July 14, 2021, Peterborough, ON – Parks Canada regrets to inform the public that a temporary operating solution at the Bobcaygeon Swing Bridge, as had been suggested in previous communications, will not be possible this summer. Parks Canada was recently advised that the contractor is unable to provide adequate substantiation, as required under their contract, that key mechanical components involved in rotating the bridge meet industry safety and quality standards. As such, Parks Canada will not allow the installation of these components, and has instructed that they be re-fabricated.

Construction Project Information

  • The bridge is estimated to re-open for vehicular traffic in December 2021, with final swing commissioning and landscaping taking place in spring 2022. Questions & Answers related to this delay and the project in general can be found at www.pc.gc.ca/tswKawarthaLakes.
  • Areas currently fenced due to construction will remain so until construction is completed. Please follow onsite signage for safe access to and from the lower north island mooring area.
  • Enhancements have been completed on the upstream lock gate that enable a temporary canal crossing to and from the downtown core for most personal transportation devices (scooters, wheelchairs, walkers, etc). Enhancements consist of widening the lock gate, adding temporary ramps, and modifying the approaches. Modifications to the lock gate will not affect boat navigation.
  • To subscribe to receive updates about the project, contact pc.trentsevern.pc@canada.ca.


The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Please obey lock staff regarding the safe movement of visitors and pedestrians onsite.

The Government of Canada is investing over $615 million to support infrastructure work on the Trent-Severn Waterway as part of the largest federal infrastructure plan in the history of Parks Canada. For the most up-to-date information regarding our facilities and services, please visit us online at www.pc.gc.ca/trent or follow us on social media @TrentSevernNHS

-30-

Information:

pc.trentsevern.pc@canada.ca

Le 14 juillet 2021, Peterborough (Ontario) – Parcs Canada regrette d’avoir à informer la population qu’il ne sera pas possible de mettre en œuvre, cet été, la solution pour l’exploitation temporaire du pont tournant de Bobcaygeon dont il avait été question dans des communications précédentes. L’Agence a récemment été informée que l’entrepreneur ne pouvait pas fournir les preuves suffisantes, prévues au contrat, que des éléments mécaniques clés nécessaires à la rotation du pont répondent aux normes de sécurité et de qualité de l’industrie. Parcs Canada ne permettra donc pas l’installation de ces éléments et a plutôt demandé qu’ils soient refabriqués.

Renseignements sur le projet de construction

  • Le pont doit rouvrir à la circulation automobile vers décembre 2021; la mise en service définitive du mécanisme de rotation et l’aménagement paysager se feront au printemps 2022. Vous trouverez une foire aux questions sur le retard dans les travaux et sur le projet en général à https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/on/trentsevern/visit/infrastructure/kawartha.
  • Les secteurs qui sont actuellement clôturés en raison des travaux le demeureront jusqu’à ce que tout soit terminé. Assurez-vous de respecter la signalisation sur place pour accéder en toute sécurité à l’aire d’amarrage du bas du nord de l’île.
  • Des améliorations été apportées à la porte d’écluse en amont pour permettre aux gens de franchir temporairement le canal dans les deux sens, tout en utilisant au besoin la plupart des appareils de transport personnel (scooters électriques, fauteuils roulants, déambulateurs, etc.). On a élargi la porte de l’écluse, ajouté des rampes d’accès temporaires et modifié les approches. Tout cela ne nuira pas à la navigation.
  • Pour recevoir des nouvelles du projet, inscrivez-vous à notre liste de distribution en écrivant à pc.trentsevern.pc@canada.ca.

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada sont la priorité de l’Agence. Veuillez obéir aux instructions des employés qui voient à ce que les visiteurs et les piétons puissent franchir l’écluse en toute sécurité.

Le gouvernement du Canada investit plus de 615 millions de dollars pour appuyer les travaux d’infrastructure le long de la voie navigable Trent-Severn dans le cadre du plus important plan d’infrastructure fédéral de l’histoire de Parcs Canada. Pour obtenir de l’information à jour concernant nos installations et nos services, consultez notre site Web à www.pc.gc.ca/trent ou suivez-nous dans les médias sociaux @LHNTrentSevern.

-30-

Renseignements

pc.trentsevern.pc@canada.ca