February 09, 2022, Bobcaygeon, Ontario – Parks Canada advises that the re-opening of the Bobcaygeon Swing Bridge has been delayed until Fall 2022. Parks Canada was recently informed by the contractor that progress on the refabrication of the mechanical components for the Bridge has been slower than expected and has resulted in further delays to the rehabilitation project schedule.

Lock 32 is expected to be operational for the start of the 2022 Navigation Season and the enhanced pedestrian access over the upper lock gates and its access paths will continue to remain open until the bridge project has been completed.

Over the next few months, the electric and hydraulic work associated with the lock will be carried out and completed in time for the Navigation Season.

Design and refabrication of the mechanical components for the bridge continues offsite. The components are expected to arrive on location through the spring and summer 2022 at which time they will be installed. Once installation of the components has begun, the remainder of the bridge work will be able to continue with an expected completion in late summer/early fall and bridge reopening scheduled for fall 2022 once testing has been completed.

This work is not expected to impede boat navigation.

Parks Canada is working closely with the Contractor to bring the project to its completion. Further updates will be provided as new information becomes available. The Bobcaygeon Swing Bridge project is part of the Government of Canada’s Federal Infrastructure Investment program. Parks Canada is leading this important infrastructure work to ensure safe, high-quality experiences for visitors by improving heritage, visitor, waterway, and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas, including along the Trent-Severn Waterway National Historic Site. We appreciate your patience while we undertake these important investments into the infrastructure in Bobcaygeon.

More Information

For questions or concerns, or to receive email updates regarding this project, please contact us at trentsevern@pc.gc.ca and include “Bobcaygeon Swing Bridge” in the subject heading. For news about this or other infrastructure projects in your area, or for Questions and Answers on this project, please visit www.pc.gc.ca/tswInfrastructure.

Bobcaygeon (Ontario), le 9 février 2022 – L’Agence Parcs Canada annonce que la réouverture du pont tournant Bobcaygeon a été reportée à l’automne 2022. L’Agence a appris dernièrement de l’entrepreneur que la refabrication des éléments mécaniques progresse plus lentement que prévu. Par conséquent, le calendrier du projet de restauration a connu des retards.

L’écluse 32 devrait être en service dès le début de la saison de navigation 2022, et le passage piétonnier amélioré au-dessus des portes en amont, de même que les voies d’accès y menant, restera ouvert jusqu’à ce que le projet de pont soit terminé.

Dans les mois à venir, les travaux électriques et les travaux hydrauliques liés à l’écluse seront effectués et achevés à temps pour la saison de navigation. Le travail nécessaire à la conception et à la refabrication des éléments mécaniques du pont se poursuit hors chantier. Ces éléments seront installés dès leur réception, prévue pour le printemps ou l’été de 2022. Une fois l’installation des éléments entamée, il sera possible d’exécuter le reste des travaux dont l’achèvement est prévu pour la fin de l’été ou le début de l’automne. Par la suite, le pont devrait rouvrir au cours de l’automne 2022, une fois les essais terminés. Les travaux ne devraient pas entraver la navigation des bateaux.

Parcs Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’entrepreneur pour mener le projet à terme. Les nouvelles informations à jour seront communiquées à mesure qu’elles seront accessibles.

Le projet du pont tournant de Bobcaygeon s’inscrit dans le Programme d’investissement dans les infrastructures fédérales du gouvernement du Canada. Parcs Canada dirige ces importants travaux d’infrastructure qui visent à améliorer les biens patrimoniaux, les installations d’accueil des visiteurs, les voies navigables et les routes des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines de conservation nationale, y compris ceux du lieu historique national de la Voie-Navigable-Trent-Severn, afin de permettre aux visiteurs de vivre des expériences de qualité en toute sécurité. Nous vous remercions de votre patience pendant l’exécution de ces travaux ayant pu être entrepris grâce aux importants investissements dans l’infrastructure à Bobcaygeon.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations concernant le projet, ou si vous souhaitez recevoir des informations à jour par courriel, veuillez nous écrire à l’adresse trentsevern@pc.gc.ca en prenant soin d’indiquer « Pont tournant de Bobcaygeon » en objet. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ce projet ou d’autres projets d’infrastructure dans votre région, ou pour lire les questions et réponses relatives à ce projet, veuillez consulter la page www.pc.gc.ca/vntsInfrastructure.