November 12, 2021, Peterborough, Ontario – Parks Canada would like to advise that the Dam at Lock 38 replacement project is nearing completion. Remaining project work over the next month includes equipment removal and restoration work at the site. Construction noise and traffic can be expected during this time however, it will be restricted to daytime hours and will respect local by-laws.

The Dam at Lock 38 replacement project includes a full replacement of the concrete dam to improve water management capabilities and operator safety. This project is part of the Government of Canada’s Federal Infrastructure Investment program. Parks Canada is leading this important infrastructure work to ensure safe, high-quality experiences for visitors by improving heritage, visitor, waterway, and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas, including along the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site.

More Information

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates regarding this project, please contact us at trentsevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Dam at Lock 38” in the subject heading. For news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Le 12 novembre 2021, Peterborough (Ontario) – Parcs Canada souhaite informer le public que le projet de remplacement du barrage de l’écluse 38 tire à sa fin. Au cours du mois prochain, il restera à enlever l’équipement et à achever des travaux de restauration sur les lieux. Les travaux de construction peuvent entraîner une augmentation du bruit de machinerie et de la circulation, mais se feront durant la journée et seront conformes aux règlements locaux.

Le projet de remplacement du barrage de l’écluse 38 comprend le remplacement intégral du barrage en béton afin d’améliorer les capacités en matière de gestion de l’eau et la sécurité des opérateurs. Le projet s’inscrit dans le Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures fédérales du gouvernement du Canada. Parcs Canada dirige ces importants travaux d’infrastructure qui visent à améliorer les biens patrimoniaux, les installations d’accueil des visiteurs, les voies navigables et les routes des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines de conservation nationale, y compris ceux du lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn, afin de permettre aux visiteurs de vivre des expériences de qualité en toute sécurité.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous avez des questions ou des inquiétudes relatives au projet, ou si vous souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour à par courriel, veuillez nous envoyer un message à l’adresse trentsevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquer « barrage de l’écluse 38 » en objet. Pour obtenir des nouvelles au sujet de ce projet ou d’autres travaux d’infrastructure dans votre région, veuillez consulter le site www.pc.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.