Scotts Mills Dam Replacement | Peterborough

The Scotts Mills Dam at Lock 19 will be fully replaced with a new dam that respects the historic look of the site and has a life expectancy of more than 80 years. The new dam will optimize hydraulic capacity, increase the safety of water management operations, and be constructed in a way that allows improved access for maintenance activities. In addition, the project will be the first step in creating a more public friendly lock site, with pedestrian access onto the dam itself restored.


Maria Street Swing Bridge Rehabilitation | Peterborough

Rehabilitation work will include the replacement of structural members, upgrading of components and repainting of the bridge structure.


Comprehensive Inspection of Peterborough Lift Lock | Peterborough

The Peterborough Lift Lock is a national historic site in its own right and an iconic feature along the Trent-Severn Waterway. More than 110 years old, this concrete structure now requires a comprehensive investigation similar to those mandated for all Parks Canada bridges and dams. This type of inspection will identify deficiencies, urgent repairs and long-term work needed to ensure the continued safe and sustainable operation of this engineering marvel.

May 18, 2016 - Temporary Road Closure - Peterborough Lift Lock Tunnel


Earth Dam Repairs | Peterborough

Public safety is a priority for Parks Canada. As such, work is being done to rehabilitate and strengthen earth dams in the Peterborough area. Earth dams are vital for flood mitigation and therefore the safety of visitors, residents, and property.

In order to rehabilitate and strengthen these dams, washouts have been repaired, dam heights have been increased where necessary, and vegetation has been removed. 


Rehabilitation of McFarlane Street Bridge | Peterborough

The McFarlane Street Bridge, built in 1896 and replaced in 1962, has undergone a comprehensive inspection, including an assessment of the bridge’s substructure, concrete, embankments and guardrails.Necessary repairs have now been completed.

July 7, 2017 - Info-Work: Temporary Road Closure – McFarlane Street Bridge (PDF, 85 KB)


Warsaw Road Swing Bridge Replacement | Peterborough

The Warsaw Road Swing Bridge was originally constructed in 1956, and is a twin to the Maria St. Swing Bridge (also in the City of Peterborough). It is approximately 31 metres long and has been prioritized for replacement.


Nassau Guard Gate Replacement | Peterborough

The Nassau Guard Gate at the top of the Otonabee River is 70 years old and currently inoperable. Through this project, it will be replaced with a new structure immediately north of Nassau Mills road that will serve as a protective feature to manage high water events in the Peterborough area.


Nassau Lock 22 Concrete Repairs | Peterborough

In spring 2017, the reconstruction of the lower lock approach walls and rehabilitation of the abutments was completed at Nassau Lock 22. 


Otonabee Dam at Lock 23 Replacement| Peterborough

This project will entail the full replacement of the dam. This work will eliminate leakage, reduce response time and increase the safety of water management operations. 


More Information

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates, please contact us at Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca. Please include “City of Peterborough” in the subject heading, or reference a specific project.

Remplacement du barrage Scotts Mills | Peterborough

Le barrage de Scotts Mills, à l’écluse 19 sera donc entièrement remplacé par un nouveau barrage, qui respectera l’aspect historique de l’endroit et dont la durée de vie sera de plus de 80 ans. Le nouvel ouvrage optimisera la capacité hydraulique, améliorera la sécurité des opérations de gestion de l’eau et sera construit de manière à faciliter l’accès aux fins d’entretien. De plus, le projet sera la première étape d’un plan visant à rendre le site plus accueillant pour le public; le barrage lui-même sera d’ailleurs accessible aux piétons.


Réhabilitation du pont de la rue Maria | Peterborough

Ce projet vise la réhabilitation du pont, laquelle comprend le remplacement d’éléments structuraux, la rénovation de composantes et l’application d’une nouvelle peinture sur la structure du pont.


Écluse-ascenseur de Peterborough | Peterborough

L’écluse-ascenseur de Peterborough est un lieu historique national du Canada et une caractéristique emblématique de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Après avoir réalisé un examen détaillé de cet ouvrage, on procédera au remplacement et au réalignement de certains composants qui retiennent le bac et on rétablira leur étanchéité. Les travaux comprennent aussi des réparations du béton à l’entrée au bief supérieur, des améliorations mécaniques et le remplacement de l’ascenseur. Dans l’ensemble, ce projet permettra d’assurer la durabilité de l’écluse-ascenseur de Peterborough et d’augmenter la sécurité générale tant des éclusiers que des visiteurs.


Réfection des barrages en terre | Peterborough

La sécurité du public est une priorité pour Parcs Canada. C’est pourquoi ces travaux sont réalisés afin de réhabiliter et de renforcer les barrages en terre dans la région de Peterborough. Les barrages en terre sont essentiels pour contenir les inondations et, de ce fait, assurer la sécurité des visiteurs, des résidants et des propriétés.

Afin de réhabiliter et de renforcer ces barrages, les zones d’affouillement ont été réparées, les barrages ont été surélevés au besoin, et la végétation a été enlevée.


Réhabilitation du pont de la rue McFarlane | Peterborough

Le pont de la rue McFarlane, construit en 1896 et remplacé en 1962, a fait l’objet d’une inspection complète, y compris d’une évaluation de la sous-structure du pont, du béton, des remblais et des garde-corps. Les réparations nécessaires sont maintenant terminées.

Le 7 juillet 2017 - Info-travaux: Fermeture temporaire du pont de la rue McFarlane (PDF, 87 Ko)


Remplacement du pont tournant du chemin Warsaw | Peterborough

Le pont tournant du chemin Warsaw a été construit en 1956, et il est identique au pont tournant de la rue Maria (également à Peterborough). Il fait environ 31 mètres de long et son remplacement a été jugé prioritaire.


Remplacement de la vanne de garde du barrage de Nassau

Actuellement hors d’usage, la vanne de garde du barrage de Nassau située à l’embouchure de la rivière Otonabee date de 70 ans. La vanne doit être remplacée par une nouvelle structure immédiatement au nord du chemin Nassau Mills qui servira au contrôle des eaux afin de prévenir les inondations dans la région de Peterborough.


Réparation du béton de l'écluse 22 de Nassau | Peterborough

Au printemps 2017, la reconstruction des murs d'approche de l'écluse inférieure et la réhabilitation des culées ont été achevées à l'écluse 22 de Nassau.


Remplacement du barrage d’Otonabee à l’écluse 23 | Peterborough

Ce projet vise le remplacement complet du barrage. Ces travaux permettront d’éliminer les fuites, de réduire les délais d’intervention et d’augmenter la sécurité des opérations de gestion des eaux.


Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour toute question ou préoccupation, ou pour recevoir ces courriels, veuillez communiquer avec nous à Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca en inscrivant « Ville de Peterborough » dans l’objet du courriel ou faites référence à un projet particulier.