Progress on the Brighton Road Swing Bridge Project

Parks Canada continues to reduce bridge swings at the Carrying Place Swing Bridge to approximately 3-4 swings per hour to alleviate some vehicular congestion during the busy summer season. Boaters should expect an increased wait time at this bridge.

Work continues at the Brighton Road Swing Bridge replacement – as concrete structures have been poured, the site is beginning to take shape. Throughout the nights between August 12 and 15 the contractor completed a specialized waterproofing operation on the bridge deck. Shop testing and field installation of mechanical and electrical systems is ongoing, and paving of the bridge is forecasted in the next week. This will be followed by the paving of the bridge approaches, installation of approach railings, bridge balancing, and finally the commissioning of mechanical and electrical systems. More information will be provided as it becomes available. 

Brighton Road Swing Bridge southern road abutment and operator’s kiosk

About the project

The Brighton Road Swing Bridge spans the Murray Canal on County Road 64, connecting Prince Edward County and the Municipality of Quinte West. The bridge is being replaced with a new two lane swing bridge that will also have a pedestrian sidewalk, a full highway load rating eliminating the current restrictions for emergency and service vehicles, and upgraded mechanical and electrical features. 

To find out more

Parks Canada will continue to provide updates on the work. If you do not currently receive email updates about this work and would like to, please email us at: Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Brighton Road Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. Information on this and other Trent-Severn projects can be found at Parks Canada’s website www.parkscanada.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Avancement des travaux du projet du pont tournant du chemin Brighton

Parcs Canada continue de réduire le mouvement du pont tournant de Carrying Place à environ 3 à 4 pivotements à l’heure, pour réduire la congestion routière pendant la saison estivale achalandée. Les plaisanciers devraient prévoir un temps d’attente supérieur à la normale à ce pont.

Les travaux de remplacement du pont tournant du chemin Brighton se poursuivent : avec le coulage des structures en béton, l’ouvrage commence à prendre forme. Les nuits du 12 au 15 août, l’entrepreneur a réalisé une opération d’imperméabilisation spécialisée sur le tablier du pont. Les essais en atelier et la mise en œuvre sur le terrain des systèmes mécaniques et électriques sont en cours, et l’asphaltage du pont est prévu dans la prochaine semaine. Suivront les travaux d’asphaltage des approches du pont, l’installation des garde-corps d’approche, l’équilibrage du pont et, enfin, la mise en service des systèmes mécaniques et électriques. De plus amples renseignements seront fournis dès qu’ils seront disponibles.
Culée sud du pont tournant du chemin Brighton et cabine de l’opérateur

À propos du projet

Le pont tournant du chemin Brighton enjambe le canal Murray sur la route de comté 64 qui relie le comté de Prince Edward à la municipalité de Quinte West. Le projet consiste à remplacer ce pont tournant par un nouveau pont tournant à deux voies avec trottoir et une capacité suffisante pour les véhicules d’urgence et de services qui ne pouvaient emprunter l’ancien pont, ainsi que l’amélioration des systèmes mécaniques et électriques.

Pour en savoir plus

Parcs Canada continuera de tenir le public au courant du déroulement des travaux. Si vous souhaitez recevoir par courriel des renseignements sur le projet, écrivez-nous à : Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquez « Pont tournant du chemin Brighton » en objet. Pour un complément d’information au sujet de ce projet et d’autres projets dans la voie navigable Trent-Severn, consultez le site Internet de Parcs Canada : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/infrastructure.