Cofferdam Installation –Dam at Lock 38

February 12, 2020 – As cofferdam completion draws to a close, workers are organising for the next phase of work. The work area has been dewatered and workers are preparing for the demolition of a large portion of the existing dam this week.

The Dam at Lock 38 was originally constructed in 1908 and has only undergone one minor rehabilitation since then. The full replacement of the Dam at Lock 38 will result in a renewed effective asset life of over 75 years, increase water management capabilities and have increased safety features for visitors and operators alike. Trent-Severn Waterway Community Update

What to expect

  • Construction noise that is consistent with regular construction activities, in addition to noise associated with demolition.
  • Demolition is expected to take about 3 weeks.

The Government of Canada has announced more than $615 million of work on infrastructure across the Trent-Severn Waterway and its reservoir lakes. As a part of this historic re-investment, major work is being done throughout the Talbot and Lake Simcoe community.

For more information

For questions or to receive updates about this project, please contact us at Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Dam at Lock 38” in the subject heading. For up-to-date news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswtalbotsimcoe.

Installation du batardeau – barrage de l’écluse 38

12 février 2020 – Maintenant que l’installation du batardeau touche à sa fin, les travailleurs organisent la prochaine phase des travaux. La zone de travail a été asséchée, et les ouvriers se préparent pour la démolition d’une grande partie du barrage existant plus tard cette semaine.

Le barrage de l’écluse 38 a été construit à l’origine en 1908 et n’a subi qu’une seule réfection mineure depuis. Le remplacement complet du barrage de l’écluse 38 permettra de prolonger sa durée de vie réelle de plus de 75 ans, d’augmenter les capacités de gestion de l’eau et de renforcer les dispositifs de sécurité pour les visiteurs et les opérateurs.

À quoi s’attendre

  • Les travaux causeront des bruits comme le font habituellement les activités de construction, en plus des bruits liés à la démolition.
  • La démolition devrait durer environ trois semaines.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé l’octroi de plus de 615 millions de dollars pour des travaux d’infrastructure sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn et ses lacs réservoirs. Dans le cadre de ce réinvestissement historique, d’importants travaux sont exécutés partout dans le secteur de Talbot et du lac Simcoe.

Pour en savoir plus

Si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour sur ce projet, veuillez écrire à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquer « Barrage de l’écluse 38 » en objet. Pour obtenir les plus récentes nouvelles sur ces travaux ou sur d’autres projets d’infrastructure dans votre secteur, veuillez consulter la page www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntstalbotsimcoe.