This project has been earmarked for future consideration and will include the development of a design concept and architectural plan as well construction of a renewed lockstation building. Preliminary work has been conducted that will guide the design of a new building that will better fulfil operational needs. The final design concept will honour the history of the site and provide a more suitable space for visitors.

In June 2016, members of the Fenelon Falls business community and community groups, representatives from both the City of Kawartha Lakes and Parks Canada participated in a workshop to gain common insight regarding the Fenelon Falls lockstation site. As the project to renew the lock control building progresses, Parks Canada will engage with the community again, and provide updates on the status of this important project.

Interior of the Fenelon Falls Lock 34 lock chamber, looking down into the lock from the upstream West gates, at the downstream East side of the lock. Blue downstream gates are visible, as well as lock operating building and roadway.
Fenelon Falls Lock 34 de-watered (2016)

For More Information

For more information about the Trent-Severn Waterway Historic Site, contact us at Ont.Trentsevern@pc.gc.ca or follow us on Facebook and Twitter @TrentSevernNHS.

Communications

November 28, 2017 -Community Update: Lower Gate Painting 
February 15, 2016 - Fenelon Falls Lock 34 Investment
January 28, 2016 - Fenelon Falls Lock 34 Investment

Village de Fenelon Falls

Ce projet, réservé à des fins de considération future, comprendra l’élaboration d’un plan conceptuel et d’un plan architectural ainsi que la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment pour le poste d’éclusage. Des travaux préliminaires ont été réalisés pour orienter la conception du nouveau bâtiment afin qu’il réponde mieux aux besoins opérationnels. Le plan conceptuel définitif mettra en valeur l’histoire de l’écluse et facilitera l’aménagement d’un espace convenant mieux aux visiteurs. 

En juin 2016, des gens d’affaires et des membres de groupes communautaires de Fenelon Falls, des représentants de la ville de Kawartha Lakes et des membres de l’équipe de Parcs Canada ont participé à un atelier qui leur a tous permis d’obtenir les mêmes renseignements sur le poste d’éclusage de Fenelon Falls. À mesure que progresseront les travaux de renouvellement du bâtiment de commande de l’écluse, Parcs Canada communiquera de nouveau avec la collectivité pour faire le point sur l’état d’avancement de cet important projet.

Interior of the Fenelon Falls Lock 34 lock chamber, looking down into the lock from the upstream West gates, at the downstream East side of the lock. Blue downstream gates are visible, as well as lock operating building and roadway.
L’écluse 34 de Fenelon Falls à sec (2016)

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur les travaux d’infrastructure de Parcs Canada dans la région, visitez Fenelon Falls site web.

Si vous avez des questions à propos du pont tournant de Glen Ross, ou si vous désirez recevoir par courriel des mises à jour sur le projet, envoyez-nous un courriel àOnt.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez « Écluse 25 du ruisseau Sawer » à la rubrique Objet

Communications

Le 28 novembre 2017 - Bulletin de la collectivité : Peinture des portes inférieures 
Le 15 février 2016
- Investissement visant l’écluse no 34 à Fenelon Falls
Le 28 janvier 2016 - Investissement visant l'écluse no 34 à Fenelon Falls