Public Safety is a priority for Parks Canada and the sustainability of earth dams is an integral part of flood mitigation in surrounding communities. As such, this work is being done as a part of a multi-year project to rehabilitate and strengthen earth dams in the Talbot area. The Talbot earth dams are located along the navigation channel between the Talbot Dam and Lock 41, near Gamebridge, Ontario.

Earth dams are vital for flood mitigation and therefore the safety of visitors, residents, and property. In order to rehabilitate and strengthen these dams, washouts will be repaired, dam height will be increased where necessary, and vegetation will be removed.

Phase one of this project began in November 2016, with the  removal of trees and shrubs from along the Talbot earth dams. This work will satisfy the Canadian Dam Association Guidelines for Dam Safety, with the goal of compliancy with international best practices. The roots of vegetation, like trees and shrubs, loosen the soil in an earth dam creating seepage paths that can lead to internal erosion and vulnerabilities in the embankment. Decaying or rotting roots also create such vulnerabilities in earth dams. Furthermore, trees pose a risk for dam failure should they be uprooted in a storm or succumb to disease. Vegetation also inhibits the ability to inspect the dams to identify problems and to complete works to further strengthen these dams where it has been deemed necessary.

Parks Canada has been recognized on the world stage as a leader in conservation. Care has been taken to consider and implement measures that will mitigate potential negative environmental impact on waterways, nesting areas, and other habitats. Resources have also been made available for planting trees at more suitable locations, as well as planting beneficial plants like milkweed and tall grasses at the dam sites.

For More Information 

For more information about the Trent-Severn Waterway Historic Site, contact us at Ont.Trentsevern@pc.gc.ca or follow us on Facebook and Twitter @TrentSevernNHS.

Communications

May 16, 2017 - Community Update: Talbot Area

La sécurité du public représente une priorité pour Parcs Canada, et la durabilité des barrages en terre est une condition essentielle à l’atténuation des inondations dans les collectivités environnantes. Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans un projet pluriannuel de remise à neuf et de renforcement des barrages en terre le long de la rivière Talbot. Ces ouvrages jalonnent le canal de navigation qui relie le barrage de la rivière Talbot à l’écluse 41, près de Gamebridge, en Ontario.

Les barrages en terre jouent un rôle primordial dans l’atténuation des inondations et, par conséquent, dans la sécurité des visiteurs, des résidents et des biens. Pour les remettre à neuf et les renforcer, il faut réparer les failles, en augmenter la hauteur au besoin et enlever la végétation adjacente.

La phase 1 de ce projet a débuté en novembre 2016 par l’enlèvement d’arbres et d’arbustes le long des barrages en terre de Talbot. Ces travaux permettront aux ouvrages de satisfaire aux lignes directrices de sécurité de l’Association canadienne des barrages. Parcs Canada s’est donné comme objectif de se conformer aux pratiques exemplaires adoptées à l’échelle mondiale. Les racines des arbres et des arbustes fragmentent la terre, créant ainsi des voies d’infiltration qui peuvent entraîner l’érosion interne des barrages et en accroître la vulnérabilité. Les racines qui se décomposent ou qui pourrissent affaiblissent elles aussi les barrages en terre. En outre, les arbres engendrent des risques de rupture de barrage lorsqu’ils sont déracinés dans une tempête ou qu’ils succombent à la maladie. Enfin, la végétation complique les opérations d’inspection qui permettent de déceler des problèmes et la réalisation de travaux de renforcement.

Parcs Canada est reconnu à l’échelle mondiale comme chef de file de la conservation. Il a pris soin d’étudier les mesures possibles et d’appliquer celles qui atténueront les impacts environnementaux négatifs possibles sur les voies navigables, les lieux de nidification et les autres types d’habitat. En outre, des ressources ont été mises à disposition pour la plantation d’arbres à des endroits plus convenables et pour l’introduction de végétaux bénéfiques près des barrages, tels que l’asclépiade et des graminées de grande taille.

Pour obtenir plus d’information

Pour en savoir plus sur le lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn, écrivez-nous à Ont.Trentsevern@pc.gc.ca ou abonnez-vous à nos pages Facebook et Twitter @LHNTrentSevern.

Communication

Le 16 mai 2017Bulletin de la collectivité : Secteur Talbot