September 21, 2018 – The new Brighton Road Swing Bridge will open to vehicular traffic and pedestrians, on a partial basis, as soon as possible following the end of the navigation season in early October. 

The contractor is working specifically on completing the items required to make this happen. Complete installation of concrete curbing, paving, lighting and other traffic safety features are critical elements to reopening the bridge to the public. These tasks have begun, and will continue on good weather days. 

While the project to complete the Brighton Road Swing Bridge is not yet complete, the bridge will be opened to vehicles and pedestrians to help alleviate some of the challenges that residents and visitors have experienced throughout the project. The bridge will remain closed to vehicles between the hours of 10am and 2pm so that the bridge project can be completed in full.

More information will be provided as it becomes available.  

About the project

The Brighton Road Swing Bridge spans the Murray Canal on County Road 64, connecting Prince Edward County and the Municipality of Quinte West. The bridge is being replaced with a new two lane swing bridge that will also have a pedestrian sidewalk, a full highway load rating eliminating the current restrictions for emergency and service vehicles, and upgraded mechanical and electrical features. 

To find out more

If you do not currently receive email updates about this work and would like to, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. Information on this and other Trent-Severn projects, as well as a Brighton Road Swing Bridge Q&A document, can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure or www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswBrighton.

Le 21 septembre 2018 – Le nouveau pont tournant du chemin Brighton ouvrira à la circulation routière et piétonnière, de façon partielle, dès que possible après la fin de la saison de navigation au début octobre.

L’entrepreneur s’affaire précisément à terminer les travaux nécessaires à cette ouverture partielle. L’asphaltage et l’installation complète des bordures en béton, des dispositifs d’éclairage et des dispositifs de sécurité routière sont des éléments essentiels à la réouverture du pont au public. Ces travaux ont débuté; ils se poursuivront par beau temps.

Même si le projet de construction du pont tournant du chemin Brighton n’est pas tout à fait terminé, on ouvrira le pont aux véhicules et aux piétons afin d’aider à atténuer certains des problèmes qu’ont connus les résidents et les visiteurs pendant la réalisation du projet. Le pont sera fermé à la circulation routière de 10 h à 14 h pour permettre à l’entrepreneur d’achever la totalité des travaux.
D’autres renseignements suivront dès que possible.

À propos du projet

Le pont tournant du chemin Brighton enjambe le canal Murray sur la route de comté 64 qui relie le comté de Prince Edward à la municipalité de Quinte West. Le projet consiste à remplacer le pont par un nouveau pont à deux voies avec passage piétonnier et une capacité suffisante qui lèvera les restrictions actuelles imposées aux véhicules d’urgence et aux services, ainsi que la mise à niveau des composantes mécaniques et électriques.

Renseignements

Si vous ne recevez pas les courriels de mise à jour concertant ce projet et que vous voulez les recevoir, écrivez-nous à Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez « Pont tournant du chemin Brighton » dans l’objet. Vous trouverez sur le site Internet de Parcs Canada des renseignements sur ce projet et d’autres projets réalisés dans la voie navigable Trent-Severn (www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure) ainsi qu’une FAQ sur le projet du pont tournant du chemin Brighton (www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsBrighton).