Throughout the week of April 2, components of the new Brighton Road Swing Bridge arrived at the construction site and were lifted into place. These massive parts were shipped from the fabrication facility in Quebec. Contractors will now complete the monumental tasks of bridge assembly and balancing, installation of mechanical and electrical components, and restoration of the site.

While tremendous progress has been made, it is challenging to complete such a large and complex project within the limits of the non-tourism season. As a result, while the bridge will be onsite, it will not be open to vehicle traffic by early June as previously anticipated.  Due to the bridge’s position, the Murray Canal will be unimpeded. Parks Canada and our contracting partners at Public Service and Procurement Canada are working with the contractor to reduce delays.  Parks Canada will provide more concrete information about the bridge completion as soon as it is available.

A large section of the Brighton Road Swing Bridge is craned into place.

Be a witness to this work

Parks Canada has announced over $615 million in investments into the locks, dams, bridges and other infrastructure along the Trent-Severn Waterway. This scale of investment hasn’t happened since the TSW was originally constructed, between 98 and 185 years ago.

A photo gallery of the ongoing work at the Brighton Road Swing Bridge has been shared to www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswBrighton, and information about other Trent-Severn projects can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

If you would like to receive email updates about this project, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading.

Tout au long de la semaine du 2 avril, des éléments du nouveau pont tournant du chemin Brighton sont arrivés sur le chantier et ont été hissés en place. Ces immenses pièces sont envoyées depuis l’installation de fabrication, au Québec. Les entrepreneurs vont maintenant s’attaquer à l’énorme tâche consistant à assembler et équilibrer le pont, installer les composantes mécaniques et électriques, et remettre le site en état.

Si de très grands progrès ont été faits, il est difficile de réaliser un projet de cette taille et de cette complexité sans empiéter sur la saison touristique. Ainsi, même si le pont sera en place, il ne rouvrira pas comme prévu à la circulation automobile au début de juin. Étant donné la position du pont, l’accès au canal Murray ne sera pas bloqué. Parcs Canada et nos partenaires en passation de marchés à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada collaborent avec l’entrepreneur pour limiter les retards. Nous publierons des renseignements concrets sur l’achèvement des travaux dès que nous en aurons.

Une grosse partie du pont tournant du chemin Brighton est mise en place au moyen d’une grue.

Soyez témoins des travaux

Parcs canada a annoncé un investissement de plus de 615 millions de dollars dans les écluses, les barrages, les ponts et d’autres ouvrages de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Il s’agit du plus gros investissement réalisé depuis la construction de la voie navigable, il y a 98 à 185 ans.

Une galerie de photos des travaux en cours dans le cadre du projet de remplacement du pont tournant du chemin Brighton a été mise en ligne à www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsBrighton. Vous trouverez d’autres renseignements sur des projets menés sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn sur le site Web de Parcs Canada à www.parcscanada.gc.ca/vntsinfrastructure.

Si vous souhaitez recevoir par courriel des renseignements sur le projet, écrivez-nous à Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquez « Pont tournant du chemin Brighton » en objet.