Replacement of Horseshoe Lake Dam | Minden Hills  

The Horseshoe Lake Dam will be fully replaced with a new dam that respects the historic look of the site and has a life expectancy of more than 80 years. The new dam will include improvements to the physical condition and stability of the dam, its hydraulic capacity, public and operator safety, site access, and mechanical equipment. 


Kennisis Lake Dam Replacement | North of West Guilford, municipality of Haliburton Highlands

The Kennisis Lake Dam was originally constructed in 1873, and was fully replaced in 2015/2016. The new Kennisis Lake Dam is expected to have an estimated lifespan of 80-100 years.  

December 6, 2016 - Community Update: Kennisis Lake Dam - Additional Work at Site (PDF, 301 KB)
May 20, 2016
- Update: Work at Kennisis Lake Dam
May 13, 2016 - Work at Kennisis Lake Dam


Replacement of Twelve Mile Lake Dam | Minden Hills

Parks Canada will replace the Twelve Mile Lake Dam with one that improves both public safety and operator efficiency. The replacement will include shifting the spillways eastward to enhance the dam’s capacity to pass water, improvements to its abutments and surrounding embankments, new guardrails, safety booms, and increased signage. 


Rehabilitation or replacement of Long Lake Dam | Dysart et al

Long Lake Dam will undergo a major rehabilitation or replacement. The project will include concrete repairs along the dam and the wingwalls and other repairs, as will be identified through further investigation. In addition, enhancements to public safety will be undertaken through the installation of such measures as improved guard rails, increased signage, safety booms and metal gain covers.


Rehabilitation of Drag Lake Dams | Dysart et al

The Drag Lake Dams include two concrete dams (north and south) on both sides of a small island, each with extended concrete wing walls branching off of both sides of the operable sluice. A project was completed in 2017 / 2018 to rehabilitate the concrete of the northern dam’s main structure and wing walls. The work also included enhancements to public safety through the installation of safer guard rails, increased signage, safety booms and metal gain covers. 


Rehabilitation or replacement of Elliot Falls Dam | Municipality of Haliburton Highlands

Elliot Falls Dam will undergo a major rehabilitation or replacement. The project will include concrete repairs and other repairs, as will be identified through further investigation. Mechanization is being considered for the Elliot Falls Dam to further enhance water management capabilities. In addition, enhancements to public safety will be undertaken through the installation of such measures as improved guard rails, increased signage, safety booms and metal gain covers.

October 3, 2016 - Investigative Drilling at Elliot Falls Dam


Rehabilitation or replacement of Esson Lake Dam | Municipality of Haliburton Highlands

Esson Lake Dam will undergo a major rehabilitation or replacement. The project will include concrete repairs on the dam, abutments and wingwalls and other repairs, as will be identified through further investigation. In addition, enhancements to public safety will be undertaken through the installation of such measures as improved guard rails, increased signage, safety booms and metal gain covers.


Rehabilitation or replacement of Canning Lake Dam | Minden Hills

Canning Lake Dam will undergo a major rehabilitation or replacement. The project will include concrete repairs on the dam, abutments and wingwalls and other repairs, as will be identified through further investigation. In addition, enhancements to public safety will be undertaken through the installation of such measures as improved guard rails, increased signage, safety booms and metal gain covers.


Replacement of Red Pine Dam | Dysart et al

The current Red Pine Dam is constructed using timber cribbing in a style of construction that was common up until the late 1800s. This project will undertake a full replacement of the dam with one that is of concrete construction, and comprised of two sluices for optimization of water management capabilities at this location.


Rehabilitation of Kushog Lake Dam | Algonquin Highlands

The Kushog Lake Dam will undergo a rehabilitation. The project will include concrete repairs along the dam and the culvert passing beneath the roadway bridge. Further investigation is required to determine the full extent of work that is required. In addition, enhancements to public safety will be undertaken through the installation of such measures as improved guard rails, increased signage, safety booms and metal gain covers.


