The Government of Canada has announced more than $615 million of work on infrastructure across the Trent-Severn Waterway and its reservoir lakes. As a part of that work, the Talbot Dam in the Townships of Ramara and Brock near Gamebridge is being replaced.

The contractor has made good progress on the dam. Phase one of the south sluice construction is nearing completion and the contractor will work through the fall and winter to install the coffer dam for the north sluice. Work will begin to reconstruct the north sluice in May of 2019. The dam reconstruction will be completed between October and December 2019, with the possibility of some minor site restoration and landscaping in spring 2020.

Background

  • The original Talbot Dam was completed in 1907 and its location is upstream of Lock 39 in the historic Talbot Canal section of the Trent-Severn Waterway. The original dam had lived out its useful life and is being fully replaced in the same location.

  • Outflows from the dam diverge from the canal cut and go to Lake Simcoe via the Talbot River. This area is important for Walleye and White Sucker. Parks Canada’s water management accommodates the spring spawn for these species and the construction project has been designed to continue these measures by building one sluice of the new Talbot Dam at a time.

How to stay informed

If you would like to receive email updates about this or any other project, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include a project descriptor in the subject heading. Or check out what we’re up to at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé des travaux d’infrastructure de plus de 615 millions de dollars dans la voie navigable Trent-Severn et ses lacs réservoirs. Dans le cadre de ces travaux, il remplace le barrage Talbot des cantons de Ramara et de Brock près de Gamebridge.

L’entrepreneur a accompli des progrès appréciables au barrage. L’étape 1 de la construction du pertuis sud est presque terminée et l’entrepreneur travaillera au cours de l’automne et de l’hiver à l’installation du batardeau du pertuis nord. La reconstruction du pertuis nord débutera en mai 2019. La reconstruction du barrage se terminera entre octobre et décembre 2019, et il se peut que des travaux secondaires de remise en état des lieux et d’aménagement paysager aient lieu au printemps 2020.

Contexte

  • Le barrage Talbot d’origine a été construit en 1907, en amont de l’écluse 39 de la section historique du canal Talbot de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Le barrage d’origine est arrivé à la fin de sa durée de vie utile et il est entièrement remplacé au même endroit.

  • Le débit sortant du barrage est détourné du canal et envoyé vers le lac Simcoe par la rivière Talbot. Ce secteur est important pour le doré jaune et pour le meunier noir. La gestion des eaux assurée par Parcs Canada tient compte de la fraye printanière de ces espèces, et les travaux ont été conçus de façon à ce que ces mesures puissent se poursuivre. Ainsi, on aménagera les pertuis du nouveau barrage Talbot un à la fois.

Pour se tenir au courant

Si vous souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour par courriel concernant ce projet ou d’autres projets, veuillez nous écrire à : Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez un descripteur du projet dans la rubrique objet. Vous pouvez aussi vous renseigner sur ce que nous faisons en allant à www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.