The historic locks are like no other places in Canada. Built over a century ago and still in operation today, most of them use original techniques to move huge amounts of water and facilitate travel for boaters and paddlers. Once buzzing with the sights and sounds of industry, today the locks now bustle with the enjoyment of recreational tourism. Whether visiting by land or water, there are many reasons to come and experience this unique part of our history.

collage of lockstation photos

What is a lockstation?

Each lock on the Trent-Severn Waterway is part of a system constructed between 1833 and 1920. Locks were built to overcome differences in water elevation in the creation of a navigable route. Once a waterway of industry, today recreational boaters and paddlers come from around the world to travel the waterway with their friends and family.

Lockstations are maintained and operated at the lock by Parks Canada during hours of operation, and provide travellers with the necessary facilities and services to plan a trip of any length. Most lockstations will have:

  • Lock chamber(s) operated by Parks Canada
  • Lockstation building with washrooms
  • Green spaces and picnic tables
  • Mooring areas and vehicle parking
  • Campsites and/or overnight accommodations

Where are they?

Parks Canada lockstations can be found in various regions along the system connecting Lake Ontario and Lake Huron (Georgian Bay). Some of the locks can only be accessed by boating or paddling on the waterway system, but most lockstations can be accessed from major roads and highways. Remember to look for the Parks Canada beaver symbol!

Suggested pages:

Why visit?

Boaters and paddlers travel the Trent-Severn Waterway to experience a historic Canadian tradition a century in the making. Some pass through the locks on the way to the cottage, while others are heading to the next fishing spot. Lockstations make great picnic stops on a family roadtrip, hopping out to get some fresh air and watch the boats go through. History buffs enjoy walking the sites snapping photos of the historic engineering and speaking to lock staff about these special places. Everyone has a different reason to visit the locks and everyone is welcome!

You might like:

Trent-Severn checklist

Each lockstation has its own chapter in the story of the Trent-Severn Waterway. With 42 individual lockstations on the system, you'll have fun checking them all off your list.

Les écluses historiques sont des lieux uniques au Canada. Construites il y a plus d’un siècle et encore exploitées aujourd’hui, ces écluses utilisent pour la plupart les techniques d’origine pour déplacer d’immenses quantités d’eau et faciliter le déplacement des plaisanciers et des pagayeurs. Autrefois fréquentées par les commerçants, les écluses sont aujourd’hui animées par le va-et-vient des adeptes de tourisme récréatif. Que ce soit par voie terrestre ou aquatique, nombreuses sont les raisons de visiter ces lieux et de découvrir cette partie unique de notre histoire.

Qu’est-ce qu’un poste d’éclusage?

Chaque poste d’éclusage de la voie navigable Trent-Severn fait partie d’un vaste réseau construit entre 1833 et 1920. Les écluses ont été aménagées pour surmonter les différences d’élévation de l’eau aux fins de la création d’une voie navigable. Autrefois utilisée par le milieu industriel, cette voie navigable est aujourd’hui empruntée par des plaisanciers et des pagayeurs qui viennent de partout dans le monde pour profiter de cette route de navigation avec famille et amis

Parcs Canada entretient et exploite les postes d’éclusage durant une plage horaire déterminée et offre aux voyageurs les installations et les services nécessaires pour la planification d’une excursion de courte durée comme d’un long voyage. La plupart des postes d’éclusage sont dotés de ce qui suit :

  • Sas d’écluse exploités par Parcs Canada;
  • Bâtiment de poste d’éclusage avec toilettes
  • Espaces verts et tables de pique-nique
  • Aires d’amarrage et places de stationnement pour véhicules
  • Emplacements de camping et autres modes d’hébergement

Où se trouvent-ils?

Les postes d’éclusage de Parcs Canada se trouvent dans différentes régions le long du réseau reliant le lac Ontario et le lac Huron (baie Georgienne). Certaines des écluses sont accessibles uniquement par bateau ou embarcation sur la voie navigable, mais la plupart des postes d’éclusage sont desservis par de grandes routes et des autoroutes. Recherchez le logo du castor de Parcs Canada!

Pages suggérées :

Pourquoi visiter?

Les plaisanciers et les pagayeurs se déplacent sur la voie navigable Trent-Severn pour vivre l’expérience d’une tradition canadienne séculaire. Certains franchissent les écluses pour se rendre à un chalet, d’autres à leur prochain lieu de pêche. Les postes d’éclusage sont des haltes idéales pour pique-niquer en famille ou mettre pied à terre afin de prendre l’air et de regarder passer les bateaux. Les passionnés d’histoire aiment parcourir les sites des écluses, photographier les ouvrages de génie historiques et discuter au passage avec les employés des écluses au sujet de ces lieux exceptionnels. Chacun a des raisons différentes de visiter les écluses et tous sont les bienvenus!

Vous pourriez amer :

Incontournables de Trent-Severn

Chaque poste d’éclusage a son propre chapitre de l’histoire de la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Le réseau comptant 42 poste d’éclusage distincts, vous aurez du plaisir à les cocher tous un à un sur votre liste.