Coboconk Dam  

The Government of Canada has announced more than $600 million of work on infrastructure across the Trent-Severn Waterway and its reservoir lakes. As a part of this historic re-investment, major work has been proposed to rehabilitate the Coboconk Dam. The construction contract for this project has now been tendered, with an anticipated award date within 3-4 weeks. Construction will potentially begin in August 2018.

Dams play an integral role in water management within the Trent-Severn system and therefore are essential for public safety. The Coboconk Dam rehabilitation project will involve the replacement of the concrete deck and repairs to the dam’s structure, as well as the replacement of guard railings. Overall, this rehabilitation project will ensure that the dam is reliable,
functional, meets current safety codes and standards, and that its water management capabilities are optimized.

During construction, intermittent machinery noise and increased truck traffic can be expected as a part of the project. Water management capabilities and water levels will not be affected during the course of construction. Further, the project will be conducted in a way that minimizes the in-water footprint.

About the Coboconk Dam

The Coboconk Dam was built in 1939. It is located in the cottage community of Coboconk, at the outlet of the Silver and Shadow Lake system leading into Balsam Lake. Silver and Shadow Lakes are a part of the Gull River reservoir system, and this dam is the point where that system meets the Trent-Severn Waterway. Balsam Lake is the highest point on the Trent-Severn Waterway, and the highest freshwater point from which one can circumnavigate the globe in North America.

For More Information:

Updates about this project will be provided via e-mail. To join our communication distribution, or for  questions or concerns, , please contact us at Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Coboconk Dam” in the subject heading.

For up-to-date news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/TSWKawarthaLakes.

Coboconk Dam

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé l’octroi de plus de 600 millions de dollars pour des travaux d’infrastructure sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn et ses lacs réservoirs. Dans le cadre de cet investissement sans précédent, on a proposé de réhabiliter le barrage de Coboconk. Le contrat de construction de ce projet a fait l’objet d’un appel d’offres, et l’adjudication du contrat devrait avoir lieu d’ici trois à quatre semaines. La construction pourrait débuter en août 2018.

Les barrages jouent un rôle essentiel dans la gestion des eaux de la voie navigable Trent-Severn et sont donc essentiels à la sécurité publique. La réhabilitation du barrage de Coboconk comprendra le remplacement du tablier en béton et des réparations à la structure du barrage, ainsi que le remplacement des garde-corps. Globalement, les travaux réalisés dans le cadre du
projet permettront de s’assurer que le barrage est fiable, fonctionnel et conforme aux normes et aux codes de sécurité et que ses capacités de gestion de l’eau sont optimisées.

Lors des travaux dans le cadre du projet, il devrait y avoir des bruits de machinerie intermittents et une augmentation du passage des camions. La capacité de gestion des eaux et le niveau d’eau ne seront pas touchés pendant les travaux. De plus, le projet sera mené de façon à réduire au minimum les travaux à effectuer dans l’eau.

À propos du barrage de Coboconk 

Le barrage de Coboconk a été construit en 1939. Il est situé dans la collectivité de chalets de Coboconk, à la décharge du réseau des lacs Silver et Shadow vers le lac Balsam. Les lacs Silver et Shadow font partie des réservoirs de la rivière Gull et ce barrage est situé à un point où les réservoirs rejoignent la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Le lac Balsam est le point le plus élevé de la voie navigable Trent-Severn, et le point d’eau douce le plus élevé à partir duquel on peut naviguer autour du monde en Amérique du Nord.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Des mises à jour concernant le projet seront fournies par courriel. Pour vous inscrire à la liste de diffusion ou pour nous faire part de questions ou de préoccupations, écrivez-nous à l’adresse Ont.TrentSevern@pc.gc.ca et indiquez « Barrage de Coboconk » dans l’objet du courriel. 

Pour obtenir les plus récentes nouvelles sur ce projet ou sur d’autres projets d’infrastructure dans votre région, veuillez consulter le site Web : www.pc.gc.ca/VNTSKawarthaLakes