October 7, 2021, Peterborough, Ontario – Parks Canada advises that the Boundary Road Swing Bridge Replacement project is on hold until further notice. Parks Canada is considering next steps moving forward as the Contractor will not be completing any further work on the bridge. A timeline for this process has yet to be determined. Further updates will be provided as new information becomes available.

Work completed to date includes demolition of the old bridge and its removal from site, as well as some demolition of the supporting concrete abutments. As no bridge currently exists at the site, Simcoe Street remains closed at the bridge to vehicle and pedestrian traffic. Residents and visitors are advised to follow detour signage. Navigation on the Talbot River remains unaffected by the bridge closure.

More Information

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates regarding this project, please contact us at trentsevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Boundary Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. For news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Le 7 octobre 2021, Peterborough (Ontario) – L’Agence Parcs Canada annonce que le projet de remplacement du pont tournant de Boundary Road est en suspens jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Elle se penche sur les prochaines étapes à suivre, car l'entrepreneur n'effectuera pas d'autres travaux sur le pont. Le calendrier pour ce processus n'a pas encore été établi. De nouvelles mises à jour seront communiquées au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements seront disponibles.

Les travaux réalisés à ce jour comprennent la démolition de l'ancien pont et son retrait du chantier, ainsi que certains travaux de démolition des culées de support en béton. Comme il n'y a actuellement aucun pont sur les lieux, la rue Simcoe demeure fermée à la circulation automobile et piétonne à la hauteur du pont. Nous demandons aux résidants et aux visiteurs de respecter les consignes sur les panneaux de déviation. La navigation sur la rivière Talbot n'est pas touchée par la fermeture du pont.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour toute question ou préoccupation, ou pour recevoir des mises à jour par courriel concernant ce projet, écrivez-nous à l'adresse trentsevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquez « Pont tournant de Boundary Road » dans l'objet du message. Pour obtenir des nouvelles de ces travaux ou d’autres projets d’infrastructure menés dans votre région, consultez le site Web https://www.pc.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.