclu un protocole d’entente avec les Amis de Windmill Point. L’organisation, avec l’aide de Parcs Canada, fournit des services aux visiteurs sur place. Les Amis de Windmill Point entretiennent des expositions et embauchent du personnel qui offre une expérience de qualité aux visiteurs du monde entier.

Des activités de consultation et de collaboration avec la Ville de Prescott et le canton d’Edwardsburg/Cardinal sont en cours. Il s’agit notamment d’initiatives touristiques ainsi que d’un soutien financier offert par les municipalités aux Amis de Windmill Point.

Avec l’association coopérante, les Amis de Windmill Point encourageront et valoriseront la participation accrue de bénévoles à divers aspects de l’exploitation du lieu. À cette fin, le LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent et les Amis de Windmill Point jouent un rôle solide et actif dans la prestation d’offres d’expériences à l’intention des visiteurs.

Le LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent deviendra un endroit communautaire auquel la population locale se sentira passionnément attachée et dont elle sera fière.

Conservation des ressources

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans ses lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les mesures prises à cet égard comportent notamment la surveillance de base des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions menées dans le lieu. Au LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent, l’accent a été mis sur le projet de réparation de la maçonnerie qui s’est déroulé au cours de l’été 2015 et du printemps 2016. Ce projet a été financé par le Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures fédérales. Les travaux avaient pour objet de régler les problèmes importants d’infiltration d’eau et d’humidité à l’intérieur de la structure relevés dans les rapports d’inspection.

Le travail consistait à procéder au rejointoiement de la maçonnerie, à réparer les fissures dans la maçonnerie, à sceller et à remplacer des fenêtres, à réparer la toiture en métal et le couronnement du phare, à remplacer les solives de bois, et à réparer et à repeindre les boiseries extérieures et le métal ouvré de la lanterne qui les surmonte.

En outre, les rampes de l’escalier intérieur ont été modifiées pour des raisons de sécurité des visiteurs. Les réparations ont grandement amélioré l’état de la ressource et aideront à la préserver pendant des années.

Le LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent offrira aux visiteurs diverses occasions d’explorer et de redécouvrir le charme de l’endroit. Les ressources culturelles (dont les bâtiments, les objets historiques et les points de vue ainsi que les paysages) sont le fondement de l’expérience du visiteur au lieu. En centrant ses efforts sur la définition et le maintien de ces ressources qui témoignent directement de la valeur patrimoniale du lieu et de ses éléments caractéristiques, Parcs Canada enrichit les possibilités d’expérience offertes aux visiteurs.

Sécurité des visiteurs

Parcs Canada met en place les mesures appropriées pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des visiteurs du lieu. Au LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent, ces mesures se traduisent par diverses inspections de conformité au code réalisées mensuellement et annuellement.

Entretien du lieu

Parcs Canada entretient les biens qu’il administre afin de respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu, de présenter une image positive au public et de mettre en valeur la marque de Parcs Canada. L’entretien du lieu est effectué par l’équipe responsable de la gestion des biens basée au lieu historique national du Fort Wellington. Les efforts déployés par cette équipe améliorent l’expérience du visiteur grâce à la mise en valeur exceptionnelle du lieu et à son entretien minutieux.

Panneaux indicateurs

Parcs Canada tient à jour la signalisation et travaille avec ses partenaires pour respecter les normes et les exigences en la matière. Il s’agit notamment du Programme fédéral de l’image de marque, du programme Signalisation touristique sur les routes de l’Ontario et de la signalisation municipale. En 2016, la plaque de désignation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a été érigée sur le site.

Compréhension et appréciation du public

Chaque lieu historique national est pertinent pour tous les Canadiens et communique sa propre histoire, ce qui contribue à notre compréhension du Canada dans son ensemble. Le LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent est l’un de ces endroits exceptionnels, un héritage vivant de notre patrimoine. Parcs Canada et les Amis de Windmill Point ont pour responsabilité de faciliter les expériences des Canadiens et de les aider à découvrir le lieu et à s’en rapprocher.

La saison d’exploitation du lieu s’étend de la fête du Canada à la fête du Travail. Au cours des cinq dernières années, la fréquentation est demeurée stable à environ 5 000 visiteurs par année.

En 2016, de nouvelles expositions et des présentations médias bilingues ont été conçues afin de favoriser la diffusion de messages d’importance nationale. Ce renouvellement offre de multiples occasions d’augmenter la fréquentation du lieu, de rehausser la qualité de l’expérience du visiteur et de permettre à celui ci de mieux comprendre et apprécier le lieu.

Sur son site Web et dans le Répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux, Parcs Canada fournit de l’information sur l’importance du lieu de la bataille du Moulin-à-Vent.

Une sensibilisation accrue aux valeurs patrimoniales du LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent jettera les bases d’une relation mutuellement avantageuse avec la municipalité et les propriétaires des terres adjacentes afin de protéger le cadre du lieu.

Au cours des prochaines années, Parcs Canada explorera le potentiel de fréquentation et de développement touristique pour l’ensemble de la famille des lieux historiques nationaux et des parcs nationaux situés le long du corridor du lac Ontario et du fleuve Saint-Laurent, parallèlement à la route 401.

Le LHN de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent est un lieu incontournable qui inspire les Canadiens du fait qu’il s’agit d’un lieu réel qui raconte des histoires réelles au sujet de personnes réelles.


Carte 1 : Cadre local du lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin- à-Vent

Map 1: Local Setting
Cadre local du lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin- à-Vent - Version texte

Cette carte démontre les frontières administratives du lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent, situé à l’est de la ville de Prescott, en Ontario, au bord du fleuve Saint-Laurent, dans le Canton de Edwardsburg / Cardinal, sur la rue Windmill.