The new bridge swung open, visible from the deck of a red work boat. 

Construction update – May 29, 2018

Work continues toward the completion of the Brighton Road Swing Bridge. This includes the continued manufacture of hydraulic components, road and ditch improvements at the south bridge approach, and the offsite manufacturing of vehicle guard rail systems. A curved parking lot retaining wall on the south east side of the road is under construction. 

The bridge is expected to be operational for vehicle traffic by the end of June. It is currently in the open position, which allows for boats to pass. Parks Canada asks that boaters treat this as a no wake zone, to protect both the shoreline and construction materials. While the contractor is working to complete the project as quickly as possible, the area around the bridge remains a construction site. For your safety, be advised of the following changes to service at the Brighton Road Swing Bridge:

May to early July 2018 

  • Mooring is not available at the site;

  • The lock grounds and washroom facilities are closed to the public; and,

  • The canal paths are closed at this location.

About the project

Parks Canada has announced over $615 million in investments into the locks, dams, bridges and other infrastructure along the Trent-Severn Waterway. This scale of investment hasn’t happened since the TSW was originally constructed, between 98 and 185 years ago.

The Brighton Road Swing Bridge spans the Murray Canal on County Road 64, connecting Prince Edward County and the Municipality of Quinte West. The bridge is being replaced with a new two lane swing bridge that will also have a pedestrian sidewalk, a full highway load rating eliminating the current restrictions for emergency and service vehicles, and upgraded mechanical and electrical features. The bridge was fabricated off-site and transported to the site in sections for re-assembly, decreasing the length of closure. The bridge abutments and centre pier are being rehabilitated to accommodate the new bridge. 

To find out more

Parks Canada will continue to provide updates on the work. If you do not currently receive email updates about this work and would like to, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. 

A photo gallery of the ongoing work at the Brighton Road Swing Bridge has been shared to www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswBrighton, and information about other Trent-Severn projects can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Le nouveau pont en position ouverte, visible depuis le pont d'un bateau de travail rouge. 

Le point sur les travaux — 29 mai 2018

Les travaux se poursuivent en vue de l’achèvement du pont tournant du chemin Brighton. Cela comprend la poursuite de la fabrication de composants hydrauliques, l’amélioration des routes et des fossés à l’approche sud du pont et la fabrication hors site de glissière de sécurité. Un mur de soutènement incurvé du stationnement du côté sud-est de la route est en construction.

Le pont devrait être ouvert à la circulation des véhicules d’ici la fin juin. Il est actuellement en position ouverte, ce qui permet aux embarcations de passer. Parcs Canada demande aux plaisanciers de traiter cette zone comme une zone sans sillage, afin de protéger le rivage et les matériaux de construction. Bien que l’entrepreneur s’efforce de terminer le projet le plus rapidement possible, la zone autour du pont demeure un chantier de construction. Pour votre sécurité, veuillez prendre note des changements suivants au service au pont tournant du chemin Brighton :

Mai au début juillet 2018 

  • L’amarrage n’est pas disponible sur le site;

  • Les terrains de l’écluse et les toilettes sont fermés au public;

  • Les sentiers du canal sont fermés à cet endroit.

Détails du projet

Parcs Canada a annoncé des investissements de plus de 615 M$ dans les écluses, les barrages, les ponts et les autres ouvrages d’infrastructure qui longent la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Cet ordre de grandeur pour un investissement ne s’est pas vu depuis la construction originale de la VNTS, il y a de 98 à 185 ans.

Le pont tournant du chemin Brighton enjambe le canal Murray sur la route de comté 64 qui relie le comté de Prince Edward à la municipalité de Quinte West. Le pont est remplacé par un nouveau pont à deux voies avec passage piétonnier et une capacité suffisante qui lèvera les restrictions actuelles imposées aux véhicules d’urgence et aux services, ainsi que la mise à niveau des composantes mécaniques et électriques. Le pont a été fabriqué hors du chantier, puis transporté par section pour y être assemblé, ce qui permettra de réduire la durée de la fermeture. Les culées et le pilier central seront également refaits pour accueillir le nouveau pont.

Pour en savoir davantage

Parcs Canada continuera de faire le point. Si vous ne recevez pas de courriel de mises à jour concernant le pont et que vous souhaiteriez en recevoir, écrivez-nous à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez « Pont tournant Brighton » à la rubrique Objet.

Une galerie de photos des travaux en cours au pont tournant du chemin Brighton est disponible sur le site www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsBrighton et des renseignements sur d'autres projets de la voie navigable Trent-Severn se trouvent sur le site Web de Parcs Canada à l'adresse www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.