Work has begun on the construction of a hydro generating facility at Parks Canada’s Norland Dam in the City of Kawartha Lakes. This work is as a result of Parks Canada's issuance of a license in 2014 to Timber Run Hydropower Corporation for the production of electricity at this site.

The project in Norland will replace one of the sluiceways of the dam with a power house, and a bypass gate that will help to maintain water levels. An access driveway will be constructed to access the power house, and a canoe portage path will also be created. 

Concept drawing.

Residents will notice a slight increase in construction vehicle traffic to the Norland Dam, and minor noise normally associated with construction work. There will be net zero change to upstream and downstream water levels as a result of this hydro generating project.

Parks Canada reviews applications for water power development along both the Rideau Canal and the Trent-Severn Waterway. In addition to this project, and as a part of a business relationship between Parks Canada and the Ontario Waterpower Industry, the availability of new locations for potential development was announced in 2014.

The process to permit, license, and generate electricity through water power is extensive and ensures that the needs of the Parks Canada Agency, the Province of Ontario, the environment, the water power industry and ultimately, the Canadian public, are met.

Les travaux de construction d’une centrale hydroélectrique sont entamés au barrage Norland, dans la localité de Kawartha Lakes. Ces travaux s’inscrivent dans un permis que Parcs Canada a délivré à la Timber Run Hydropower Corporation en 2014 pour la production d’électricité à cet endroit.

Le projet du barrage Norland consiste à remplacer l’une des conduites forcées du barrage par une centrale hydroélectrique et par une vanne de dérivation qui aidera à maintenir les niveaux d’eau. Une voie d’accès qui mène à la centrale sera aménagée, ainsi qu’un sentier permettant le portage d’un canot.

Dessin de conception.

Les résidents remarqueront une légère augmentation de la circulation des véhicules de construction au barrage Norland et du bruit léger normalement associé aux travaux de construction. Il n’y aura aucun changement net aux niveaux d’eau en amont et en aval par suite de ce projet d’aménagement hydroélectrique.

Parcs Canada examine les demandes d’aménagement hydroélectrique le long du canal Rideau et de la voie navigable Trent–Severn. En outre, dans le cadre d’une relation d’affaires qu’il entretient avec l’industrie de la production d’électricité de l’Ontario, il a annoncé la mise à disposition de nouveaux emplacements pour d’éventuels projets d’aménagement en 2014.

Le processus de délivrance de permis et de production d’hydroélectricité est rigoureux et permet de répondre aux besoins de l’Agence Parcs Canada, du gouvernement de l’Ontario, de l’environnement, de l’industrie de la production d’hydroélectricité et, en définitive, de toute la population canadienne.

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur les travaux de construction ou le rôle de Parcs Canada dans l’aménagement de la centrale hydroélectrique le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn, veuillez consulter le site Web www.pc.gc.ca/trent, ou envoyer un courriel à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca.