Carrying Place Bridge

July 20, 2018 – As work continues on the Brighton Road Swing Bridge, Parks Canada has been monitoring traffic at the alternate crossing – Carrying Place Swing Bridge. Having noted an increase in traffic congestion at Carrying Place, Parks Canada will be taking action to improve the movement of vehicular traffic across the bridge. 

Until early September, travellers can expect bridge swings to be reduced to approximately 3-4 swings per hour at Carrying Place. In order to facilitate this change, boats will be grouped together and allowed to pass collectively during these swings. For this reason, boaters should expect an increased wait time at Carrying Place Swing Bridge. We hope our efforts will alleviate some vehicular congestion and frustration that is being experienced in the area due to continued construction on Brighton Road Swing Bridge.

Progress on the Brighton Road Swing Bridge Project

 Brighton Road Swing Bridge Operator’s Kiosk

Last week, the new operator’s kiosk was installed at Brighton Road Swing Bridge. This week, the contractor will be pouring the concrete stairs leading to the canal. The fabrication of the mechanical components for the bridge are also ongoing. The project remains on schedule to complete in early September.

Recently, concerns regarding the condition of the end of Barcovan Road at Highway 64 were brought to our attention. The contractor has now addressed these issues by filling potholes and smoothing the transition from pavement to gravel. Once the Brighton Road Swing Bridge installation is complete, this section of Barcovan Road will be paved.

About the project

Parks Canada has announced over $615 million in investments into the locks, dams, bridges and other infrastructure along the Trent-Severn Waterway. This scale of investment hasn’t happened since the TSW was originally constructed, between 98 and 185 years ago.

The Brighton Road Swing Bridge spans the Murray Canal on County Road 64, connecting Prince Edward County and the Municipality of Quinte West. The bridge is being replaced with a new two lane swing bridge that will also have a pedestrian sidewalk, a full highway load rating eliminating the current restrictions for emergency and service vehicles, and upgraded mechanical and electrical features. The bridge was fabricated off-site and transported to the site in sections for re-assembly. The bridge abutments and centre pier are being rehabilitated to accommodate the new bridge. 

To find out more

Parks Canada will continue to provide updates on the work. If you do not currently receive email updates about this work and would like to, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. Information on this and other Trent-Severn projects can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Pont de Carrying Place

20 juillet 2018 – Les travaux du pont tournant de Brighton Road continuent et Parcs Canada surveille la circulation sur le pont tournant de Carrying Place, qui est la solution de rechange pour traverser le canal. Ayant constaté une augmentation des encombrements sur le pont de Carrying Place, Parcs Canada va prendre des mesures pour y améliorer la circulation automobile.

Jusqu’au début septembre, les usagers peuvent s’attendre à ce que le nombre de mouvements du pont de Carrying Place soient réduits à environ trois ou quatre par heure. Pour faciliter ce changement, les bateaux seront regroupés et pourront passer en groupe pendant les ouvertures du pont. Pour cette raison, les plaisanciers devront attendre plus longtemps au pont tournant de Carrying Place. Nous espérons que ces mesures permettront de réduire les encombrements et la frustration causée dans le secteur en raison de la poursuite des travaux du pont tournant de Brighton Road.

Avancement des travaux du pont tournant de Brighton Road

Kiosque du pontier du pont tournant de Brighton Road

La semaine dernière, on a installé le nouveau kiosque du pontier. Cette semaine, l’entrepreneur coulera le béton pour l’escalier menant au canal. La fabrication des éléments mécaniques du pont se poursuit aussi. Le projet respecte les délais; il sera terminé au début septembre.

On nous a signalé récemment des problèmes concernant l’état de la chaussée à l’extrémité de Barcovan Road, là où elle rejoint la route 64. L’entrepreneur a remédié à ces problèmes en comblant les nids-de-poule et en aplanissant la jonction entre la partie asphaltée et la partie en gravier de la route. Une fois que les travaux du pont tournant de Brighton Road seront terminés, ce tronçon de Barcovan Road sera asphalté.

Détails du projet

Parcs Canada a annoncé des investissements de plus de 615 millions de dollars dans les écluses, les barrages, les ponts et les autres éléments d’infrastructure qui longent la voie navigable Trent–Severn. Les derniers investissements de cette envergure datent de l’époque de la construction de la voie navigable, il y a de 98 à 185 ans.

Le pont tournant de Brighton Road enjambe le canal Murray sur la route de comté 64, qui relie le comté de Prince Edward à la municipalité de Quinte West. Des travaux sont en cours pour le remplacer par un nouveau pont tournant à deux voies assorti d’un trottoir, de composantes mécaniques et électriques modernisées ainsi que d’une pleine capacité de charge routière qui permettra d’éliminer les restrictions actuellement imposées aux véhicules d’urgence et aux véhicules de service. Le pont a été fabriqué à distance, puis transporté jusqu’au chantier par sections pour y être assemblé. Les culées et le pilier central ont été soumis à des travaux de remise à neuf et pourront bientôt accueillir le nouveau pont.

Pour en savoir davantage

Parcs Canada continuera de faire le point sur l’avancement des travaux. Pour recevoir des mises à jour par courriel sur ce projet, écrivez-nous à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca en prenant soin d’inscrire « Pont tournant de Brighton Road » à la rubrique Objet. Le site Web de Parcs Canada www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure renferme des renseignements sur ce projet et sur d’autres travaux en cours le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn.