Construction update – July 4, 2018

The Brighton Road Swing Bridge, located along the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site, will remain closed to vehicle traffic until early September. This closure is to facilitate the replacement of the existing swing bridge with a new, two-lane swing bridge and pedestrian sidewalk.

The bridge opening has been delayed due to complications with subcontractors’ completion of hydraulics systems and fabrication issues with key mechanical elements.  

 Guardrails have been installed
The bridge itself has been fabricated and lifted into place, bridge abutments and centre pier have been completed, the south-east retaining wall constructed, drainage structures have been installed, all electrical duct banks have been placed, and the bridge operator’s kiosk has been built. Within the next two weeks, a concrete pad will be poured adjacent to the parking area, the new operator’s kiosk will be installed and new concrete stairs leading to the canal will be poured. The span drive cylinder, the main hydraulic component that helps to move the bridge, will be fabricated and ready for installation, in addition to other functional mechanical components for the bridge. 
 Electrical works are installed, bridge abutment completed, ready for a concrete pad and operating kiosk.

About the project

Parks Canada has announced over $615 million in investments into the locks, dams, bridges and other infrastructure along the Trent-Severn Waterway. This scale of investment hasn’t happened since the TSW was originally constructed, between 98 and 185 years ago.

The Brighton Road Swing Bridge spans the Murray Canal on County Road 64, connecting Prince Edward County and the Municipality of Quinte West. The bridge is being replaced with a new two lane swing bridge that will also have a pedestrian sidewalk, a full highway load rating eliminating the current restrictions for emergency and service vehicles, and upgraded mechanical and electrical features. The bridge was fabricated off-site and transported to the site in sections for re-assembly. The bridge abutments and centre pier are being rehabilitated to accommodate the new bridge. 

To find out more

Parks Canada will continue to provide updates on the work. If you do not currently receive email updates about this work and would like to, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. Information on this and other Trent-Severn projects can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Le point sur les travaux – Le 4 juillet 2018

Le pont tournant de Brighton Road, situé le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn, demeurera fermé à la circulation jusqu’au début de septembre. Cette fermeture vise à faciliter le remplacement de l’ouvrage actuel par un pont tournant à deux voies assorti d’un trottoir.

La réouverture du pont a été retardée en raison de complications entourant les travaux sur les systèmes hydrauliques et de problèmes de fabrication d’éléments mécaniques clés.

Des glissières de sécurité ont été installées.
Le pont a été fabriqué, soulevé et mis en place. Les travaux de réfection des culées et du pilier central sont achevés, le mur de soutènement sud-est a été construit, les structures de drainage ont été installées, toutes les banques de conduits électriques ont été placées,et le kiosque du pontier a été construit. Dans les deux prochaines semaines, l’entrepreneur coulera le béton de l’aire de stationnement, installera le nouveau kiosque du pontier et aménagera un nouvel escalier en béton menant au canal. Le cylindre d’entraînement de la travée, la principale composante hydraulique qui assure le déplacement du pont, sera fabriqué et prêt à être installé, tout comme d’autres composantes mécaniques fonctionnelles du pont.
 Les raccordements électriques ont été installés, et la réfection des culées est terminée. Tout est prêt pour accueillir la plateforme en béton et le kiosque du pontier.

Détails du projet

Parcs Canada a annoncé des investissements de plus de 615 millions de dollars dans les écluses, les barrages, les ponts et les autres éléments d’infrastructure qui longent la voie navigable Trent–Severn. Les derniers investissements de cette envergure datent de l’époque de la construction de la voie navigable, il y a de 98 à 185 ans.

Le pont tournant de Brighton Road enjambe le canal Murray sur la route de comté 64, qui relie le comté de Prince Edward à la municipalité de Quinte West. Des travaux sont en cours pour le remplacer par un nouveau pont tournant à deux voies assorti d’un trottoir, de composantes mécaniques et électriques modernisées ainsi que d’une pleine capacité de charge routière qui permettra d’éliminer les restrictions actuellement imposées aux véhicules d’urgence et aux véhicules de service. Le pont a été fabriqué à distance, puis transporté jusqu’au chantier par sections pour y être assemblé. Les culées et le pilier central ont été soumis à des travaux de remise à neuf et pourront bientôt accueillir le nouveau pont.

Pour en savoir davantage

Parcs Canada continuera de faire le point sur l’avancement des travaux. Pour recevoir des mises à jour par courriel sur ce projet, écrivez-nous à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca en prenant soin d’inscrire « Pont tournant de Brighton Road » à la rubrique Objet. Le site Web de Parcs Canada www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure renferme des renseignements sur ce projet et sur d’autres travaux en cours le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn.