Brighton Road Swing Bridge Replacement 

Spanning the Murray Canal, the Brighton Swing Bridge is being replaced by Parks Canada with one that has a full highway load rating and no restrictions for emergency and service vehicles. Additional investments have enabled Parks Canada to upgrade the current bridge to a two lane structure. The new bridge will allow the simultaneous flow of traffic in both directions and will meet current highway load standards, meaning the existing load restrictions will be removed once the project is complete.


Trenton Dam 1 Replacement

Trenton Dam 1 was constructed in 1913, and has had very little intervention since that time. The dam is comprised of 18 bays, is 222 metres in length and is operated with a total of 186 logs. This project to replace the dam will improve public safety at this site, enhance operations and improve water management capabilities.

All projects in this area will include recommended environmental mitigation measures resulting from a multi-organization committee that has examined Species at Risk habitat including Channel Darter.  


Glen Miller Dam 3 and Lock 3 Replacement 

The Glen Miller Dam 3 was built in 1910 will be replaced over the next two years. The downstream dam-side embankment at Glen Miller Lock 3 will be rehabilitated to control erosion.

March 14, 2019 - Community Update: Site Preparation 


Frankford Dam 6 at Lock 6 Rehabilitation

Frankford Dam 6 will undergo a rehabilitation which will improve the overall operational reliability of the dam. Concrete repairs will be undertaken on the retaining walls and work will be done to strengthen and enhance the earth embankments. Additional measures will also be taken to improve the public safety elements of this dam. 

A construction manager and prime consultant have now been hired, and more information regarding a schedule for onsite work will be provided to the public in the coming months. 


Glen Ross Lock 7 and Swing Bridge Rehabilitation

The Glen Ross Swing Bridge and Lock, built in 1909, has undergone rehabilitation. The bridge’s mechanical and electrical drive systems were  replaced and it underwent structural steel repairs, timber deck replacement, and repainting. The bridge was also upgraded from a 15 tonne load limit rating to a level 1 highway load rating. The lock received overall concrete re-facing to improve its condition and the canal approach walls were repaired.


Rehabilitation of Glen Ross Dam 7 Electrical

The Glen Ross Dam 7 will undergo upgrades to the electrical system to improve the operation and reliability of the mechanical gates, thereby improving water management capabilities.


Southern Sector Concrete Rehabilitation

Project description: Concrete repairs are required on various dams, walls and other concrete structures. These structures include: the breakwater at Trenton Lock 1, the lock and canal walls at Healey Falls, the canal and lock walls at Hagues Reach Lock 10, the lock walls at Percy Reach Lock 8, and the lock walls at Meyers Lock 9. Additional miscellaneous structures will also be repaired.


August 22, 2017 - Community Update: Update on Infrastructure Work - Quinte West and Trent Hills (PDF, 546 KB)

More Information: For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates, please contact us at Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Quinte West” in the subject heading, or reference a specific project.

Remplacement du pont tournant du chemin Brighton

Parcs Canada remplace le pont tournant de Brighton, qui enjambe le canal Murray, par un ouvrage pourvu d’une pleine capacité de charge routière et exempt de restrictions pour les véhicules de secours et de service. Grâce à des investissements supplémentaires, il a pu améliorer le pont actuel pour en faire un ouvrage à deux voies, de telle sorte que les véhicules pourront circuler simultanément dans les deux sens. Le nouveau pont répondra aux normes actuelles en matière de charge routière; par conséquent, les restrictions de charge seront éliminées une fois le projet terminé. 


Remplacement du barrage 1 de Trenton

Le barrage 1 de Trenton a été construit en 1913 et a subi très peu de changements depuis. Il comporte 18 segments, mesure 222 m de longueur et fonctionne au moyen de 186 batardeaux. Ce projet de remplacement du barrage améliorera la sécurité publique sur le site, les opérations.

Tous les projets entrepris dans ce secteur tiendront compte des mesures d’atténuation des effets sur l’environnement recommandées par le comité multiorganisationnel qui s’est penché sur l’habitat des espèces en péril, y compris le fouille-roche gris.


Remplacement du barrage 3 et de l’écluse 3 de Glen Miller

Construit en 1910, le barrage 3 de Glen Miller sera remplacé au cours des deux prochaines années. Afin d’en prévenir l’érosion, la digue du barrage en aval de l’écluse 3 de Glen Miller sera remise en état.

14 mars 2019Bulletin de la collectivité: Préparation du chantier


Réhabilitation du barrage Frankford 6 à l’écluse 6

Le barrage Frankford 6 fera l’objet d’une réhabilitation qui permettra d’améliorer la fiabilité opérationnelle globale du barrage. La réfection du béton sera entreprise sur les murs de retenue et des travaux seront réalisés dans le but de renforcer et d’améliorer les remblais de terre. Des mesures supplémentaires seront également prises afin d’améliorer les éléments liés à la sécurité publique du barrage.

Un gestionnaire de la construction et un expert-conseil principal ont maintenant été embauchés. On fournira au public de plus amples renseignements quant à l’échéancier des travaux sur les lieux au cours des mois à venir. 


Réfection de l’écluse 7 et du pont tournant de Glen Ross

Le pont tournant et l’écluse de Glen Ross, construits en 1909, ont fait l’objet d’une réfection. Les systèmes d’entraînement mécanique et électrique du pont ont été remplacés, la structure d’acier a été réparée, le tablier de bois a été remplacé, et l’ouvrage a été repeint. Le pont a aussi fait l’objet d’une mise à niveau, passant d’une limite de charge de quinze tonnes à une capacité de charge routière de niveau 1. Quant à l’écluse, son revêtement de béton a été entièrement refait pour améliorer son état, et les murs de guidage du canal ont été réparés.


Réhabilitation du barrage électrique 7 de Glen Ross

Le barrage 7 de Glen Ross fera l’objet de mises au point du système électrique afin d’améliorer le fonctionnement et la fiabilité des portes mécaniques, améliorant ainsi les capacités de gestion de l’eau.


Réhabilitation du béton (secteur sud)

La réfection du béton est nécessaire pour plusieurs barrages, murs et autres structures. Ces structures comprennent : le brise-lames à l’écluse 1 à Trenton, l’écluse et les murs du canal à Healy Falls, le canal et les murs de l’écluse 10 à Hagues Rach, les murs de l’écluse 8 à Percy Reach et les murs de l’écluse 9 à Meyers. D’autres structures diverses seront également réparées.


Le 22 août 2017- Bulletin communautaire : Mise à jour sur les travaux d’infrastructure - Quinte West et Trent Hills (PDF,  334 Ko) 

Renseignements supplémentaires : Pour toute question ou préoccupation, ou pour recevoir ces courriels, veuillez communiquer avec nous à Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca en inscrivant « Quinte West » dans l’objet du courriel ou faites référence à un projet particulier.