City of Kawartha Lakes

The Bolsover Dam at Lock 37 is a mass concrete gravity structure with a height of 12.3 m (maximum at the piers) and length of 68 m. The difference in water levels between upstream and downstream of the dam is approximately 6.7 m. The dam is located adjacent to Lock 37 on the Trent-Severn Waterway – a part of what is known as the historic Talbot section. The relatively unchanged appearance and operation of this section of man-made canal between Lake Simcoe and Balsam Lake is one of the reasons that the Trent-Severn Waterway is designated a National Historic Site.

Why did the dam need to be replaced?

The Bolsover Dam was originally constructed in 1902-1903 on a gravel and timber foundation. This foundation, while a common and acceptable manner of construction at the time, does not meet today’s design standards. After more than 100 years, this foundation had begun to show signs of deterioration.

Brett McLellan, Parks Canada lead engineer for the project, stands at the base of the dam where the canal has been de-watered for construction. Evidence of concrete deterioration is visible behind him, as well as scouring of the canal floor below the dam.

What does it take to build a new dam?

In instances where an original structure can’t be saved and must be re-built, Parks Canada, including many skilled engineers, cultural resource specialists, and operational team, consider many factors before making a design decision. These include the effective use of funds, the impact on the natural environment, the ability of the structure to adhere to current codes of safety and operation, and an array of other Federal, Provincial, and Parks Canada policies. Of particular importance and unique to Parks Canada, are the decisions taken in an effort to maintain the look of the landscape, while also using modern construction techniques to improve the structure and ensure its longevity for future generations.

Contractors remove the debris of demolition.

Public safety is a priority for Parks Canada. Our directive for infrastructure provides guidance on dam safety and follows safety guidelines developed by the Canadian Dam Association. Due to the magnitude and cost of this project there was a complex array of preparatory work undertaken, including: a rigorous environmental assessment, cultural resource assessments, consultations with Natural Resources Canada, and extensive surveying of the land and watercourse. Additionally, Parks Canada obtained permission under the Navigable Waters Protection Act (NWPA) to make changes to the navigable approach at Lock 37 Bolsover.

The construction phase included: removal of the existing dam, construction of a new dam in the same location, and all associated works to facilitate the construction including the installation and removal of two cofferdams one above and below the dam. This work also involved establishing a flow diversion system, the salvage of historical operational features, and de-mobilization including removal of the cofferdams, flow diversion system and all associated temporary ancillary works that facilitate the construction effort.

Work continues through the winter - 2014/15.

Parks Canada has a responsibility to protect nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. Often, these examples are in the form of structures like buildings, locks, and dams. In some places, like on Canada’s historic canals, these structures are still being used today, serving today’s needs. This presents challenges, like retaining the look and feel of a structure or landscape, and ensuring its continued use while accommodating 100-200 years of human growth. However, this animation and daily use allows Canadians to experience our treasured places in a unique and rich way.

Water is released over the dam for the first time - January 2016.

Communications

June 20, 2016Info Bulletin - Bolsover Dam at Lock 37
March 4, 2016 - Info Bulletin - Bolsover Dam at Lock 37

Ville de Kawartha Lakes

Le barrage de Bolsover situé à l’écluse 37 est une structure à embase-poids en béton de masse de 12,3 m de haut (hauteur maximale des piliers) et de 68 m de long. La différence entre les niveaux d’eau en amont et en aval de la structure est d’environ 6,7 m. Le barrage est situé près de l’écluse 37 sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn – dans la partie connue comme étant la section historique Talbot. L’aspect visuel et le fonctionnement de ce tronçon de canal artificiel qui relie les lacs Simcoe et Balsam ont peu changé au fil du temps, et c’est l’une des raisons qui ont motivé la désignation de la voie navigable Trent-Severn comme lieu historique national.

Pourquoi fallait-il refaire le barrage?

Le barrage de Bolsover a été construit en 1902-1903 sur une fondation de gravier et de bois d’œuvre, une façon de faire acceptable à l’époque, mais qui ne correspond plus aux normes actuelles. Après plus de 100 ans, cette fondation commence à montrer des signes de détérioration.

Brett McLellan, ingénieur en chef de Parcs Canada pour le projet, se tient au pied du barrage où l’eau du canal a été évacuée pour permettre les travaux de construction. On peut voir derrière lui la détérioration du béton, ainsi que l’affouillement du fond du canal sous le barrage.

Que faut-il pour construire un nouveau barrage?

Dans les cas où il est impossible de sauvegarder la structure d’origine et qu’il faut reconstruire, Parcs Canada, avec ses nombreux ingénieurs chevronnés, ses spécialistes des ressources culturelles et son équipe des opérations, tient compte de plusieurs facteurs avant d’arrêter une décision sur la conception. Ces facteurs comprennent notamment l’utilisation judicieuse des fonds, les répercussions sur le milieu naturel, le respect des codes de sécurité et de fonctionnement en vigueur, ainsi qu’un éventail de politiques fédérales, provinciales et propres à Parcs Canada. Les décisions particulièrement importantes et propres à Parcs Canada sont celles prises dans le but de préserver l’aspect du paysage tout en appliquant des techniques de construction modernes afin d’améliorer la structure et d’assurer sa longévité pour les générations futures.

Enlèvement des débris de démolition.

La sécurité du public est une priorité pour Parcs Canada. Notre directive concernant les infrastructures donne des orientations en matière de sécurité et s’harmonise avec les lignes directrices de l’Association canadienne des barrages. Compte tenu de l’envergure de ce projet et des coûts qui y sont rattachés, un ensemble complexe de travaux préparatoires a été entrepris, notamment une évaluation environnementale rigoureuse, des évaluations des ressources culturelles, des consultations avec Ressources naturelles Canada et un vaste relevé des terres et des cours d’eau. De plus, en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables, Parcs Canada a obtenu la permission, d’apporter des changements à l’approche de l’écluse 37 à Bolsover.

L’étape de la construction comprenait les travaux suivants : démolition du barrage existant, construction sur le même site du nouveau barrage et tous les travaux connexes pour permettre la construction, dont le retrait de deux batardeaux, l’un en amont, l’autre en aval du barrage. Ces travaux comprenaient aussi la mise en place d’un système de dérivation, la préservation des éléments opérationnels patrimoniaux et la mise hors service, dont le retrait des batardeaux, le système de dérivation et tous les travaux auxiliaires temporaires pour permettre l’exécution des travaux de construction proprement dits.

Les travaux se poursuivent à l’hiver 2014-2015.

Il incombe à Parcs Canada de protéger les exemples significatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. Il s’agit souvent de structures comme des bâtiments, des écluses et des barrages. Dans certains cas, comme le long des canaux historiques du Canada, ces structures sont encore en service et répondent aux besoins actuels. Cela pose des difficultés, car il faut préserver l’aspect de la structure ou du paysage ou assurer l’usage continu de l’endroit tout en tenant compte de 100, voire 200 ans de développement. Cette animation et cet usage quotidien permettent cependant aux Canadiens de profiter de ces trésors nationaux d’une manière exceptionnelle.

Premier passage de l’eau sur le barrage en janvier 2016.

Communications

Le 20 juin 2016 - Bulletin d'information - Barrage de Bolsover à l’écluse 37
Le 4 mars 2016 - Bulletin d'information - Barrage de Bolsover à l’écluse 37