May 1, 2017 - Community Update: Masonry Work Complete 

Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars over 5 years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the 105-year history of Parks Canada.

As part of this infrastructure work, Lovesick Lock 30 has undergone masonry repairs including pointing, grouting and stone repair and/or replacement. Repairs at the lock began in September 2016 and completed in May 2017. In subsequent years, further review of the approach walls will determine if any concrete repairs are required. These repairs are important for maintaining the structural integrity of Lovesick Lock and enhancing public safety. 

Aerial view of Lovesick Lock 30.

About Lovesick Lock

Originally constructed in the late 1800’s, Lovesick Lock 30 helped allow navigation from Lakefield to Balsam Lake. Lovesick Lock is located on an island and is only accessible by boat. This is a unique feature on this historic waterway.

For More Information

If you have questions about the Lovesick Lock rehabilitation, please contact us at: ont.trentsevern@pc.gc.ca and include "Lovesick Lock" in the subject heading.

Communications

February 9, 2017 - Community Update: Masonry Work Progressing Well 
October 27, 2016
Community Update: Concrete Work to Begin in October 2016
May 9, 2016 - Underwater Core Sampling

Le 1 mai 2017 - Bulletin de la collectivité : Fin des travaux de maçonnerie 

Parcs Canada investit 3 milliards de dollars sur 5 ans dans les biens patrimoniaux, de l’infrastructure touristique, les voies navigables et les routes des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation du pays. Il s’agit du programme d’infrastructure fédéral le plus important des 105 années d’histoire de Parcs Canada.

Dans le cadre des travaux d’infrastructure, des réparations de maçonnerie ont été apportées à l’écluse 30 de Lovesick, y compris le rejointement, l’injection de coulis de ciment, et la réparation ou le remplacement des pierres. Les réparations de l’écluse ont commencé en septembre 2016 et se sont terminées à la fin en mai 2017. Au cours des années qui suivent, on examinera les murs d’approche pour déterminer si des réparations du béton sont nécessaires. Ces réparations sont nécessaires pour garantir l’intégrité de la structure de l’écluse Lovesick et pour améliorer la sécurité du public.

Vue aérienne de l’écluse 30 à Lovesick.

À propos de l’écluse de Lovesick

Construite à l’origine à la fin des années 1800, l’écluse 30 de Lovesick a contribué à permettre la navigation de Lakefield au lac Balsam. L’écluse de Lovesick est située une île et n’est accessible que par bateau. C’est un cas exceptionnel sur cette voie navigable historique.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Si vous avez des questions en ce qui concerne la réhabilitation de l’écluse Lovesick , écrivez-nous à Ont.Trentsevern@pc.gc.ca et inscrivez «Écluse Lovesick» à la ligne «Objet».

Communications

Le 9 février 2017 - Bulletin de la collectivité : Les travaux de maçonnerie avancent bien 
Le 27 octobre 2016
Bulletin de la collectivité : Début des travaux de réparation du béton en octobre 2016
Le 9 mai 2016 - Carottage sous-marin