Peterborough, Ontario, December 17, 2020 – Parks Canada would like to advise that the Boundary Road Swing Bridge on Simcoe Street (near Bolsover) will be temporarily closed to vehicular traffic over the winter months, pending the approval of Contractor submissions. The bridge will re-open in summer 2021.

Public safety is a priority for Parks Canada. Residents are advised to follow detour signage and to exercise caution.

The Boundary Road Swing Bridge on Simcoe Street near Bolsover was constructed in 1902. Engineering inspections in recent years have indicated that a full replacement of the steel structure is required. The project will also include repairs to the concrete abutments, and the replacement of mechanical and electrical operating systems. The new bridge will maintain the historic look of the original.

Parks Canada is leading this important infrastructure work along the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site to ensure safe, high-quality experiences for visitors by improving heritage, visitor, waterway, and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas.

To ask questions or register to receive updates about any Trent-Severn Waterway construction project, please contact us at Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include the project name in the subject heading. More details about this work, or other construction work in your region, can be found at www.pc.gc.ca/tswKawarthaLakes.

Peterborough (Ontario), le 17 décembre 2020 – Parcs Canada souhaite informer le public que le pont tournant de Boundary Road sur la rue Simcoe (près de Bolsover) sera fermé à la circulation automobile pendant l’hiver, en attendant l’approbation des soumissions de l’entrepreneur. Le pont rouvrira à la circulation pendant l’été 2021.

La sécurité du public est une priorité pour Parcs Canada. Nous demandons aux résidants et aux visiteurs de respecter les consignes sur les panneaux indiquant le détour à suivre et d’être prudents.

Le pont tournant de Boundary Road sur la rue Simcoe, près de Bolsover a été construit en 1902. Les inspections techniques des dernières années ont révélé que la structure en acier doit être remplacée au complet. Les travaux comprendront la réparation de la surface des culées en béton et le remplacement des systèmes mécaniques et électriques. Le nouveau pont conservera l’apparence historique du précédent.

Parcs Canada dirige d’importants travaux d’infrastructure le long de la voie navigable Trent-Severn afin d’améliorer les biens patrimoniaux, les installations destinées aux visiteurs, les voies navigables et les routes des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation, et de permettre ainsi aux visiteurs de vivre des expériences de qualité en toute sécurité.

Si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez vous inscrire pour recevoir des mises à jour sur les travaux en cours au lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent–Severn, envoyez un courriel à Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca en indiquant le nom du projet dans l’objet du message. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces travaux ou d’autres travaux de construction dans votre région, consultez le www.pc.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.