Haliburton Sector Concrete Rehabilitation (Various Dams)

Concrete rehabilitation will be completed on 17 dams throughout the Haliburton sector of the Trent-Severn Waterway including: Halls Lake, Big Hawk Lake, Little Brother Lake, Big Bob Lake, Little Bob Lake, Gull Lake (both Dam 1 and 2), Drag Lake (North and South), Loon Lake, White Lake, Percy Lake, Gooderham Lake, Oblong Lake, Redstone Lake (the East dam), Moore Lake (the Norland Dam), Jacks Lake and Eagle (Moose) Lake, as well as the Scotts Mills Dam on the Mississagua River.

November 1, 2017 - Community Update: Upcoming Work at Site(503 KB)
June 28, 2017
- Info-Work: Pedestrian Bridge at Buttermilk Falls to be Closed (82.2 KB)
May 29, 2017 - Community Update: Installation of Dam Railings (PDF, 347 KB)
March 30, 2017 - Community Update: Update on Repairs (PDF, 325 KB)
January 10, 2017 - Community Update: Loon Lake Dam - Repair Work Progressing Well (PDF, 436 KB)

Remplacement du barrage du lac Horseshoe | Minden Hills

Le barrage du lac Horseshoe sera entièrement remplacé par un nouveau barrage, qui respectera l’aspect historique de l’endroit et dont la durée de vie sera de plus de 80 ans. Le nouveau barrage comprendra des améliorations visant l’état physique et la stabilité du barrage, sa capacité hydraulique, la sécurité du public et des opérateurs, l’accès au lieu et l’équipement mécanique.


Remplacement du barrage du lac Kennisis | Nord de West Guilford, municipalité de Haliburton Highlands 

Le barrage du lac Kennisis a été construit en 1873 et entièrement remplacé en 2015-2016. Le nouveau barrage du lac Kennisis devrait avoir une durée de vie de 80 à 100 ans.

Le 6 décembre 2016 - Mise-à-jour communautaire : Barrage du lac Kennisis - Nouveaux travaux au lieu historique (PDF, 325 Ko)
Le 20 mai 2016
- Le point sur les travaux au barrage du lac Kennisis
Le 13 mai 2016 - Travaux effectués au barrage du lac Kennisis


Remplacement du barrage du Lac Twelve Mile | Minden Hills

Parcs Canada remplacera le barrage du lac Twelve Mile par un nouvel ouvrage qui permettra d’améliorer la sécurité du public et l’efficacité opérationnelle. Les travaux comprendront le déplacement des déversoirs vers l’est en vue d’améliorer la capacité du barrage à laisser passer l’eau, des améliorations aux culées et aux digues environnantes, ainsi que l’installation de nouveaux garde-corps, d’estacades de sécurité et d’un nombre accru d’affiches.


Réhabilitation ou remplacement du barrage du lac Long | Dysart et al

Le barrage du lac Long fera l’objet d’une réhabilitation majeure ou d’un remplacement. Le projet comprendra la réfection du béton le long du barrage et des murs ainsi que d’autres réparations, qui seront déterminées au moyen d’une inspection plus approfondie. De plus, l’amélioration de la sécurité publique sera entreprise au moyen de l’installation de mesures comme des rampes améliorées, plus de panneaux de signalisation, des estacades de sécurité et des couvertures de métal.


Réfection des barrages du lac Drag | Dysart et al

Les barrages du lac Drag comprennent deux barrages en béton (nord et sud) des deux côtés d’un petit îlot, chacun avec des murs en ailes en béton allongées se ramifiant des deux côtés de l’écluse fonctionnelle. Un projet a été achevé en 2017-2018 pour remettre en état le béton de la structure principale et des murs en ailes du barrage nord. Les travaux comprenaient également l’amélioration de la sécurité publique grâce à l’installation de glissières de sécurité plus sûres, d’une signalisation accrue, de barrières de sécurité et de couvercles métalliques de gain.


