A concrete dam without the water The first sluice has been de-watered. The sheet pile cofferdam can be seen in the fore.

The Government of Canada has announced more than $600 million of work on infrastructure across the Trent-Severn Waterway and its reservoir lakes. As a part of this historic re-investment, construction will soon begin on the replacement of the Talbot Dam.  

The first phase cofferdams have been constructed and water has been pumped out to create a dry work area. This dam is comprised of two sluices and will be replaced in phases so that water flow can continue through one sluice of the dam while construction takes place. 

The Talbot dam project will pass another significant milestone next week as work toward the demolition of the first sluice begins. The first sluice will be constructed by Fall 2018. Construction of the second sluice, as well as rehabilitation of the earth dams will take place over the winter months of 2018/19 for completion in late fall 2019. Restoration of the site will take place the following spring 2020. 

Residents can expect construction noise through the demolition and reconstruction period. County Road 50 below the dam will remain open during construction, however there may be short temporary closures or lane reductions. 

How to stay informed

Be a witness to this historic work.  Check out what we’re up to at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

A photo gallery of the Talbot area projects has been shared to Parks Canada’s website at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswTalbotSimcoe. More will follow in the coming weeks and months, so stay tuned.

Or, stay up-to-date on construction projects, boating activities and events by following our social media channels: Twitter @trentsevernnhs or Facebook/trentsevernnhs.

If you would like to receive email updates about these projects, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Talbot Area” in the subject heading.

Un barrage en béton asséché Le premier pertuis a été asséché. On peut apercevoir le batardeau en palplanches en avant-plan.
Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la réalisation de travaux d’une valeur de plus de 600 millions de dollars sur les infrastructures de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et de ses lacs réservoirs. Dans le cadre de ce réinvestissement historique, les travaux de remplacement du barrage Talbot commenceront sous peu.

Les batardeaux ont été mis en œuvre pour la première étape des travaux, et on a pompé l’eau pour assécher le secteur des travaux. Ce barrage est composé de deux pertuis et il sera remplacé par étapes, de façon à ce que l’eau puisse s’écouler par l’un des pertuis pendant les travaux.

Le projet du barrage de Talbot franchira une autre étape importante la semaine prochaine, alors que les travaux de démolition du premier pertuis commenceront. Le premier pertuis sera construit d’ici l’automne 2018. La construction du second ainsi que la réhabilitation des digues de terre se dérouleront pendant les mois de l’hiver 2018-2019 et ces travaux seront achevés à la fin de l’automne 2019. La remise en état des lieux sera réalisée au printemps suivant, en 2020.

Les résidents peuvent s’attendre à entendre des travaux bruyants pendant les périodes de démolition et de reconstruction. Le chemin de comté 50, en amont du barrage, demeurera ouvert pendant les travaux; toutefois, il est possible qu’à l’occasion, le chemin soit fermé temporairement ou qu’il y ait des réductions de voie.

Comment demeurer informés

Soyez témoins de ces travaux historiques! Allez voir ce que nous faisons à : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/infrastructure.

Une galerie de photos des projets dans le secteur Talbot a été affichée sur le site Internet de Parcs Canada à l’adresse suivante : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/infrastructure/talbot-simcoe. D’autres photos seront ajoutées dans les semaines et mois suivants, alors restez à l’affût!

Vous pouvez aussi vous renseigner sur les travaux de construction, les activités de plaisance et les événements en nous suivant sur les médias sociaux : Twitter @lhntrentsevern ou Facebook/lhntrentsevern.

Si vous voulez recevoir par courriel des nouvelles de ces projets, écrivez-nous à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquez « Secteur Talbot » en objet.