February 12, 2020 - Community Update: Dam Demolition to Begin

The Dam at Lock 38 was originally constructed in 1908 and has only undergone one minor rehabilitation since then. Investigations conducted over the winter of 2017 determined that the Dam at Lock 38 required replacing.

Some geotechnical work to provide information for the project took place at this dam and on nearby watercourses in the Fall and Winter of 2016. Geotechnical work provides important information about the composition and integrity of soils and other materials like concrete, which is used to plan the design of projects and structures.

The construction of cofferdams upstream and downstream of the two operable sluices on the dam at Lock 38, allow the creation of a dry workspace within which to demolish and reconstruct a new dam. The new dam must be constructed while still managing water flows through the area. This has been achieved by converting an overflow weir on the dam into an operable sluice, allowing construction to take place in phases, while water management continues. Construction of the brand new dam is expected to complete in spring 2021.

For More Information 

For more information about the Trent-Severn Waterway Historic Site, contact us at Ont.Trentsevern@pc.gc.ca or follow us on Facebook and Twitter @TrentSevernNHS.

Communications

May 16, 2017 - Community Update: Talbot Area

12 février 2020 - Bulletin de la collectivité: Début de la démolition du barrage

Le barrage de l’écluse 38, qui date de 1908, n’a fait l’objet que d’un projet de remise en état mineur depuis sa construction. Des études effectuées durant l’hiver 2017 ont permis de conclure que le barrage de l’écluse 38 doit être remplacé.

Pendant l’automne et l’hiver 2016, Parcs Canada a entrepris des travaux géotechniques sur le barrage et dans les eaux environnantes pour obtenir des données nécessaires à l’exécution du projet. Les travaux géotechniques permettent de recueillir des données importantes sur la composition et l’intégrité des sols et d’autres matériaux, comme le béton, qui servent à planifier la conception des projets et des ouvrages.

L’aménagement de batardeaux en amont et en aval des deux vannes fonctionnelles de l’écluse 38 permet de créer un espace de travail sec pour la démolition du barrage et la construction d’un nouveau. Les travaux de construction ne doivent pas entraver la gestion du débit de l’eau dans le secteur. À cette fin, un épanchoir du barrage a été converti en une vanne fonctionnelle, permettant ainsi une exécution par étape des travaux et une gestion continue de l’eau. Les travaux de construction du nouveau barrage devraient être terminés en printemps 2021.

Pour obtenir plus d’information

Pour en savoir plus sur le lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn, écrivez-nous à Ont.Trentsevern@pc.gc.ca ou abonnez-vous à nos pages Facebook et Twitter @LHNTrentSevern.

Communication

Le 16 mai 2017Bulletin de la collectivité : Secteur Talbot