The Brighton Road Swing Bridge spans the Murray Canal on County Road 64, and connects Prince Edward County and the Municipality of Quinte West. It was built in 1947 and is being replaced with a new bridge that has two full lanes, a pedestrian walkway, and full highway loading. 

The project to replace the bridge is progressing well. The concrete for the bridge abutments at the roadways is being poured, and the center pier will be completed with two final concrete pours the first week of March. Offsite, portions of the steel bridge are built and are being metallized and painted. Receipt of the first shipment of bridge parts is expected at the end of March.

A photo gallery of the Brighton Road Swing Bridge project with descriptions has been shared to Parks Canada’s website at www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswBrighton.

Be a witness to this work

Parks Canada has announced over $615 million in investments into the locks, dams, bridges and other infrastructure along the Trent-Severn Waterway. This scale of investment hasn’t happened since the TSW was originally constructed, between 98 and 185 years ago.

Check out what we’re up to. A photo gallery of the ongoing work at the Brighton Road Swing Bridge has been shared to www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswBrighton, and information about other Trent-Severn projects can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

If you would like to receive email updates about this project, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading.

Le pont tournant du chemin Brighton enjambe le canal Murray sur la route de comté 64 qui relie le comté de Prince Edward à la municipalité de Quinte West. Il a été construit en 1947 et il est remplacé par une nouvelle structure à deux voies avec une pleine capacité de charge routière et un passage piétonnier.

Les travaux avancent bien sur le chantier du pont tournant du chemin Brighton. Le coulage du béton des culées du pont est en cours à la hauteur des chaussées, et après deux derniers coulages de béton durant la première semaine de mars, le pilier central sera achevé. À l’extérieur du chantier, les pièces du pont en acier sont construites, métallisées et peintes. La première livraison des pièces du pont est attendue pour la fin mars.

Une galerie de photos des travaux en cours sur le pont tournant du chemin Brighton avec les descriptions, a été téléchargée sur le site de Parcs Canada www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsBrighton

Soyez témoin de ces travaux

Parcs Canada a annoncé qu’il investirait plus de 615 millions de dollars dans les écluses, les barrages et d’autres infrastructures le long de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Un investissement d’une telle ampleur n’a pas eu lieu depuis la construction de la voie navigable, il y a de 98 à 185 ans.

Allez voir ce que nous faisons : une galerie de photos des travaux en cours sur le pont tournant du chemin Brighton a été téléchargée sur le site www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsBrighton et des renseignements sur d’autres projets dans la voie navigable Trent-Severn se trouvent sur le site www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.

Pour recevoir des mises à jour par courriel concernant ce projet, veuillez nous envoyer un message à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquer « Pont tournant du chemin Brighton » en objet.