December 18 2020 – Parks Canada is pleased to advise that the steel fixed bridge structure at Couchiching Lock 42 has been installed.

Installed steel fixed bridge structure at Couchiching Lock 42


With project manager Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), Parks Canada continues to closely monitor the most recent schedule provided by the Contractor, as several project tasks remain before the bridge will support traffic, and before the project can be considered complete. Parks Canada and PSPC are investigating options to open the bridge to vehicular traffic in January 2021. It is important to note, there will be additional, short-term closures in the spring months to finalize the project.

Continued delays throughout the project have meant a completion date that has been moved multiple times. Parks Canada will continue to work with colleagues at PSPC to reduce negative impacts as a result of construction as much as possible. PSPC is implementing contractual tools that are available to the Government of Canada, seeking to expedite work and bring the project to its completion. Further updates will be provided as new information becomes available.

Background

Work on the fixed bridge at Couchiching Lock 42, which connects Canal Road above the lock near Washago, began in the winter of 2019/20. The scope of work has included a full replacement of the fixed bridge, re-facing of the bridge abutments, and road work on the bridge approaches. The nature of the work on the bridge has meant that navigation through the Trent- Severn Waterway has not been impacted.

More Information

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates regarding this project, please contact us at Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Couchiching Bridge” in the subject heading. For news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/tswSevernGravenhurst.

Le 18 décembre 2020 – Parcs Canada est ravi d’annoncer que la structure du pont fixe en acier de l’écluse 42 de Couchiching a été installée.

Installation d'une structure de pont fixe en acier à l'écluse 42 de Couchiching

En collaboration avec le gestionnaire de projet de Services publics et approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), Parcs Canada continue de suivre de près le dernier calendrier fourni par l’entrepreneur, car il reste plusieurs tâches à accomplir avant que le pont puisse supporter la circulation et que le projet soit considéré comme terminé. Parcs Canada et SPAC étudient différentes options en vue d’ouvrir le pont à la circulation automobile en janvier 2021. Il est important de noter qu’il y aura d’autres fermetures à court terme au cours du printemps afin de finaliser le projet.

En raison des retards continus tout au long du projet, la date d’achèvement a été repoussée à plusieurs reprises. Parcs Canada continuera de travailler avec ses collègues de SPAC afin de réduire autant que possible les impacts négatifs de la construction. SPAC met en place des outils contractuels mis à la disposition du gouvernement du Canada afin d’accélérer les travaux et de mener le projet à son terme. De nouvelles mises à jour seront communiquées au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements seront disponibles.

Contexte

Les travaux sur le pont fixe de l’écluse 42 de Couchiching, qui relie la route Canal en amont de l’écluse près de Washago, ont commencé à l’hiver 2019-2020. Ils comprenaient le remplacement complet du pont fixe, le resurfaçage des culées du pont, ainsi que des travaux routiers qui seront réalisés sur les voies d’accès au pont. Étant donné la nature des travaux sur le pont, la navigation sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn n’a pas été touchée.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous avez des questions ou des inquiétudes relativement au projet, ou si vous souhaitez que l’on vous informe par courriel du déroulement des travaux, écrivez-nous à Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca en indiquant « Pont fixe de Couchiching » dans l’objet. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur ce projet ou sur d’autres projets d’infrastructure dans votre secteur, consultez le www.pc.gc.ca/vntsSevernGravenhurst.