Réhabilitation ou remplacement du barrage d’Elliot Falls | Haliburton Highlands

Le barrage d’Elliot Falls fera l’objet d’une réhabilitation majeure ou d’un remplacement. Le projet comprendra la réfection du béton et d’autres réparations, qui seront déterminées au moyen d’une inspection plus approfondie. La mécanisation est envisagée pour le barrage de Elliot Falls afin d’améliorer encore plus les capacités de gestion de l’eau. De plus, l’amélioration de la sécurité publique sera entreprise au moyen de l’installation de mesures comme des rampes améliorées, plus de panneaux de signalisation, des estacades de sécurité et des couvertures de métal.

Le 3 octobre 2016 - Forage exploratoire au barrage des chutes Elliot


Réhabilitation ou remplacement du barrage du lac Esson | Haliburton Highlands

Le barrage du lac Esson fera l’objet d’une réhabilitation majeure ou d’un remplacement. Le projet comprendra des réparations apportées au béton, l’amélioration des remblais et des culées ainsi que d’autres réparations, qui seront déterminées au moyen d’une inspection plus approfondie. De plus, l’amélioration de la sécurité publique sera entreprise au moyen de l’installation de mesures comme des rampes améliorées, plus de panneaux de signalisation, des estacades de sécurité et des couvertures de métal.


Réhabilitation ou remplacement du barrage du lac Canning | Minden Hills

Le barrage du lac Canning fera l’objet d’une réhabilitation majeure ou d’un remplacement. Le projet comprendra des réparations apportées au béton, l’amélioration des remblais et des culées ainsi que d’autres réparations, qui seront déterminées au moyen d’une inspection plus approfondie. De plus, l’amélioration de la sécurité publique sera entreprise au moyen de l’installation de mesures comme des rampes améliorées, plus de panneaux de signalisation, des estacades de sécurité et des couvertures de métal.


Réhabilitation ou remplacement du barrage de Red Pine | Dysart et al

Le barrage actuel de Red Pine a été construit à l’aide de caissons de bois selon un style de construction qui était commun jusqu’à la fin des années 1800. Ce projet comprendra un remplacement complet du barrage par un barrage en béton doté de deux vannes pour maximiser les capacités de gestion de l’eau à cet endroit.


Réhabilitation du barrage du lac Kushog | Algonquin Highlands

Le barrage du lac Kushog fera l’objet d’une réhabilitation. Le projet comprendra la réfection du béton le long du barrage et du ponceau passant sous le pont de la chaussée. Une inspection plus approfondie est nécessaire afin de déterminer l’étendue du travail requis. De plus, l’amélioration de la sécurité publique sera entreprise au moyen de l’installation de mesures comme des rampes améliorées, plus de panneaux de signalisation, des estacades de sécurité et des couvertures de métal.


Réhabilitation du béton dans le secteur Haliburton (plusieurs barrages)

Une réfection du béton sera réalisée pour 17 barrages dans le secteur Haliburton de la voie navigable Trent-Severn : lac Halls, lac Big Hawk, lac Little Brother, lac Big Bob, lac Little Bob, lac Gull (barrage 1 et 2), lac Drag (nord et sud), lac Loon, lac White, lac Percy, lac Gooderham, lac Oblong, lac Regstone (le barrage à l’est), lac Moore (le barrage Norland), lac Jacks et lac Eagle (Moose), ainsi que le barrage Scotts Mills sur la rivière Mississauga.

Le 1 novembre 2017 Bulletin de la collectivité : Travaux à venir (PDF, 517 Ko)
Le 28 juin 2017
Info-travaux : Passerelle pour piétons fermée aux chutes Buttermilk (PDF, 88.8 Ko)
Le 29 mai 2017Bulletin de la collectivité : Installation de garde-corps sur des barrages (PDF, 354 Ko)
Le 30 mars 2017 - Bulletin de la collectivité : Le point sur les reparations (PDF, 399 Ko)
Le 10 janvier 2017 - Mise à jour communautaire : Barrage du lac Loon - Les travaux de réfection avancent bien (PDF, 439 Ko)