The five locks and three dams in the Talbot area overcome a 75 foot difference in water elevation between Canal Lake and Lake Simcoe. This section of the Trent-Severn Waterway was originally contracted for construction in 1900, and was officially opened in June 1907.


This normally tranquil stretch of canal that runs through farmer’s fields, set around small communities of cottages and year-round homes, is now a bustle of activity. Boaters and visitors this summer will notice ongoing construction activity as Parks Canada undertakes an unprecedented scale of work.  Parks Canada will be providing a series of updates about the work in the Talbot area to ensure that community members and potential visitors are kept informed throughout this period of historic investment.
The outflow of two concrete dam sluices. Corrugated sheet pile surrounds the bottom of the right hand sluice in a square shape

Talbot Dam

Construction has begun on the project to replace the Talbot Dam. This dam is comprised of two sluices and will be replaced in phases so that water flow can continue through one sluice of the dam even while construction takes place. Pictured, one sluice has been sectioned off with a sheet pile cofferdam on the downstream side to hold water back from the construction site.

This first phase lower cofferdam is in place and the first phase cofferdam above the dam is almost complete. Water will then be pumped out to create a dry work area, and demolition of the first half of the dam will begin in April or May.

Residents can expect construction noise through the demolition and reconstruction period. County Road 50 below the dam will remain open during construction, however there may be short temporary closures or lane reductions.

How to stay informed

Be a witness to this historic work. Check out what we’re up to at pc.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

A photo gallery of the Talbot area projects has been shared to Parks Canada’s website at parkscanada.gc.ca/tswTalbotSimcoe. More will follow in the coming weeks and months, so stay tuned.

Or, stay up-to-date on construction projects, boating activities and events by following our social media channels: Twitter @trentsevernnhs or Facebook/trentsevernnhs

If you would like to receive email updates about this project, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Talbot Area” in the subject heading.

Les cinq écluses et trois barrages du secteur Talbot s’étendent sur un dénivelé de 75 pieds entre le lac Canal et le lac Simcoe. Cette partie de la voie navigable a été aménagée à l’origine à partir de 1900 et inaugurée officiellement en juin 1907.

Ce tronçon du canal qui traverse des champs et qui est bordé par de petites collectivités de chalets et de résidences occupées à l’année est habituellement tranquille, mais actuellement, il bourdonne d’activité. Cet été, les plaisanciers et les visiteurs seront témoins de travaux de construction, alors que Parcs Canada entreprend des travaux sans précédent. Parcs Canada publiera des mises à jour sur les travaux dans le secteur Talbot pour que les membres de la collectivité et les visiteurs potentiels soient tenus informés durant cette période d’investissements sans précédent. 

Débit sortant aux deux pertuis du barrage en béton. Des palplanches ondulées entourent le pertuis de droite et forment un carré.

Barrage Talbot

Les travaux de remplacement du barrage Talbot ont commencé. Ce barrage comprend deux pertuis et il sera remplacé par phases pour que l’eau puisse continuer de s’écouler par un pertuis du barrage, même pendant les travaux. Sur la photo, un pertuis a été isolé avec un batardeau en palplanches du côté aval, pour retenir l’eau du chantier. 

Le batardeau d’aval de la première phase est en place et le batardeau d’amont de la première phase est presque terminé. L’eau sera ensuite pompée pour assécher la zone des travaux, et la démolition de la première moitié du barrage commencera en avril ou en mai. 

Pendant la période de démolition et de reconstruction, les résidents peuvent s’attendre à entendre des bruits de construction. Le chemin de comté 50 en aval du barrage restera ouvert durant les travaux, mais il pourrait y avoir des fermetures ou des réductions de voies temporaires et de courte durée. 

Comment rester au courant

Soyez témoin de ces travaux historiques. Allez voir ce que nous faisons sur http://pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/infrastructure.

Une galerie de photos des projets dans le secteur Talbot a été téléchargée sur le site Web de Parcs Canada à http://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/infrastructure/talbot-simcoealbotSimcoe. D’autres photos seront publiées dans les prochaines semaines et dans les prochains mois, alors restez à l’affut!

Vous pouvez aussi vous tenir au fait des projets de construction, des activités et événements nautiques en nous suivant sur les réseaux sociaux : Twitter @LHNtrentsevern ou Facebook/LHNtrentsevern.

Pour recevoir des mises à jour par courriel concernant ce projet, communiquez avec Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez « Secteur Talbot » dans l’objet du courriel.