Please read before proceeding:

The Parks Canada Agency is providing the information on this site under the express stipulation that the accuracy and reliability of the information is not guaranteed or warranted in any way and that Parks Canada Agency, its agents and servants, disclaim liability of any kind whatsoever and cannot be held liable for any damages, including, without limitation, claims, injury, expenses or other costs, or losses of revenue or profit, or indirect, special, incidental or consequential damages attributable to or arising from the use of this information.

The onus is on the individual to verify the accuracy of the data, information, or results obtained through its use and accept that this information cannot be guaranteed.

The information displayed on this site is obtained automatically through land-line transmissions from hydrometric stations operated by Parks Canada within the Trent-Severn Waterway. Data recovered from automated stations will typically be posted every 24 hours. In addition, manual water level readings are also displayed however the data is updated less often as a result of the time required to compile manual readings.

This information is not intended to be used for the purpose of flood warning and/or flood forecasting. If you require information regarding watershed status you should contact your Conservation Authority or local Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources district.

Proceeding beyond this Disclaimer will signify your acceptance of the terms and conditions outlined above.

Interactive map

A tool that shows an instantaneous water level that was measured around 6 am. The tool provides water level data from the last 30 days and a graphic representation for the current year.  The information comes from hydrometric gauges located at key points along both waterways. 

The maximum, minimum and average data sets vary from site to site, but in general extend back to the late 1970s or early 1980s.

Trent-Severn Waterway watersheds


The Trent River basin encompasses some 218 lakes in the Haliburton Highlands region, 37 of which are directly controlled by Waterway dams. Water from these lakes flows south along either the Gull River, Burnt River, Nogies Creek, Mississauga River, Eels Creek or Jack Creek systems into the Kawartha Lakes. The Kawarthas drain down the Otonabee River into Rice Lake and on to Trenton on Lake Ontario via the Trent River. The Crowe River drains the eastern-most lakes in the Trent Watershed. Lake Scugog drains northward from the Oak Ridges Moraine to Sturgeon Lake.

The Trent River basin drains more than 12,000 km² of Central Ontario. The neighbouring Severn River watershed drains an area just over 6,000 km². Included in this watershed are the Canal Lake - Talbot River system, the Holland River, the Lake Simcoe - Couchiching basin, the Black River and the channels of the Severn River below the hamlet of Washago.

Because of the differing topography of these watersheds, they react differently to seasonal climatic variations. The fertile farmland of the Trent River and Lake Simcoe areas retains and releases water gradually following precipitation or a spring thaw. The shallow soils of the Canadian Shield which characterize the Haliburton Highlands and The Black River cannot absorb much water, resulting in more rapid runoff.

Veuillez lire ce qui suit avant de continuer :

L’Agence Parcs Canada tient à préciser que rien ne garantit l’exactitude et la fiabilité des renseignements fournis sur ce site. De plus, l’Agence Parcs Canada, ses agents et ses fonctionnaires se dégagent de toute responsabilité, quelle qu’en soit la nature, et ne peuvent pas être tenus responsables d’éventuels dommages tels que, entre autres, réclamations, préjudices, dépenses ou autres frais, ou pertes de recettes ou de profits, ou encore dommages indirects, extraordinaires ou accidentels, attribuables à l’utilisation de ces renseignements ou en découlant.

Il revient à chacun de vérifier l’exactitude des données, des renseignements ou des résultats obtenus par le biais de ce site, et d’accepter que l’exactitude de ces renseignements ne puisse pas être garantie.

Les renseignements affichés sur ce site sont transmis automatiquement par ligne terrestre à partir de stations hydrométriques exploitées par Parcs Canada le long de la voie navigable Trent–Severn. Les données obtenues par les stations automatisées sont normalement affichées toutes les 24 heures. Les relevés manuels de niveau d’eau sont également affichés, même si les données, dont la compilation manuelle prend du temps, sont mises à jour moins souvent.

Ces renseignements ne doivent pas être utilisés aux fins de prévision ou d’avertissement de crue.

Si vous avez besoin de renseignements concernant les crues, il est recommandé de communiquer directement avec votre organisme local de conservation ou le ministère des ressources naturelles et des forêts de l’Ontario.

Si vous décidez de continuer, c'est que vous acceptez les conditions énoncées dans le présent avis.

Carte interactive

Un outil qui montre un niveau d’eau qui a été mesuré vers 6h du matin. L’outil fournit des données sur le niveau des lacs pour les 30 derniers jours, ainsi qu’une représentation graphique des niveaux pour l’année en cours. Ces données proviennent des jauges hydrométriques situées à des endroits clés le long des deux voies navigables. 

Les ensembles de données minimum, maximum et ordinaire varient d’un lieu à l’autre, mais en général  les données remontent à la fin des années 1970 ou le début des années 1980.  

Bassins hydrographiques de la voie-navigable-Trent-Severn


Le bassin de la rivière Trent comprend quelques 218 lacs dans la région des hautes terres d'Haliburton. Trente-sept d'entre eux sont directement contrôlés par les barrages de la voie navigable. Leur eau s'écoule dans les lacs Kawartha, par les rivières Gull, Burnt ou Mississauga, et par les ruisseaux Nogies, Eels ou Jack. Les lacs Kawartha se déversent à leur tour dans le lac Rice par la rivière Otonabee, et ensuite dans le lac Ontario, à Trenton, par la rivière Trent. La rivière Crowe évacue ses eaux vers le nord, depuis la moraine d'Oak Ridges jusqu'au lac Sturgeon. Le bassin de la rivière Trent évacue les eaux d'une superficie supérieure à 12 000 km².

Le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Severn draine un peu plus de 6 000 km². Font partie de ce bassin le réseau du lac Canal et de la rivière Talbot, la rivière Holland, le bassin des lacs Simcoe et Couchiching, la région de la rivière Black, ainsi que les lacs et les canaux de la rivière Severn en aval du village de Washago.

En raison de leur topographie distincte, ces bassins réagissent différemment aux changements atmosphériques saisonniers. Les terres arables de la rivière Trent et du lac Simcoe retiennent et relâchent lentement les eaux provenant des précipitations ou du dégel printanier. À cause de sa minceur, le sol du Bouclier canadien, qui caractérise les hautes terres d'Haliburton et la région de la rivière Black, ne peut pas absorber beaucoup d'eau, ce qui entraîne un écoulement plus rapide.